We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utterly charming. Wish we could have stayed...”
other travelers have booked this property
Blue Cottage lakefront retro charm. Perfect for up to 6 guests. Home away from home, All Mod cons.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Cottage lakefront retro charm. Perfect for up to 6 guests. Home away from home, All Mod cons.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Blue Cottage lakefront retro charm. Perfect for up to 6 guests. Home away from home, All Mod cons.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ngongotaha, Rotorua, Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C434JEsan...
Cannes, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, pity about the inside”
Reviewed March 7, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Cannot fault this location at all - idyllic, and we loved living by the lake. We also learnt (the hard way) all about Trout Flies. If you leave the door or window open and a light on, literally thousands of them will come to visit. We shut the doors and windows quickly, but still had lots of them inside, and could not see out the windows for the others trying to get in! So, forget about a BBQ or sitting on the terrace after sunset! Next evening we got the hang of it, and very few came in.

The cottage is in need of some TLC, but the price is reasonable and that did not worry us. Only two of us, so plenty of room. What did worry us though was the standard of cleanliness. The blue shower curtain was basically half brown with mould, so took it down to wash- but had to clean the mouldy excess powder etc from the inside the washing machine before we could use it. Mugs had to be cleaned before use (no dishwasher, so almost to be expected) so we simply washed things before using them to eat or drink. The fridge was full of out of date half-used jars, butter and marg tubs mainly empty with lots of toast crumbs, and a jar of apricot jam with more jam outside and over the shelf than inside. Chucked all that, and cleaned up the fridge. The BBQ was in a dreadful state, and husband refused to use it, so we moved on to plan B and changed the menu for our first evening.

We pointed this all out to Kerri, the manager, on the evening of our arrival, and asked for one thing - that someone come and clean the BBQ for us so we could use it. No reply, so sent email again the next day - then shocked by her reply. Turns out that Kerri herself is the cleaner, and did not appreciate our comments and request. We were told that the cottage was fit for purpose, but not fit for us, and that the customer is not always right, and that she would come round and fetch the keys and give us a refund.

Having cleaned the place up, we did not want to spend time to find alternative accommodation, so said we had not asked for a refund and would be staying for the third and final day. We are glad we did, the sunrise was simply amazing, and we got some great shots of it just before 7am.

I do hope that Kerri learns that the single most important thing in rental management is that the cleaning is top notch. Had it been so, we would have ignored the slightly run down aspect, enjoyed the perfect location, had a BBQ or two (weather was simply fabulous- end of a heatwave) and awarded 4 or 5 stars!

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozwitch
Wodonga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Utterly charming. Wish we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed February 28, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Stayed here for two nights in February. Such a beautifully appointed cottage and just a treat to stay in. It has two bedrooms, main with a lovely lake view and the second with extra top bunk for kids, lots of books and games etc.What was really impressive was the decor which made the cottage a delight, even the cartographic ducks on the wall! Gorgeous spot, hard to beat. Appreciated the free kayaks. Lots of thoughtful touches, including fresh bread, fruit condiments and sauces. Karen was extremely helpful and made sure we were okay and happily settled. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKU1410
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a great cottage!”
Reviewed January 26, 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Very good fully equipped cottage right on the edge of the lake. About 15 mins drive from the centre of Rotorua. Very quiet, with great view from the porch.
The kajaks that can be used by guests are a great bonus. And the BBQ is great to relax after visiting the sights around town.
Hosts are very friendly and helpfull.

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review Ad, It was a thrill to have you include us in your adventures in New Zealand visiting family and the sights.
We'd love to see you again one day if the road brings you back this way.
All the very best,
Karen & Yvonne
Rotorua Lakes Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Blue Cottage”
Reviewed January 1, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

Lovely cottage. Owner friendly and easy to contact. Clean, comfy beds, good facilities. Use of kayaks and BBQ. Beautiful outlook and highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph_Par...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Excellent lakeside property”
Reviewed December 25, 2018 for a stay in December 2018

My partner and I had a three day stay and loved the location on the lake. Away from the rather smelly end of the lake. Great facilities including the use of the kayaks. Excellent help when we arrived and a storm had taken out the wifi. A flexible later checkout was offered as there were no new guests coming that day - that sort of approach really helps when you’re on a long road trip. The cottage isn’t super modern and swanky but it has everything you need and the location is super

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourist48...
1 review
“Perfect cottage on Lake Rotorua”
Reviewed November 26, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Fantastic stay at the Blue Cottage on Lake Rotorua for my family of 5 adults for 3 nights this November. Outstanding views and accommodations offering many amenities including a full kitchen, washer and dryer. Awake each morning to adorable ducks and black swans at the back door. We loved using the 2 kayaks to explore the lake and watch the sunsets. Our host Karen provided the most phenomenal hospitality from the moment I enquired about booking and throughout our stay, offering guidance and assistance when needed. Thank you Karen for making our stay at the Blue Cottage on Lake Rotorua exceptional! The Lake House is very quiet, directly on the lake with parking. Driving to the center of Rotorua, groceries and all of the Rotorua activities is a short 10 minute drive or less on one main highway, very convenient! I highly recommend the Blue Cottage on Lake Rotorua!

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorer2...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Blue cottage”
Reviewed October 20, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

The blue cottage was lovely. Our family loved waking up with the lake and ducks in the front yard. My kids loved kayaking in the lake. Beds were comfy and the home was very clean. Would stay here again!

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing