We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must to Visit”

Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A Must to Visit”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Being Kiwis visiting a place like wingspan is amazing to see the work they do breeding & rearing these endangered birds the show was great, then after visiting we went to the government gardens to try to see the 2 birds they had recently released there, didn't have any luck they must have been shy but was alot of fun looking

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnHollister H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    67
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun, fascinating and for a good cause”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

With a mix of fascinating natural and cultural history in the museum, an aviary with falcons hawks and moreporks (and cute & fluffy chicks), plus an entertaining and educational falconry display, this is really a value-for-money attraction - especially with the knowledge that the entry fee supports a worthwhile conservation cause in protecting the endangered NZ falcon (Karearea). The highlight was the opportunity to hold one of the falcons during the falconry show.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kdtotara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I really enjoyed this attraction. I knew very little about NZ falcon. Having the ability to view them close up was well worth it. Good information was displayed which was easy to read and gave good insight to the work of the Bird of Prey Centre. A pleasant drive to get there, clean and tidy facilities. The falcon flight displays were amazing to watch and we thoroughly enjoyed this. The falconers were funny and friendly, explained everything fully and gave amazing displays of the work they do to retrain falcons to hunt in the wild. We are very lucky to have such a facility and I was happy to pay the entry fee to help them continue their great work in raising NZ falcons and returning them to the wild.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful location and interesting show”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We really enjoyed this experience. The show was very education and we learned a lot about falconry. The back drop for the show was beautiful mountains and forest. It was very peaceful. You can tell the people who worked there had great passion for what they do.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank teachertraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Show up at about 1pm and you'll have plenty of time to go through the small museum and see the birds in their aviaries, before heading outside for the 2pm show. The show, staff, and birds are magnificent. The show is really a training and exercise session for the falcons, and the staff explain everything they do as well as the birds' behaviours. The show takes up a good 40 minutes, and the staff never seem in a hurry to put the birds away, allowing everyone a leisurely chance to have a falcon perched on their hand. It was a really nice experience, and we learned a lot about NZ's native wildlife. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canada-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing