We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, great location”
Review of Grand Hyatt Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Goa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bambolim
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service, great location”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location with great room. However, in the evenings, you have to drive to Baga or Calangute to really enjoy Goa! Nearly private beach stretch, unique reception lobby. Room with an amazing view of the sea. Food quality was great with amazing service !

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanRadstrom, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Goa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear DevenS,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt and beautiful Goa!

Thank you for your quick review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel including rooms, our food offerings and found our location to be ideal. Particularly, I am glad that you singled out customer service to be a highlight.

Thank you once more and I hope our unique service will tempt you to return soon to our hotel.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on activities planned at Grand Hyatt Goa!

Warm regards,

Stefan Radstrom General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    610
    198
    83
    95
See reviews for
792
464
67
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Goa is one of the most scenic holiday destinations in India, and the Hyatt is located next to one of the cleanest public beaches I have seen. Looks like a great vacation destination. It's easy to see why Goa is the location for so many conferences and weddings.

My first day at the Gartner Symposium held here, showed that the location greatness does not carry over to the Grand Hyatt conferencing facilities and service, which are clearly not at global levels. Or perhaps we have been spoilt by conferences in Mumbai and Bangalore.

Difficult to imagine a global conference center where rooms go pitch dark in the middle of presentations, air-conditioning is inadequate with attendees fanning themselves, floor cabling is exposed in places, attendees have to walk to dinner without any lighting, and continuous gossip and mobile chatter is audible from behind the screen during the keynote. Yet, these were some of the surprises in store. See photos.

To make matters worse, seemed like the favoured song of a few of the Hyatt staff for the conference attendees was "wish you were not here". At times they seemed to be almost pushing conference attendees as they raced from one place to another. Perhaps an idyllic vacation crowd is what they crave.

Day two started on a similar note, with the hotel not allowing my cab to enter the premises to drop me at the conference center. Amazingly the security manager Dilip would not even give the front desk number or his supervisor's number to discuss the situation, till Just Dial came to the rescue. The front desk person Nehal promised a call back from the Duty Manager Supriya, who sticking to the tradition here, never called back. I guess idyllic holiday goers are any day better to attend to versus demanding conference attendees. :-)

In all fairness, many things did work. The air-conditioning was better on the second day, the food was excellent and the AV system worked well. The location, as mentioned earlier, is breathtakingly beautiful.

My best interaction eventually was with the event manager Savneet, who Tanu from the Gartner events team put me in touch with. Savneet interacted in a manner befitting personnel from global event venue and was interested in understanding the challenges that I discussed with her. I guess there's hope for the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinghRakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanRadstrom, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Goa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear SinghRakesh,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Goa!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. It was a great delight to host Gartner once again this year.

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused due to power failure on the second half of the first day of the event. This was not usual; as on that day parts of Goa experienced un announced power cuts on account of urgent electric maintenance of government power grids in the state. Even though we had generators to backup for such instances, I believe UPS supported outlets could have been utilised better.

I have viewed the pictures you have posted on travel site and your comment on cabling being exposed. I hope you will appreciate that due to the nature of this large event, multiple electric points were arranged in various areas by the event organisers and their AV team. Nevertheless, I have taken up this matter seriously with the related teams to avoid such instances in the future.

As to air-conditioning, please note that there were more than 50 additional AC units installed only for this event to compensate for the event spaces that required additional cooling, which was well appreciated by delegates and sponsors over last year. While planning next year’s event we will definitely take your comments into consideration.

I have reviewed your feedback with my security team and learnt that due to the huge queue of cars being lined up at the main entrance, and in order not to delay any arrivals or check-ins, all non-resident guests attending the event were directed to the adjoining gate which was the nearest entry to our Grand ballroom.

Above all, I was most concerned to read your comments about your perception of my team’s behaviour, we aim to consistently deliver the most professional and personalised service to our guests and we always have been appreciated with the exceptionally positive attitude of our team members, exactly same as you have highlighted Savneet’s.

SinghRakesh, please do not hesitate to contact me should you find yourself staying with Grand Hyatt Goa in the future, as it would be our pleasure to assist in making sure your next visit is memorable for all the right reasons.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on activities planned at Grand Hyatt Goa!

Warm regards,

Stefan Radstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for one night for a friends sons wedding.
This hotel has the scale, banquet hall, gardens to put up a real show. Its huge!
(It is NOT a resort, as the beach is really dark brown dirty sand, as its where the river meets the sea. So forget the beach).
BUT, the wedding ceremony was setup on the 'beach' very well done. The hall also was well decorated. Food was good. The room is huge, 4 fixture toilet. (Who uses bathtubs these days??), nice rain shower, and amazing towels!!
TV, is funnily located on the right wall, as in from of the bed you have the full window out to the balcony. So its strange to watch TV with your neck turned hard right.
Large property again, nice lawns, nice pool. (Some of the quality of finish of the flooring etc in the public areas, is, OUCH!, but too late to fix it).
So, large events, where you need a large hall, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipposcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanRadstrom, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Goa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Hipposcuba,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt and beautiful Goa!

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. It was a great joy to host the most important event and we are pleased to know that we met your expectations.
Regarding the bay I would to mention that the shoreline mainly depends on the tides and the sand being wet looks darker in colour. Nevertheless, in addition to astonishing views of sunset it is a perfect place to unwind and relax.

The television is placed on the side wall in order to provide more space to move around in the room and particularly not to block the beautiful views of the gardens and the bay. The television is mounted on to a hinge that could be rotated as per your viewing.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on activities planned at Grand Hyatt Goa!

Warm regards,

Stefan Radstrom General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We checked into the hotel on our last day at Goa with one purpose in mind - Relax. And i could not have made a better choice. Our check in was smooth, the staff friendly, the atmosphere relaxed.

Our room was spacious with a bathroom to match. Not just the size, but the amenities provided were impressive. I wish I had stayed there longer cause I wanted to spend more time in the bathroom. It was well lit, and felt fresh. My kids couldn't get enough of the rain shower and the bath tub even though they spent the entire day at the pool. On the downside, the bathroom got a little slippery causing my husband to slip- but can't really blame the hotel for that.

We had a bayview room and you could hear the roar of the sea when you sat in the veranda.

The hammocks, the 'after-beach' shower, archery board, relaxing chairs were all well placed.

The pool was a delight. Having a kids pool meant you didn't have to worry about them constantly. The poolside service was good and the food was tasty. However it could have been quicker. The staff around the pool were helpful and polite without intruding.

The kids camp is another great facility to be utilized if you are heading to the spa.

The food was excellent.

The property is huge and not very far from Panjim. Transport facilities are available on request.

Overall this five star experience was just what I had planned and needed to say adios to Goa - a perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neets8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanRadstrom, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Goa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Neeta8,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt and beautiful Goa!

Thank you for sharing your brilliant review to the advised trippers on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to note your wonderful feedback and happy to know you and your family truly enjoyed the facilities and many of our amenities on offer.

It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest, rest assure we will continue to exceed guest’s expectations.

Once again thank you for your commendation and we look forward to creating many more memorable vacations for you.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on activities planned at Grand Hyatt Goa!

Warm regards,

Stefan Radstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A big, 5 star property with a world renowned brand name and just 10 minutes away from Panjim. Too bad it's not all true!
The Guest House No.1, where we got rooms, is at one end of the property, with the main building being the centre of all the activities.
It's a bit secluded and offers good silence and privacy. If you have a bay facing room, ou can hear the waves. It's pretty soothing. The rooms are also pretty updated but have switches thrown all over the place.
But, it also has a constant stink all around it, except the entrance. The paths from the front are pretty slippery, have sludges and are so poorly lit, that it's impossible to move around at night.
In fact, be careful with the paths all over the place. Some are loose and most are slippery.
The service is bad. Be ready to wait for everything. From being locked out of your room because they gave you the wrong key or for a buggy, everything takes a lot of time. Most of the waiters are clueless as it is. While one girl did not know the way to the spa, one guy actually almost checked me into another guest's room.
The food is the saving grace. The layout is good and food tastes well, especially their Indian restaurant, Chula.
The location of being close to Panjim also makes it easy to commute.
The spa is also pretty good, but doesn't have a salon.
It was a disappointment and I don't think I would recommend this.

Room Tip: Bay facing rooms are quieter and calmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPiyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanRadstrom, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Goa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear BPiyush,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt and beautiful Goa!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. At the onset I am happy that you enjoyed our food offerings, found our location to be convenient to commute to Panjim and our award winning Shamana Spa. I would like to inform you that we are going to have the Salon operational very soon.

I have noted your displeasure with several aspects of your stay including the service, room key and buggy which took longer than usual. I truly regret these inconsistencies, this is not our usual standards we pride ourselves on.
Regarding the pathways, I would like to mention that due to the damp weather condition and humidity the moss is formed along the pathways. Nevertheless, it is a constant effort of our gardening to keep the pathways clean and immaculate. I have instructed our engineering team to relook at the lightning and take immediate action.

Mr. BPiyush, I truly appreciate your feedback as this will help us improve our standards. Thank you once again and I hope you treat this as one of instance and give us another opportunity to make your next stay flawless.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on activities planned at Grand Hyatt Goa!

Warm regards,

Stefan Radstrom General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, dine under the stars and eat all the sea food you can! I love the Grand Hyatt, always top quality fresh food and service. Do not miss out on their evening buffets and this amazingly mystique athmosphere in their garden! Always a five star experience!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanRadstrom, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Goa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Angela S,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt and beautiful Goa!

Thank you for your quick comments on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your patronage towards our seafood night. I am truly glad to know that you enjoyed the buffet spread.

For the coming season we have planned a lot more theme nights throughout the week to provide a range of entertainment for our guests while they take pleasure of our exclusive dining experience. Don’t miss out our Arabian nights on every Friday which will be an evening to remember and the Sunday brunch that has been a highlight amongst most of our guests.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on activities planned at Grand Hyatt Goa!

Warm regards,

Stefan Radstrom General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been to Goa many times on casual fun trips with frineds...but this was my first business trip for four days where I got an opportunity to stay with Grand Hyatt....a very good place to stay with added luxury....the walk near sea side was a really fantastic experience in evening....never thought Goa would be so peaceful as compared to my past trips which were very adventurous....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pratikbhurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanRadstrom, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Goa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Pratikbhurat,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt and beautiful Goa!

Thank you for your brief review to the advised travellers. We are delighted to host the most important conference and happy to note that you had a wonderful business trip and found our property to be very luxurious.

Thank you once more and we hope you get further opportunities to stay at many of our Hyatt hotels. We look forward to welcome you on your next business trip or family vacation.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on activities planned at Grand Hyatt Goa!

Warm regards,

Stefan Radstrom General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bambolim
3.7 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,215 reviews
15.1 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
7.2 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
918 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Goa

Property: Grand Hyatt Goa
Address: P.O. Goa University, Bambolim 403206, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bambolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bambolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Goa is an enchanting destination resort and spa set on the calm waters of Bambolim Bay in North Goa, seven km from the capital of Panaji and 25 km from Dabolim Airport. Inspired by a 17th century Indo-Portuguese palace, the resort is spread over 28 acres of colourful, tropical gardens and lush lawns that roll down to the water’s edge. Grand Hyatt Goa presents spectacular views from several of its rooms, suites and restaurants. With a wide selection of authentic cuisines and flavours from different parts of the world, the resort’s several restaurants welcome guests with the traditional warmth of a Goan residence. An extensive spa and fitness centre, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and Camp Hyatt facilities for kids offer a complete recreational and wellness experience for couples, friends and the entire family throughout the year. Grand in scale and design, the resort offers the largest banquet facilities in Goa (over 3,000 sq mts) which are perfectly suited for grand weddings, social events, conferences and small and large meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Goa Hotel Bambolim
Grand Hyatt Goa Bambolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing