We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Brilliant Stay!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived at Knockderry House 16th-17th for a surprise stay for Valentines.
Check-in ran very smoothly, the front of house staff (young man, never got his name) so polite, great manner, made us feel so welcome! We booked our evening meal as we checked in and were advised to come down to the lounge a little before this, get ourselves a drink and a read of the menus before heading to our table.

Myself and my boyfriend ate from the set valentines menu so cannot comment on the a la carte, but what we had to eat was out of this world. The standard of the food was something you would expect from a top restaurant. Again, the staff during our evening meal were a credit, really made the expeirence we had.

We stayed in room 6, recently refurbished. Very comfortable, with all the little things you could need. Arran aromatics in the bathroom were a lovely touch!

Overall, would stay here again in a second. Excellent hotel if your wanting some time to just relax and get away from it all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth2994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Beth2994,

Thank you for your review of Knockderry House. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent valentine's stay with us. Your comments regarding our staff are very welcome, I will make sure this is passed on to the team - always very nice to receive positive feedback in this area. I am also very pleased to read your feedback on the food, our head chef puts a huge amount of effort into delivering great food and again I will be sure to share your comments. Should you find yourself in this area again I hope that you will consider staying again,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    107
    30
    16
    18
See reviews for
53
365
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were offered upgraded rooms with views over the water. The rooms were very comfortable, well appointed and nice and warm, as the weather outside was freezing.
The lounge had a roaring fire and extensive bar. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was outstanding. Breakfast the following morning was excellent too.
Customer service was excellent. All the staff were friendly and professional. The owner was also on hand to welcome guests and give some of the history of the hotel.
We would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: All rooms will not disappoint. Ask for a room looking over the water- worth paying the extra for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesterduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Meesterduck,

Thank you kindly for your review of Knockderry House. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and were able to benefit from an upgrade on arrival. The views over the loch really are spectacular and I'm glad this added to your stay. Thank you also for your comments on our food and our staff; these are two very important elements in any stay and I am delighted we were able to deliver on both counts. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Loved every minute of our stay there, went for my birthday in Sept 2012 .The food was fabulous, my mouth is watering now just thinking about what we had to eat, breakfast was the best ever. Our stay was perfect.. Apologies to the lady on reception with confusion regarding our bill, all my fault, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Dawn B,

Many thanks for your kind comments following your stay at Knockderry House. I am very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us for your birthday, I hope we made it one to remember. I will pass on your comments to the team, in particular the chefs as they will be very happy to receive such great feedback. We can not hope for much better than perfect! I hope that you will find an opportunity to come back and visit us again,
Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here recently on suprise engagement weekend and the hotel really made the stay.
We took the Library Room and given the outside temperatures we excepected the room to be somewhat cold given the high ceilings and old style building. We mentioned the radiators being turned off and this was resolved.
The view from the sitting room over the Loch was

The staff there are fantastic, especially Laura and Fraser who really were excellent. Given it's isolated location it would be easy to have lower standards for the food, but this is not the case here, it truly is amazing and if it were in Glasgow or Edinburgh I'd imagine the restaurant would be a sell out.

Can't recommend the Venison wellington highly enough. The log fire and Xmas tree give it a great atmosphere also.

Will visit again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all rooms are facing the Loch, definitely worth checking as the view is spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear J C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Knockderry House. It is always so pleasing to hear when our guests have had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food so much, high standards are very important to us and it is great to see that you appreciated our efforts. It is also very pleasing to hear your comments about our team, thank you - I will make sure to share your comments with the staff. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Knockderry House some time soon,

Best Wishes,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent a fantastic short break at Knockderry Country House Hotel and it was just an amazing experience. Everything about the hotel was excellent and we could not fault it in any way. The bedroom overlooking the loch was truly outstanding with a comfortable bed and a roll top bath in a separate ante room with stunning views over the loch whilst relaxing in the bath! The public rooms were also of a very high standard with the bar area particularly welcoming and cosy. The food was excellent with freshly prepared ingredients and a very good variety. The propietors were very friendly, hospitable and helpful and the collies were so cute! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the loch if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Kevin G,

Thank you kindly for your review of Knockderry House. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and it is truly appreciated. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, your room, the food and the company of our team. I hope that you will find a chance in the near future to come and visit us at Knockderry again,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

After a day touring around the lochs we arrived at the hotel and had a warm and friendly welcome, we were checked in and shown to our room (number 11), it was a large bedroom, spotlessly clean and seemed newly decorated. We had a walk around the loch before sunset and came back to a roaring fire in the bar where we sat for a drink. We could not fault the service in the hotel from any of the staff, they were extremely friendly and helpful. We had booked into the restaurant for dinner and were very impressed with the selection on the menu, the main courses were particularly fantastic, we had the best fillet of beef we had ever tasted (and my fiancé has had a few!) and all of the meals were spectacularly presented by the chef, we could not praise the staff enough and will recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmawilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Gemmawilmslow,

Thank you so much for your great review of Knockderry House. I am really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, we try hard to provide a great experience for our guests and it is great to hear that we were able to deliver this. Thank you for highlighting in particular the room, the staff and the food - I will share your comments with the whole team as it sounds like everyone did their bit in creating a memorable experience for you. I am delighted to hear that you would recommend us in future, and also hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Knockderry House before too long. Thanks again,

Best Wishes,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one night here - lovely room with view of the sea and fantastic bathroom. Food was really good. The location was amazing - beach just in front of hotel really pretty and gardens open to public nearby worth a visit.

Room Tip: We treated ourselves to Library suite - very special. Food great - brilliant chef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennox W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear C W,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay at Knockderry House. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us, it is always very pleasing to receive this kind of feedback. The area really is quite spectacular and I am glad you enjoyed being here, we are fortunate to have such a great location. I hope you will find a chance to come back to Knockderry House in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing