We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governor's Mansion
Nearby Hotels
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
79
14
11
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
14
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea trailssnooker tablesri lankaadam's peakclay courtboard gamesthe ownerhigh teamemorable holidayvictorian suiteearly eveningthree nightscurrysurrounded by tea plantationsafternoon teaawesome viewsexceptional service
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 112 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Governor's Mansion during New Years Eve and it is a nice hotel situated in spectaculars tea plantations!

We had the Victorian suite which was huge and very beautiful! The staff was very nice and helpful. The gardens are incredible beautiful and very well maintained. The views of the hotel are superb and one never get tired of looking at those green tea plantations and the top of Adams Peak!

This is indeed a very unique and beautiful english mansion which has everything to be a 5star hotel: location, rooms, decoration, staff, atmosphere but the one thing that is not up to standard is the restaurant unfortunately. All meals except breakfast were quite tasteless and mostly overcooked even when asked for rare...

This being an important part for us while travelling it was the one thing that made this stay less exceptional but it is only one thing to improve and then it would be perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heleneandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOVERNORSMANSION, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

I thank you on behalf of the staff for your complements. I have personally taken the initiative to speak with the Executive chef and the chefs regarding the points you have raised. I must confess in Sri Lanka unlike in Europe it is very difficult to convince chefs to offer meat cooked rare. I personally devour steaks cooked rare and lamb cooked medium to rare. It is a shame since we only offer our valued guests imported Australian steaks, New Zealand lamb etc that they have not been offered the way you have requested. Chefs have given me their assurances that this will be done as of now. We hope you will visit our establishment again and we will offer you a truly remarkable experience without any concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was the highlight of our tour of Sri Lanka ! It’s the first time I write a review because it deserves commendation. We (a group of 10 friends) stayed at the Governor’s Mansion for 2 nights in mid December. As we were the only guests, we had the whole mansion to ourselves. We enjoyed the experience which is not the same as staying in luxury 5 star hotels. It’s an elegant and beautiful property surrounded by tea plantations. The photos on the web do not do justice to it. The rooms were comfortable. The only trouble we encountered was there were no twin beds. Our two single lady friends had to share a king bed in one of the suites.

The service was impeccable. We were pampered by the staff Amila, Daya and Sameera from the moment we arrived till departure. Fresh juices, wine, tea or coffee (with homemade cakes) were served any time we wanted. The next morning after our arrival, Daya took us hiking up the tea plantations. The next day, they arranged tea plucking experience for the ladies. I look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had high hopes for Governors Mansion. The location of the house is amazing, completely surrounded by tea plantations and the gardens were nice as well. The house was a let down, a bit drab and the beds were terrible. No top sheet on the bed and cardboard under the mattress. Not at all what I expected for the price.

The food was the worst part of our stay. On arriving we had our first meal, my partner ordered asparagus as an entree, it was tinned asparagus over a boiled egg with jarred mayonnaise, pretty revolting. My brushcetta, was pasta sauce on toast. We both had steak as a main which was pub food standard. The curry for dinner was marginally better. At breakfast we were asked how we would like our eggs, poached eggs we discovered are microwaved.

This place could really be fantastic if they were to lift their game with the food and the interiors. At almost $400 a night this hotel is overpriced and I would not recommend staying here. I am interested to hear what the management has to say. Anyone who has given a less than positive review has been labelled a liar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOVERNORSMANSION, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

One hopes that the guest would have high expectations and not high hopes for the hotel. The lady and her partner arrived in a three-wheeler. The operational staff offered them our customary welcome. They were allocated a historic room that is used by many honeymoon couples. Breath taking views and all comforts. This review is from a very suspicious source connected to a person who has reason to frown on our prestigious hotel. I will attempt to deal with the main points in the review:

1. Valued guests who recognise a touch of class rave about the decor and the restoration that has taken many years of painstaking work and resources. Even at the Ritz (London) you would not be offered a top sheet when the bed is made with mattress protectors, under blanket, sheet and then you are offered a duvet with a clean duvet cover. This is how duvets are used? The bed is an antique bed with a spring base and a protector to prevent the new individually sprung mattress getting damaged. In the olden days they had used a canvas and this is something you cannot buy for all the tea in China. We use especially manufactured fibre sheet and a under blanket between the bed base and the mattress.

2. The meal consumed on arrival was Asparagus (Fresh from our own garden), over a half a boiled egg with home made mayonnaise and garnished. Bruschetta is a signature dish at the GM and is made specially by the pastry chefs and is never toasted but goes under a salamander grill with the paste made by the chefs. Not at all what the person claims?

3. Very few hotels in Sri Lanka will offer Australian Steak. SL steak is one sixth the price of Australian steak.

4. Our SL food is most highly thought of.

5. To say one was offered "micro waved poached eggs" is beyond belief.

The person is on about the price of $380.00c for all inclusive services. The couple demanded for the cheapest vehicles despite the condition for their travel. Our staff did refuse to arrange substandard vehicles to take the couple. Everything had to do with "money"`.The cheapest tea they can buy, cheapest vehicle to take them to the next destination etc.

We believe in offering quality at affordable prices. There is an old saying "one does not offer candy to a donkey". Needless to say the couple would have been better off in a cheap and nasty guest house. Up market boutique hotels should not have been their choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Governor’s Mansion for 3 nights and it was lovely. The staff were fantastic, they were friendly, helpful, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was delicious and the chef always catered for my fussy tastes and allergies. Meals could be taken any time you wanted so you didn’t have to stick to any strict routines. The grounds were stunning, with a views of all the tea plantations and Adam’s Peak. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and very spacious with a great view. All in all it was a great hotel, very homely, we had a wonderful trip and will definitely go back. And the tea was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is really only one word to describe this place ..wow! We arrived in the middle of the night so didn't get to take in the scenary until we woke up the next morning and looked out the window to find ourselves in the middle of the rolling green tea plantations!The hospitality at the Governor's Mansion is superb and couldn't be faulted. The chef will cook up whatever you fancy and it is always fantastic. I also can't forget to mention the tea! Amazing! Especially when served up with homemade cakes!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews