We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than any reality shows on tv”
Review of Agrodome

Agrodome
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.94*
and up
Agrodome Sheep Show and Farm Tour
More Info
$118.07*
and up
Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour
More Info
$199.28*
and up
Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Agrodome is one on New Zealand's most loved tourist attractions. Located just 10 kms north of the Rotorua CBD, the Agrodome is home to the multi award winning Sheep Show . This famous Rotorua attraction features live sheep shearing, 19 breeds of champion rams, cow milking, lamb feeding, dog demonstrations as well as a full New Zealand dog trial. There are three exciting shows a day at 9.30am, 11.00am and 2.30pm. Each Sheep Show is an hour duration. Also join the Farm & Orchard Tour for a hands-on experience with a variety of farm animals including Cattle, Deer, Alpaca, Ostrich, Sheep and much more. You will also visit the Education Centre for honey and kiwifruit juice tasting. The Farm Tours depart daily at 10.40am, 12.10pm, 1.30pm and 3.40pm. Complete your Agrodome experience with a visit to the Woollen Mill and Shearing Shed to see the full process of wool from the Sheep's back to yours. The Farmyard Nursery is also a must see with baby animals available for cuddles and photos year round. After a full-on day of farm fun, ensure that you grab a souvenir to remember your visit from our fabulous gift store the Dog and Whistle . With a great range of New Zealand, Rotorua and Agrodome quality souvenirs you find something you can treasure forever. This all weather attraction is open 365 days of the year from 8.30am to 5.00pm.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

the performer that conducts the show was very knowledgeable and always keeps the spectators on their seats to know more about NZ sheeps, cows and dogs that care the farm.there are language translator gadgets in the centre which is good.do take part in d activities so that you will feel d excitement and sense of purose when seeing whtever he does like shearing the sheep, milking the cow and making the dog muster the sheeps.good place to understand how kiwi farmers do their work.

Thank Mustapha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Kia ora and thank you for the kind words of support. I nice summary of the Farm Show and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ journey. Safe travels, kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
There are newer reviews for Agrodome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 786 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went to the Agrodome as part of my coach tour itinerary. As an animal loving Vegetarian it would not have been some where I would have chosen to visit independently, but I went along anyway with low expectations and an open mind.

I can honestly say I actually enjoyed the sheep show, the compare was funny, entertaining and educational. The show was well put together and just the right length.



Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We are delighted as animal lovers as well and yes we too have many vegetarian's on the staff who have been here a long time FYI. I hope we can entertain you again...Kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

If you want to see a sheep shorn or a cow milked with some farm humor thrown in then this is the place. The croad loved it. Half way through I left for a coffee and did not come back.

Thank df03438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks for your note, all I can say is wow that coffee must have been great! safe travels and hope to see you back for the second half of the show...this ones on us just quote your reviewer code...kindest regards Grant Kilby General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great opportunity to learn about the New Zealand you read about - under one roof. Working dogs and all the breeds of sheep and how they contribute to the economy of NZ.

Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We just love showcasing New Zealand to both our international visitors and even our nationals, we thank you from the heart and hope you had a wonderful holiday in NZ...Kindest regards Grant Kilby Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like others have said animals and the farm tour are really very good but what makes it that bit better is how good all the staff are! Everyone was so welcoming and friendly and really took an interest in the people that were there. I even stupidly managed to miss the farm tour which is after the sheep show so one of the staff drove me down to meet the rest of the group no problem at all! My main recommendation is to do the show and farm tour combo, its a little more money but feeding all the animals and trying the kiwi fruit wine and honey is really worth it (and make sure you stroke an alpaca they are insanely fluffy!).

Thank CharlotteM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant K, General Manager at Agrodome, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for recognising the team, your so right! even though we have some amazingly beautiful animals here the staff are so dedicated to ensuring everybody has a great time and are given the best advice possible. I will be printing your response off for our team here today to give them a pat on the back...again thanks regards Grant Kilby General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agrodome also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Agrodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing