We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, great hospitality and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Engelberg

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gasthof Engelberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Scharnachtal B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, great hospitality and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our friends and we stayed at Gasthof Engleberg from 26-28 Aug 2013. We were immediately met by the friendly owners, Michel and Christien, and felt like family from then on. They speak perfect English, which made our stay especially comfortable. Michel was the chef and prepared exceptional meals, and Christien made delicious desserts. They gave us directions to some nice day trips as well. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The only thing we could have used was a bar of soap, but we made out OK. The Gasthof is up a narrow and steep road, but the stay and view and friendly atmosphere were well worth it. If we go back, we'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose to have a room with with shower and toilet. It also had a nice view with balcony and tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We intended to spend just 1 night but stayed for two in June 2012. The family run hotel is comfortable, very clean, everything works. It is basic, but comfortable. The owners speak English and German & Dutch, and are super friendly. Friendly and personal makes a difference in small hotels !
- The Gasthof is isolated up the side of a valley (only a 3-4min drive off the highway). So it is very quiet (nice).
- The food was good / very good.
- The price was very reasonable (140chf for the family of 4 for 1 night, breakfast included)

Definitely would return when we are in the area again this time next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We are stayed in Gasthof Engelberg for two days in May 2012. The location is perfect but it's quite difficult to reach the place by public transport. Fortunately, transfer is possible. Quality of the food is excellent. Breakfast buffet, and homemade apple pie surprised us. View from terrace and balcony is amazing: you can see how airplanes departing under you and skydiver open their parachutes almost in front you! Mountains on other side of valley is higher than 2000m! The place is also comfortable for babies: our 10 month old son had everything that he need. We are really recommend this place! Dmitry, Ksenia and small Victor

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry_Zadvornov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent a few nights at Michel and Christien's place. The journey upwards to the Gasthof is quite a climb, but the view of the valley (including skydivers!), and the Niesen is well worth it. Prices are very reasonable in comparison to other b&b's and hotels in the region. And they even include breakfast. Michel and Christien make sure your stay is great. They advise you on places to visit nearby and the public transport system. The tasty food is homemade by Michel. The area is so calm and peaceful, that you'll enjoy a good night sleep. But before you do, check out the stars: there's not much light pollution in the Kandertal region!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christien s, Owner at Gasthof Engelberg, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
thank you for the nice review we will be doing our best to go on and make our guesthouse even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife and I (I am Swissgerman and my wife origins from Iowa) found this very special place last weekend by random! The dutch couple (also german and english speaking) welcomed as like friends! We enjoyed the well deserved "Apéro" (two beers) out on the terrace admiring the great view! Later on the chef cooked as an excellent dinner!
We slept very good and were spoiled by a wonderful breakfast (included in the price). A little hike of two hours (Panoramaweg) burnt the extra calories.
We both highly recommend that little hotel. It is easy to find (check website), but you need a car, and ..... you better like cowbells (only in summer until fall).

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms .... but they are all nice (with balcony and the very special view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthof Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Engelberg

Property: Gasthof Engelberg
Address: Hanselenstrasse 56, Scharnachtal 3722, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Scharnachtal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scharnachtal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gasthof Engelberg is a small and cosy guesthouse with 4 rooms 2 double and 2 single. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing