We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Rockets in the Sky”

Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Like Rockets in the Sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Falcons, Hawks, Owls, Moreporks, a truly awesome facility with flying demos by some birds, very very good handlers who explained what & how very well. We even got to have a falcon sit on our hand, big glove on Yes.
The children who were in the audience were over awed. Entry prices were quite good

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    67
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning flying at Wingspan: absolute must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wingspan National Birds of Prey centre is completely amazing. Seeing our NZ falcon (karearea) up close is a special experience. Seeing them flying is something else entirely. And if you're lucky there might even be some chicks! Fastest thing in the sky! A wonderful day out for everyone, and you might even find yourself holding a falcon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pachyderm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A place you will never forget!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I visited Wingspan recently and was amazed! The staff obviously care deeply about the birds of prey, there is so much effort made to create a home for so many wild birds. As well as being able to get up close to these amazing creatures, they also have a museum and nice little gift shop. The best part of this unique experience is the flying display, and I even got to have a falcon land on my hand!
I highly recommend visiting Wingspan. The best part of my summer holiday. Thanks wingspan :D

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CASEY666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a must see in Rotorua, beautiful to watch the birds fly, very educational. Being able to feed the birds off your own hand is magic. Great for young and old.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Saw 20 day old morepork chicks being fed then watched the hour long bird display and even got to hold and feed a falcon. Well worth a visit, keepers very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Helpful?
Thank Embobabe1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing