We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, poor service and extremely high price”
Review of The Farm Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Farm Resorts
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, poor service and extremely high price”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have spent one week end at this house. It looked lovely when we arrived. Simple ,clean and located amazingly by the reservoir with stunning views. But when you think of how much we had to pay we started seeing the house was a bit too basic, food same . We also had a small incident. Early in the morning our friend wakes up and find one person walking through our living room. He got surprised and upset while he could not find his phone. We did complain but the manager was instead furious w us.....The unknown " guest was the driver of another family living next door cottage. What was he doing in our living room we did not succeed to understand .the price was a 5 star price,the food basic rice and curry,we had to ask for a soap to wash hands,and eventually used shower gel we brought from home,the cottage inside clean but really basic. I would have enjoyed it but not for the astonishing, amazing, offensive amount of 360 usd . For a second I got confused.. Wait a minute are we talking Maldives or Sri Lanka?!...

Room Tip: The are 2 bedrooms downstairs w so called double beds ,but some narrow double beds, and a few basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanaGDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Four of us shared Cottage 2. The view from the cottage and in the tea estate which we were told was 7 1/2 Acres was so beautiful. You can walk around the whole estate along the paths used by the tea pluckers. So we spent every daylight hour enjoying the view. This cottage has 2 rooms with double beds which were rather small and 2 non attached bathrooms and 6 beds on the attic. The attic did not seem attractive and well maintained. Since only 4 of us stayed there it did not matter. The tea served in a pot was delicious and so were the meals provided. The cottage was clean but seemed a little bit run down. Cottage 1 would be better for someone who is particular about detail. But the view from Cottage 2 is stunning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

There are two bungalows on a small tea plantation right by the water. Lots of parking,great views,very peaceful. Both bungalows are very clean and well looked after,especially the smaller one which is very updated and smart. Vickie the on-site cook/manager is very good. He knows the area,is a good cook and his English is excellent. Beware of some of the other reviews (good and bad) as they are for different places. It is confusing. Similar names,locations and offerings contribute to this confusion. But the the Castlereigh Family Cottages are the best option in the whole area,especially if you have children.
I would recommend the half board option as the breakfasts and dinners are very good. The western menu does only have one selection (Chicken)but another (fresh fish)maybe available if you ask. The place is a easy drive from Dickoya or Hatton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place was awful, will never recommend it to anyone. we booked it for two nights but ended up leaving after one night.

Positives
Location- it's breath taking views all around
Food- is fairly good and a great cup of tea. Thanks to a good chef.

Negatives
Not sure where to begin. The previous reviews didn't give a good explanation about the actual state of the cottage.
The place was awful and dirty, crying out for a face lift. There were rats running about in the night. It was disgusting.

The rooms were very basic but dusty. Many of us ended up getting a cold.
It's shocking how poor this place was.

I wish they did some justice to the incredible surrounding. I blame the manager for his extremely poor management skills.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tb_london2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a guesthouse in a tea growing part of Sri Lanka located close to the Castlereigh reservoir which affords stunning views.The building itself is of a Colonial type with high ceilings and fireplaces.
Access is easy as it is situated just a few kilometres from Hatton which is a major stop on the railway. There are frequent buses from Colombo and even more frequent buses from Kandy. Just get to Hatton and hire a tuk-tuk to get to this guesthouse! If you want to do things in style hire a van to take you around the reservoir.
Access to the guesthouse is easy and there is even a wheel chair!

The rooms are comfortable and big with good bathrooms. The whole place is neat and tidy and the staff are very helpful.

The food, which you need to order in good time, is excellant and cooked to order. We had Sri Lankan style food.
There is no bar but there are plenty of liquor shops in the nearby town of Bogawantalawa. The staff will provide ice buckets!

It is a relaxing sort of place and a good place for walking or you can sit and watch the tea pluckers at work.
The gardens are well maintained with lots of exotic flowers.
Please note that this is a guesthouse and not a hotel. So don't expect the usual amenities like wi-fi, spa, massage and souvenir shops.

Room Tip: The front rooms afford a good view with doors opening onto the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the four Castlereigh Family Bungalows called Summerville for 2 nights.

From the moment we arrived, I fell in love with the place, so much so that I thought my husband and I should move there!

When I saw Relais and Chateux on the front of the Bunglow, I knew not to expect anything but excellence and they most certainly delivered. Everything was of the higest quality, our food, our tea, our wines and most importantly the staff.

Our complimentary high tea at the Castlereigh Bungalow was a really nice touch. We had orignally planned to go by boat across the river to have our high tea at the Castlereigh Bungalow, unfortunately the weather was not on our side, but I thought it would have been very romantic!

We also had a complimentary tour of a tea factory and were taught the art of tea tasting and shown how tea is made from the very beginning! Our guide (he also works at Summerville) who took us for the tea tour was very knowledgeable and well versed.

The staff at Summerville were wonderful. They made us feel very welcome and spoilt us rotten! Our rooms were always spic and span and very comfortable.

The two days we had at Summerville didn't seem enough, we really wished we could have had a lot longer there.

Although the Bungalows are somewhat quite far out and out of the way, once you get there, it will be completely worth it! I would definitely recommend a stay at the Castlereigh Bungalows, esp if you just want to unwind, put your feet up and forget about the world!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just spent two nights in the 2 bedroom cottage perched amongst eucalyptus trees above the reservoir on a tea plantation. The cottage was comfortable, both bedrooms had a double bed with mosquito net and ensuite bathroom. There was a lounge and a dining area with TV and a pleasant verandah to sit and watch the ladies picking tea or the fishermen in their tiny boats on the water.
There is a kitchen behind the two cottages where Viki produces breakfasts and any other meals that are required and someone sleeps there at night for security. We really enjoyed the Sri Lankan food and the chats we had with Viki - he is a mine of local information and very willing to reveal the secrets of the kitchen.
I would recommend the cottages to anyone wanting a really peaceful couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickoya
0.0 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,554 reviews
0.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ceylon Tea Trails
#1 of 1 in Hatton
1,210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Nawalapitiya
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Slightly Chilled
Slightly Chilled
#1 of 13 in Nallathanniya
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm Resorts

Property: The Farm Resorts
Address: Norton Road, Dickoya 22050, Sri Lanka (Formerly Castlereigh Family Cottages)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dickoya
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Dickoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Farm Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farm Resorts, on the banks of the Castlereigh Reservoir, is a magical, untouched serene tranquil haven to gather your strengths in a peaceful natural ambience, absolutely the best way to experience the Hill Country. Just three and a half hours by road from Colombo or less than a hour by seaplane to The Farm Resorts. We offer unique accommodation in a reasonable price range ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Farm Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farm Resorts Sri Lanka/Dickoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing