We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, relaxing peaceful week away”
other travelers have booked this property
View from bedroom accross the Gare Loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from bedroom accross the Gare Loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
View from bedroom accross the Gare Loch
Garden, looking across the loch
Seating / Sofa Bed in Living Area
Woodburning Stove in Spacious Living Area
Across the room from Living to Dining areas, windows either side, a lovely sunny room!
Open Plan Danish Style Living/ Dining area Leading to Bedroom.
Relaxing Open Plan Living/ Dining Area with Danish Style Beamed Roof.
Flexible bedroom -can be set up with one kingsize bed or two singles
Bath/ Wet room with Two Showers and a Bath. Shaver Point and Underfloor Heating.
Looking down to car parking area
The Gare Loch off Clynder
The Gare Loch from the top of the Rosneath Peninsula, Clynder is on the right with the yachts.
The Cobbler
Sailing on the Gareloch
Clynder Beach
The Iconic Charles Rennie Macintosh's Hill House in Nearby Helensburgh
Glen Fruin amazing views!
Great Walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rosneath, Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Nuggetdea...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil, relaxing peaceful week away”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The title says it all really, my wife and I decided to spend our honeymoon in Scotland and An Caladh was one of the places we stayed. The owners June and Geoff are lovely, helpful accommodating and interesting people and it was a pleasure to arrive there. When June realized we were newlywed she came with a bottle of bubbly for us..

The area has some really nice walks, we only did one but climbing up to the top of the hill behind the accommodation had some brilliant views of Gare Loch. We only ate out once but I reckon we picked the best place, 'La Barca' in helensburgh, it's a tapas place and absolutely spot on, definitely the best tapas i've had. I wish we had one that good in Manchester.

Get the wood burner going in the cottage at night and you will be so cosy and warm. The cottage is really clean and has everything you need. I really hope to return. Thanks June and Geoff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you chose An Caladh as your honeymoon location, and that you found the walk to the Trig point to be worthwhile. It was a real pleasure to meet you both, and wish you all the best for the years ahead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHawkes
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Four Star Bungalow”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I have just arrived home after spending a wonderful week in An Caladh in the village of Clynder on the banks of Gare Loch. We were greeted by June and Geoff and shown around before unloading the car. The bungalow is open plan and very comfortable, plus it is very warm (even in the bathroom where there is under floor heating, the log burner really warms the lounge up. Everything about the bungalow is quality and is well maintained and looked after. The views from the windows are to die for. The area around Clynder is very scenic and the shipping could be fascinating to watch!
All in all, thank you June and Geoff for a wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing, it is excellent.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Thank you so much for a wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in An Caladh, the Autumnal colours are exceptional this year in the local area. It was a delight to meet you both, thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobsmth
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just Outstanding”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My Wife and I spent a wonderful week in An Cladagh and I think that 4* underrates the Cottage. The Views from the Cottage of the Lake were lovely the best view being from the Bedroom it was just lovely to wake up in the morning make a cup of tea then open the curtains and just look out the window at the Loch. on arrival June and Geoff had two lovely soft bread buns, Butter, milk, Tea and Coffee. In the press/cupboard there was Salt,Pepper, Olive Oil, Vinegar and sweetners. The Bathroom had Towels, Shampoo , Soap etc. A really well equipped kitchen. Sitting come dining room. Car parking and Pedestrian entrance. The bus stops almost outside the door (316) Takes you to Helensburgh also down through Kilcreggan, Cove Culport for only a few shillings allowing yo to have a few drinks in the Creggans or lunch/Dinner in the Knockderry House Hotel a must to visit You have a lovely Cafe in Kilcreggan with a Bank, Chemist and a Craft Butcher where you can buy award winning pies. All in all a beautiful area for a really relaxed holiday 40 minutes from the Bonnie Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond with a stunning drive over the tops sweeping down to the Loch. The thing that really makes this holiday is An Cladagh as your base. My Wife and I would really recommend a holiday here. Robert Smith

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Gurrock
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this really splendid review of An Caladh! It was a real delight to meet you both and introduce you to the beauties of Scotland, especially the local area. Haste Ye Back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith w
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beatifull secluded setting”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

an ideal location to explore the west coast of Scotland. very clean with all the home comforts you could ask for. very friendly and helpful owners

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: water pressure from shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to send this great review of An Caladh. It was delightful to meet you both, and we are so pleased that the weather was kind to you, and that you enjoyed your holiday in this amazing part of Scotland. Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah004
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a few days in this beautiful bungalow. This is certainly the best self-catering accommodation we've ever stayed in - spotless, well-maintained and comfortable. Everything you might need is here and no detail has been overlooked. June and Geoff were perfect hosts - available but unobtrusive. We hope to have an opportunity to return in the future. Thank-you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail in the bungalow -everything from range of equipment to cleanliness!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to give An Caladh such a wonderful review. It was a real delight to have met you both,and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable,peaceful location.”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week . The cottage was spotlessly clean and warm .Used the log burner twice as the weather was a bit chilly . Nice comfortable bed we slept well. Cottage had everything we could need for a week. We enjoyed our stay here. Owners were very friendly.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2015
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to give us this lovely review of An Caladh. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday on the Rosneath Peninsula and surrounding areas despite the inclement weather. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
88FionaF
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect loch-side stay!”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

June and Geoff welcomed us to their fantastic holiday cottage on the Gare Loch where we had an absolutely wonderful time!

The cottage was very spacious and comfortable, with stunning views especially from the bedroom window. It was very well equipped and I cannot stress how spotlessly clean it was. We had everything we might possibly have needed during our stay, which was much appreciated. :)

The location of the cottage is very good - located right on the shore of the Gare Loch which made a good base for a few day trips to explore the area. Helensburgh and especially Luss were favourites.

We were very lucky with the weather for the duration of our stay. It was fantastic (especially for early April) and we made very good use of the courtyard at the front of the cottage which was a lovely sun trap! Being able to sit outside and enjoy lunch or a cup of tea is a rare occasion in Scotland so it was lovely to take advantage of the nice weather.

All in all we terrific few days and I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing a wonderful and relaxing holiday in Scotland!

Thanks June and Geoff!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, location and views!
Liked least: Having to leave :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review. We are very pleased indeed that you enjoyed your time in An Caladh and the surrounding area. It was a real bonus that the weather was kind to us all. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing