We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view and good food”
Review of Gasthof Engelberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Engelberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Scharnachtal B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent a few nights at Michel and Christien's place. The journey upwards to the Gasthof is quite a climb, but the view of the valley (including skydivers!), and the Niesen is well worth it. Prices are very reasonable in comparison to other b&b's and hotels in the region. And they even include breakfast. Michel and Christien make sure your stay is great. They advise you on places to visit nearby and the public transport system. The tasty food is homemade by Michel. The area is so calm and peaceful, that you'll enjoy a good night sleep. But before you do, check out the stars: there's not much light pollution in the Kandertal region!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christien s, Owner at Gasthof Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

thank you for the nice review we will be doing our best to go on and make our guesthouse even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife and I (I am Swissgerman and my wife origins from Iowa) found this very special place last weekend by random! The dutch couple (also german and english speaking) welcomed as like friends! We enjoyed the well deserved "Apéro" (two beers) out on the terrace admiring the great view! Later on the chef cooked as an excellent dinner!
We slept very good and were spoiled by a wonderful breakfast (included in the price). A little hike of two hours (Panoramaweg) burnt the extra calories.
We both highly recommend that little hotel. It is easy to find (check website), but you need a car, and ..... you better like cowbells (only in summer until fall).

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms .... but they are all nice (with balcony and the very special view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank hannes a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Zeilmeermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Voorkant heeft mooiste uitzicht!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vgennip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert-MacKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMondiaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthof Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Engelberg

Address: Hanselenstrasse 56, Scharnachtal 3722, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Scharnachtal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scharnachtal
Price Range: $134 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gasthof Engelberg is a small and cosy guesthouse with 4 rooms 2 double and 2 single. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing