We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”
Review of The Only Olive

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Only Olive
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hi Adrian,
Sincere apologies for getting this out later than promised; I was laid low by a complete sense of desolation on my return and am visiting shrinks who have just one opinion – that I return for good!

The Only Olive is as you rightly stated prior to booking, a home away from home and the quietest home stay I have ever experienced and yes, Santhosh’s cheerful demeanor and culinary skills made me feel The Only Olive is just the place I needed to relax and rejuvenate.
I enjoyed those 3 days of solitude and thank you again for the tips on the restaurants, infact I loved every place beginning with Arcon, including the pub at Panjim and yes, I’ll get some Mojo the next time  I visit.
I did experiment with the crusty bread and meats and yes, it does remind me of Santhosh’s breakfast spread – but for heavens sake, I still feel you cheated me on the recipe for bhajji pav; mine plainly refuses to come out green or taste anywhere like the bhajji Santhosh and you prepared.
I want to look at booking the entire place once every year for a corporate client retreat – I am sure they’ll enjoy it as much as I do if you teach them how to fish.

Talk soon,

SinningSadhu
Stayed for 3 fun filled and adventurous days on Jan 26/27/28 and departed at noon, 29th Jan 2013.

Room Tip: No Swimming Pool but the bathtub in the master room is a must have - and there's a small loft th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinningsadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsadrian, Manager at The Only Olive, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
You most welcome ! Was a pleasure having you ... Hope you enjoyed "The Experience"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and Husband had a very pleasant stay for three days in The Only Olive.. What a getaway. So peaceful and beautiful way to take a break.We would surely love to visit soon .Thanks to Santosh and Adrian for the arrangements. Must visit place. But if you are TV freak this place is not for you,

Regards,

Mrs Deshpande

Room Tip: Have the second room in front of the dinning room. Its spacious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TANAART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsadrian, Manager at The Only Olive, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you -)) . We would love to have you over again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We (my husband and I) went to The Only Olive looking for some peace, quiet and greenery. Adrain promised us we'd get all of this at The Only olive. What we got was smelly, dusty and dirty rooms, musty blankets and a caretaker who could barely whip up an omelette. Worse, it seemed he couldn't care less whether we ate or went hungry.

Being a vegetarian, I had specifically clarified the matter of food with Adrian and he had assured me that the caretaker's wife was a vegetarian herself and I would have no problem on the front. He also gave glowing reviews of a local eatery. When we gave up on the resident cook and ventured out to this place, it turned out that this place was exclusively non-vegetarian. I ate a few slices of tomato and a cheese slice inside a bun that night.

What was most upsetting was Adrian refused to take our calls after we arrived there. He simply washed his hands off the entire thing. We also came to know later that Mahindra Homestays was offering a discount for the duration that we were there, but he had conveniently forgotten to mention that to us when I'd enquired about off season rates. It isn't about the money. It's about integrity. We are fairly well traveled, and this has been our sorriest experience in a homestay / bnb ever.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kshiti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

A quick getaway with friends to Goa turned out to be much more than I could have ever imagined.:) :) Looking forward as I was to my friend's recommendation to stay at "the most gorgeous little homestay ever", imagine my excitement at learning about the history of the little beauty in question, a century year old Portuguese villa rescued from ruin by its wonderful new owners and lovingly restored into the treasure it is today.
Adrian and his lovely wife Vandy have painstakingly breathed new life into the Olive. Learn as I did from Adrian, the history he gladly shares of the house, the village and importantly of the delectable eating joints around the village and Goa. Give yourself up to the web he weaves of the holiday you will have, to cherish for a long time to come. Resist only the temptation to decline a second helping of the scrumptious local cuisine the resident man friday rustles up that will have you mopping up the gravy with the local poi yuummmmmm.
And come away as I did with a promise to return and (re)discover the local adventures the village has to offer; did I mention the river with crocs?

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sonulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsadrian, Manager at The Only Olive, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you Sonal . We would love to have you over again ! Come experience the Magic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I was turning 35 and I wanted this birthday to be extra special. While surfing the net I came across ‘The Only Olive’. I must confess I fell in love with name before the place. A few phone calls, tickets booked and I was off to Go-aaaaaah. As a die-hard hippie, Goa has usually been about the beach, parties, seafood, backpacker rooms whose decor was mostly a blur. This time it was going to be different.

I was going to stay in a fancy bungalow, in a quaint village called Aldona. The owner Adrian, sounded quite friendly on the phone and gave me the address of a local bar and recommended the food there. For me, it was perfect – I was going to explore a hidden Goa, find little tucked away local haunts. The words authentic, charming, experiential and real floated in my head.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t disappointed. The villa was beautiful. White, with a lovely intense green Olive Tree in front, it was postcard perfect. The first evening, I just sat on the armchair overlooking a lawn, stared at the guava, chikoo, mango trees. Said hello to the zillions of little birds with different coloured breast, who sat unafraid on electric wires and branches, viewing me with a friendly curiosity and sipped my beer.

The sun slowly set and sounds from the village prettily drifted through the air. There was a rooster who didn’t know time, sweet old ladies who smiled brightly as they walked past, the stars were blazing in the sky (Anybody who lives in Bombay, will miss stars) and the Olive Tree quietly kept me company, bringing in a gentle peace. The man Friday, Santosh made me dinner. Coconut prawn curry, rice and beans. Delicious, simple and fresh, it was like I had gone back to how life was meant to be lived.

The villa is filled with warm, earthy hues. Rusted red, bright yellows, browns, reflections of wood and my room contained similar shades. For me personally, there is something intensely soothing about these colours and my sleep that night was filled with beautiful dreams, which of course, I didn’t remember.

The next day I woke up happy. Truly happy and then after a breakfast of omelette, the Goan bun and a pot of tea I set out. The local church had the most beautiful gravestones. I stared at them a long time, trying to figure out the stories of their life from the presence of their death. A quick hello to God and then I decided to walk wherever my feet took me.

I went through many charming lanes filled with interesting houses. Some old, decrepit but with character, a few modern ghastly ones – all of them had people sitting out watching the world go by. Most of them waved out to me, asked me questions, called me in. Their curiosity was flavoured with old world hospitality and charm – of having lived a fairly innocent life. (I have a feeling I am romanticising them, but that’s how it felt).

For lunch I went to Tony’s place. A small local bar and restaurant. Tony is an ex marine engineer, friendly and typically Goan, he immediately took it upon himself to be kind to me. Placed in a little corner table, I sipped some of his Cashew feni (Specially made with spices). Trust me, it has been the smoothest feni I have ever had – the single malt of fenis. I asked him to choose my lunch and he recommended the beef roast. Tender, succulent, its yumminess still lingers in my palate memories.

Much satisfied, I went back to the villa and had another evening of sunsets, birds and Santosh’s home delicacies. For those of you who are reading this and have never experienced the Goan village life, I’d urge you to come here.

This place will pamper your body and soul and wrap you in a happiness bubble, which will linger around you, long after you’ve said goodbye.

VK Arathi Menon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsadrian, Manager at The Only Olive, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Arthi ,
Waiting for you to get back . Birds , Bees and All are missing you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldona
0.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cancio's House
Cancio's House
#1 of 1 in Aldona
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wildflower Villas
Wildflower Villas
#2 of 72 in Candolim
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avanilaya
Avanilaya
#2 of 3 in Aldona
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neemrana's Ishavilas
Neemrana's Ishavilas
#1 of 12 in Siolim
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Menezes
Casa Menezes
#1 of 2 in Goa Velha
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Only Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Only Olive

Property: The Only Olive
Address: 239 Ranoi House No | Goa, Aldona, Bardez 403508, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Aldona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Aldona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Olive – a riverside, charming Portuguese style villa that gets its name from the olive tree in the garden rumored to be a hundred years old - like the house itself. The property has been lovingly refurbished by its responsible owners who have ensured that the villa was restored to reflect its former colonial glory to perfection all the while retaining its inherent Portuguese influences … shell windows and a shared well included. The property is manned by Santhosh who lives with his family on the premises of the villa in his independent house. He's an Aldonian local proud of his village. He speaks Hindi and Konkani and while he's not fluent in English, he can understand and is clever in handling guests. His daughters speak English and step in where required. The villa is in the village Aldona (Bardez taluk) near the Corjeum bridge. It's ideal for travellers who want to experience Goa beyond the beaches in a rustic setting. Baga beach is half an hour drive from the villa. Tinto Market over a km away (walkable) has a clutch of shops including a pharmacy. It has tapris for local food and sweets. The riverside is a delight where you would find the extremely beautiful and calm section of Mandovi River with mangroves. The local people are warm and friendly and always ready to smile (if they find you friendly enough ;) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Only Olive Goa/Aldona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing