We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Astonishing - not to be missed”
Review of Chand Baori

Chand Baori
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.00*
and up
Jaipur Abhaneri Historical Day Trip
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Charismatic Tour from Agra to Jaipur
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Keoladeo Bird Sanctuary and Chand Baori Stepwell Including...
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Abhaneri
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wow - Astonishing - not to be missed”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I saw this on tripadvisor as just off the main Agra to Jaipur road (10 Mins) and felt I had to visit.
When you walk in through the entrance it just takes your breath away with the sheer size and depth. We utilised a local guide and were the only tourists. Our driver had not visited there before so he was as enthralled as we were. DO NOT MISS THIS.

Its a perfect place to just break your trip for 15-20 minutes and stretch your legs and take in the amazing view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    181
    26
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One unique stepwell- must visit in Rajasthan”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This place is almost 98kms away from Jaipur and situated on the way to Agra.This is a step well built by King Chanda in between 8-10th century. There are stories about this step well. Some people said that this step well built for Maharani in chanda period. Stepwell steps were built in a geometric way and that is a real beauty of this well. You could enjoy this step well at any direction.The ruins of Harshat mata temple also seen near step well. You could see the intricate art in the temple.The temple has been destroyed by the invaders and I wonder that how could they destroy the beautiful art forms.The temple has been rebuilt as per locals. After seeing the step well, pay a visit to Harshat mata temple(I hope that earlier it was a shiva-parvati temple and only the pieces remains). I bet that every piece in the temple is very unique and the step well too. How to go: Contact local tour operator; Or Drive from Jaipur to Agra road till Dausa and ask locals to reach this destination. No eat outs near by...Pack food and water. Do not pay money to the children over there.
Loo facility available which is close to Step well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Root_to_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Must See.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Chand Baori, or Abanheri Stepwell, is a pleasant hour or so drive from Jaipur.
It is an absolute MUST to visit.
There are not many tourists, which is refreshing, and it is amazing! For a small tip I had a guide explain the history of the place and I wandered around in utter wonder. It is beautifully quiet and peaceful which allowed me to picture what it was like here in the past.
One can't go down the steps into the well but that is not at all surprising considering the safety aspects. Just to look is plenty!
If you have the opportunity, don't pass this up!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela014_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice stop between Agra and jaipur”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Went there during a recent trip to Agra from jaipur. It's just 15 min partial toll road from sikandra from main highway
Very nice ancient structure . It's a nice ten min stop in between , entry is free only video camera is chargeable
Overall a quite n relaxing place definately recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mightyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our tour guide said he had a surprise for us as we traveled from Jaipur to Agra. We were really astounded as we entered the area and saw the scale of this amazing structure. Be forewarned, it's free admission but they'll charge you for bringing in a camera (I think it was 200 or 300 rupees), and there are beggars outside. But if you're traveling between Jaipur and Agra, it's definitely worth the 10-minute detour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Providence_RITom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chand Baori also viewed

Abhaneri, Dausa District
Alwar, Alwar District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Chand Baori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing