We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Elterwater
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
194
26
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
194
26
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drying room self catering kitchen britannia inn national trust car park common room bunk beds lake district apple crumble well stocked kitchen langdale valley great pub free wifi great facilities friendly welcome walking holiday an evening meal a great place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 225 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Second year visiting with a group of friends and was not disappointed! Lots of small things add up to make your stay excellent. All the facilities are great, social sitting area, lovely hot showers and dryer areas. Would not stay anywhere else! :)

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y3673AVlucyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Every year 25-30 of us get together for a weekend of walks and catching up.
Elterwater Hostel is the only venue we would choose. Great location, clean, well equipped rooms, great showers and lots of space for us to relax and socialise.
I am a big fan of the lights and USB ports next to the beds. I can not recommend Elterwater Hostel enough. Also a great pub in the Britannia just a short stroll away.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 437calumh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

We were impressed with the friendly welcome, homely decor, sofas, sociable sitting area, hot showers, good drying room. I would recommend the Elterwater hostel, it's just what a hostel should be. Thanks to the staff for the relaxed atmosphere, helping when needed and keeping the place so clean and welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank betty440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Thanks for the great review

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019

We arrived 6 hours late due to a broken car. However all was well as some o,f the group had arrived on time. They were given all the keys that were needed and we settled in okay.
Breakfast was good. Plenty of juice, yogurts, croissant ,tea, coffee and an endless supply of toast.
The breakfast is full English with a non meat option.
The hosts were friendly and welcoming and helpful, and knowledgable.
The hostel has a secure bike store,bike wash facilities and a very good drying room.
The accommodation is good for what it is. The toilet and showers are modern and clean, and there is plenty of soap, toilet roll and paper towels.
Definitely a hostel which gives good value for money.

Room tip: I would think any room is good as the area is so tranquil
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019

Thanks and hope you got your car sorted out!

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Really lovely place, exceptionally clean and very friendly staff. Liked that you dont need to bring any bedding at all - all supplied.
The bed was really comfortable and the toilet/showers were great.
the kitchen was large and very well equipped.
The bar/restaurant on site was very flexible and they had some good beers!
Overall I would not hesitate to go back and found it much better than the other ones I have stayed in the Lakes!

Room tip: Its a very quiet village, silence is all around!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simondZ9791RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Thanks for the great review.

Hopefully we'll see you back before too long

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews