We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned family fun for all”
Review of Agrodome

Agrodome
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.97*
and up
Agrodome Sheep Show and Farm Tour
More Info
$118.16*
and up
Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour
More Info
$199.44*
and up
Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Agrodome is one on New Zealand's most loved tourist attractions. Located just 10 kms north of the Rotorua CBD, the Agrodome is home to the multi award winning Sheep Show . This famous Rotorua attraction features live sheep shearing, 19 breeds of champion rams, cow milking, lamb feeding, dog demonstrations as well as a full New Zealand dog trial. There are three exciting shows a day at 9.30am, 11.00am and 2.30pm. Each Sheep Show is an hour duration. Also join the Farm & Orchard Tour for a hands-on experience with a variety of farm animals including Cattle, Deer, Alpaca, Ostrich, Sheep and much more. You will also visit the Education Centre for honey and kiwifruit juice tasting. The Farm Tours depart daily at 10.40am, 12.10pm, 1.30pm and 3.40pm. Complete your Agrodome experience with a visit to the Woollen Mill and Shearing Shed to see the full process of wool from the Sheep's back to yours. The Farmyard Nursery is also a must see with baby animals available for cuddles and photos year round. After a full-on day of farm fun, ensure that you grab a souvenir to remember your visit from our fabulous gift store the Dog and Whistle . With a great range of New Zealand, Rotorua and Agrodome quality souvenirs you find something you can treasure forever. This all weather attraction is open 365 days of the year from 8.30am to 5.00pm.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned family fun for all”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a really fun place to visit, especially with young children. The Farm Tour was a highlight of our holiday – with everyone in our group enjoying feeding the alpacas and sheep – and makes for great photos. We were lucky that feijoas (or 'frozens joes' as my son keeps calling them) were in season during our visit (from about April to early June) and that we got to taste these unusual New Zealand fruits. Our guide on the farm tour was really knowledgeable and friendly. The staff at reception were also extremely helpful - taking care of our stroller while we were on the farm tour, and lending us blankets to take on the tractor.

The stage show is fun for everyone – even those sceptics who think they probably won’t enjoy it. The Dog and Whistle Souvenir Shop has an extensive range and comparable prices. This is a fun place to visit while in Rotorua. Keep an eye out for discount vouchers in local tourist publications.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wal_on_hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Just love your trip advisor pseudonym...and of course your review, I am also proud to read the reception team spotted your kids might have been a little chilly on the top plateau and issued blankets (nice to be snuggly on the farm tours). The Feijoa's aka 'Frozen Joes' are dropping and I encourage everyone to try these (pop a few in your bag for breakfast, they are just divine). Again thanks again and we welcome you back any time....kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    387
    120
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Interesting Shearing Show At The Agrodome”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Probabaly the best and certainly most entertaining sheep shearing demo that we saw while on tour in New Zealand!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Your so welcome! and I thank you for your review. The American market is returning to international travel to NZ and we just love entertaining you. I hope the rest of your journey went well and you can spread the word on just how beautiful NZ is on return...take care, kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“better than any reality shows on tv”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

the performer that conducts the show was very knowledgeable and always keeps the spectators on their seats to know more about NZ sheeps, cows and dogs that care the farm.there are language translator gadgets in the centre which is good.do take part in d activities so that you will feel d excitement and sense of purose when seeing whtever he does like shearing the sheep, milking the cow and making the dog muster the sheeps.good place to understand how kiwi farmers do their work.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mustapha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Kia ora and thank you for the kind words of support. I nice summary of the Farm Show and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ journey. Safe travels, kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Surprisingly entertaining”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went to the Agrodome as part of my coach tour itinerary. As an animal loving Vegetarian it would not have been some where I would have chosen to visit independently, but I went along anyway with low expectations and an open mind.

I can honestly say I actually enjoyed the sheep show, the compare was funny, entertaining and educational. The show was well put together and just the right length.



Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are delighted as animal lovers as well and yes we too have many vegetarian's on the staff who have been here a long time FYI. I hope we can entertain you again...Kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hokey. Reminded me of demonstrations at a county fair.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

If you want to see a sheep shorn or a cow milked with some farm humor thrown in then this is the place. The croad loved it. Half way through I left for a coffee and did not come back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank df03438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your note, all I can say is wow that coffee must have been great! safe travels and hope to see you back for the second half of the show...this ones on us just quote your reviewer code...kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agrodome also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Agrodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing