We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break”
Review of Old Dadswell Town

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dadswells Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Dadswell Town
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great break”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This has been a great experience, Max and Jenny make you so welcome the accommodation is well placed from the main road which makes it very tranquil. Rooms are themed which are full of items that keep you interested. The community room is amazing with all the items that Max and Jenny have collected over the years, they all have a story to go with them. Max is quite the story teller always a good yarn to share akin to the bush poets of old. Wildlife to see and walks to be had. A short drive past the Big Koala and close to Stawell, Horsham and Halls Gap. We will be going back. Get a few friends together and head there for a visit, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mad Max's Bordello but viewed all and you would not be disappointed , a few roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dodgesedan1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived yesterday to stay the night we were greeted by Jenny and shown to our Quarters which was the Cobb and Co, each cabin was a theme brdellos, post office, etc, and were done up as and old town I could not wait to take photos to show my friends . This place is a must for families with kids and dogs so much to see and do, the bed was comfortable the cabins are all tastefully done up , the wild life was great also the views of the Grampians. We will be back.

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Averyhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My hubby and I visited Old Dadswell Town for the night with our 2 kiddies and our dog. What a lovely place to stay. We were greeted by the lovely Sandra, who couldn't do enough for us and even put us into another cabin with electric blankets as the night was expected to be cold. Nothing was too much trouble for her.

The kiddies enjoyed the farm animals and wallabies along with all of the wacky memorabilia around the place. We stayed in the Barber Shop and it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our dog loved exploring and running about. We loved the peacefulness of the area and the wonderful views of The Grampians. Not to mention seeing the kiddies and our dog so happy.

I took a 15 minute drive to Horsham for supplies, but you could easily go to Ararat or Stawell too. You can use the kitchen facilities in the cabin or the wonderful common area/rec room that is filled with so many interesting bits and pieces. It has seating, an open fire, music, tv. Everything you could want.

All in all - a great place to visit, I plan to go with my extended family one day soon. We had a ball.

Room Tip: Any room/cabin is interesting and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eggbert73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had the best 4 days, did not know what to expect, but it far exceeded anything we expected, Jenny and max were great hosts and go beyond what they need to do, very clean and very spacious cabins and lovely to see the wild life around us. Would recommend to anyone and hope yo return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Visited Old Dadswell Town the first weekend in March. Great collection of nick backs and Australian memorabilia. Comfortable rooms. Not 5 star but very clean. Look for things around that show the owners sense of humour . Like a telephone fixed to a tree so you can make a "trunk" call. Enjoyed the native animal zoo at the Giant Koala. Great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent stay. Max and Jenny were very accommodating and friendly.
Parents loved it being so close to hundreds of kangaroos.

Max even brought a wallabie for my mom to have a closer look and feed bread piece.

Beware of speed camara on the track though! :)

Room Tip: Madame X Bordello has better view for the evening kangaroo show
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mansih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I,along with our golden retriever had a blast! We stayed at the Cobb & Co cabin and our dog was welcome to stay with us. There were so many things to see- from classic cars, different types of memorabilla and themed cabins. Lots of funny signages as well to make you laugh while roaming around the area. Max and Jenny were top notch hosts, they created such a relaxed atmosphere. During the day we went fishing and Max gave hubby great fishing tips and some bait whilst Jenny were guiding us through the map on good locations. At night, it was a beautiful weather so all the guests and the hosts gathered around the "Town Hall" and had bbq and drinks. Everyone had a great time. Max even drove around his really old funky car with the cop siren to put on a show for everyone. The Wallaby and their dog Jessie also joined us that night. Needless to say, we will definitely be back as we felt our 2 nights was just not enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Dadswell Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Dadswell Town

Property: Old Dadswell Town
Address: 6237 Western Highway, Dadswells Bridge, Victoria 3385, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dadswells Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dadswells Bridge
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained themed cabins set in a bush setting with mountain views and kangaroos. Large communal room, suitable for group bookings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing