We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful organization”

Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Franklin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful organization”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The highlight of any visit is the 2 PM 'show' when they fly the falcons. Very informative as well as fun. Visitors get to hold a bird and watch as they train the birds. Excellent educational organization and also a very good opportunity birds that are hard to photograph in the wild. Very strongly recommended if you are in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wpohley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    69
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great photo opportunities for camera buffs”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We took our 8 year old grandson to Birds of Prey Trust. I gave him my little point-and-shoot camera to use for the day. He loved looking through the aviary area before the show started, and the smaller museum-type area.

The falcon of the day was Ozzie. Ozzie and his trainer put on a great performance - informative while being informal enough that people could ask questions. Both my grandson and I got some great photos. A couple of months later, grandson still remembers Ozzie's name and remembers all the details of the show.

Wingspan are a real credit to Rotorua and the work they do with our endangered birds is fabulous.

More local people should take the time to visit and appreciate what is on their doorstep.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HinemoaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a low-key attraction with great features. This organization is working to preserve New Zealand's raptors, and they put on a daily show of how they train birds, and everybody can hold one during the presentation. Well worth a visit by anybody who likes birds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shame On Me”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I live in Rotorua and the other day was the first time I have ever been to Wingspan. Shame on me alright, huh? Sometimes, being so close can make you very blase about what's right on your doorstep.

Now that I have been there and learned a bit about this organisation and the endangered NZ native birds they are working so hard to protect, I'm amazed.

The facilities are basic and obviously all the money (entry fees, donated or raised by the way) goes into the birds. From taking in injured birds, to breeding programmes and providing education and more, the volunteers are doing a fabulous job.

The information provided by the handlers while taking the Falcon flying display was fascinating. What you don't know you don't know.

This is a place for all ages but I think it definitely captures the imaginations of children. Some have left and gone on to raise money for Wingspan or to make their own falconry gear even. Very cool. I learnt that in the NZ$5.00 Wingspan Special Edition magazine. Ask to buy one as there is some great information inside. Definitely a memorable place to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwisCanDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“bird of prey centre”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

i really liked the way they educated the public about these wonderful birds and were releasing those they could back to the wild. great show

Helpful?
Thank lorettainnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing