We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hostel, superb location”
Review of Elterwater Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elterwater Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Welcoming hostel, superb location”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our first visit. We are a group of four that meet annually for walks in the Lakes. We had previously stayed in bed-and-breakfasts but the hostel was a pleasant change and an experience that we all agreed we would be happy to repeat The welcome is warm and sincere, the staff are very knowledgeable about the local area and keen to advise if needed. The hostel has been renovated by the new owners, including two new showers that were perfect at the end of the day's walking. The hostel is clean and inviting and retains it's Lakeland charm in a tranquil setting. The room was tidy and the beds comfortable with fresh linen (don't forget a towel). The breakfast was excellent, packed lunches were available for a nominal sum, if needed, and a perfect mixture of drink, sandwiches, fruit and snacks for a day's walking. We had already pre-booked our evening meals in the Britannia Inn nearby (3 minute walk) but food is also available at the hostel if pre-ordered. The bar stocks local ales and the lounge is comfortable. At the hostel, Wifi is available but a little patchy, as is the mobile phone reception (the Wifi is fine in the lounge and reception). Parking is a couple of minutes walk away but it is possible to unload and load at the hostel itself. There is a drying room but thankfully we didn't need this as the weather was kind to us. A restful break and a warm welcome, thank you.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front with a view over fields and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for the review, I'm pleased to hear that we compared favourably with your 'normal' choice of accommodation. I'm curious to know if the walk back on a full stomach and having tasted the local beers only took 3 minutes as well? ;-)

Handy hint in the quest for a mobile signal if you visit again... go 'native'.. put your phone on the windowsill and yell at the speakerphone...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
27
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here a couple of weekends ago with my Dad. Brilliant hostel - very friendly, welcoming & helpful. Beautiful location, lovely little garden with a picnic bench for sunny days, 2 minutes stroll from Britannia Inn. Great breakfasts, very well equipped kitchen, immaculately clean rooms. Slept well in a comfortable bed. We walked Langdale Pikes which are easily accessible by car or bus & took a beautiful walk straight from the hostel through the woods up Loughrigg Fell.
We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing out the back - but I imagine the front facing rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We're pleased you and your dad had a good time, and thanks for taking time to write a great review.. we'd love to have you back to stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a great Hostel as part of the YHA - we hope this continues now that Elterwater sold off like so many other Hostels in the Lakes and UK as a whole.:-(

Great location - handy for the nice pub in the village - bike parking - many great bike rides in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hill-Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for the review... I'm not sure you've stayed since our change of ownership, but we'll let you off since you gave us a good rating, and as long as you actually come and stay and experience the improvement .. new mattresses and pillows, revamped showers, FREE wifi and lots of new furniture.. still present are the cycle shed, efficient drying room, and we are still the same distance from the pub.. so great as part of YHA and now even better!! The new owners are passionate about providing a great service in a great location, the staff are passionate about providing a great service in a great location, so it's all good for our guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I look for small hostels in quiet rural settings with good self-catering facilities, daytime access, a drying room and friendly staff. This hostel has always ticked all those boxes, and even more so now that it is shaking free of the shackles of the YHA.

The hostel has a large combined dining/common room with comfy sofas and plenty of tables, along with a well-stocked games cupboard, books and magazines on walking and cycling. The self-catering kitchen is small but has everything you need including a small freezer. I didn't eat the hostel food myself as I'm on a budget, but the amazing smells wafting from the kitchen nearly tempted me to do so.

The dorms are small and not crowded (the largest female dorm has six bunks), with separate male and female washrooms at opposite ends of the corridor and two very smart newly-fitted-out unisex showers. If you've been here before you'll be delighted to know that as part of the renovations the wall-mounted gadget in the female washrooms which squirted chemicals into the air every couple of minutes has been removed, hurrah! There was no need for it, as the washrooms, like the rest of the hostel, are kept immaculately clean and tidy. The renovations have also included new mattresses and pillows throughout, and insulation of the loft which, along with the vey effective central heating, makes the hostel cosily warm.

There's an excellent, secure drying room (you have to go outside the hostel to get to it) and a secure bike shed. In spring the reception area is host to a nest-cam which shows what's happening in the bluetit nesting box mounted high on the wall outside. You'll also meet Elvis, the hostel terrapin, resident for the last twenty years.

The staff are welcoming, friendly, incredibly efficient and extremely knowledgeable about the local area (the manager is also the head of the local Mountain Rescue team). All are keen walkers/cyclists/runners and can discuss options for various adventures both on the fells and in the local towns and villages. The detailed MWIS weather forecast is posted each evening next to reception.

There's a very good pub four minutes' stroll away. The nearest reasonable shops are in Ambleside, a twenty-minute drive away, but the hostel reception stocks supplies of some basic foods and toiletries (and there is a small village shop in Chapel Stile, five minutes by car). They also sell the excellent AA map which uses the OS 1:25,000 mapping of the whole of the central Lakes area. And beers and wines.

Your mobile probably won't get much useful reception here, but there is a payphone, which accepts incoming calls, and the hostel provides free wifi. Thankfully, there is no television (and no foozeball table).

I stayed here for ten days in early May, probably the third or fourth time I've been. During my visit a drunk driver wrote off my car and that of my brother, on the other side of the village. We were completely astonished by the support shown us by the staff, who lent us the hostel phone for the hours of phone calls we had to make, offered us fudge, and even insisted on driving my sister to her local appointment.

This is pretty much the ideal walker's hostel; I'll be coming back again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hostel are lighter and have the pretty views. The rooms at the back ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wibble_puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
wibble_puppy, thanks for a lovely review. It's very kind of you to take time to write in such detail. When you come to visit again, have a word with us and we'll see if we can do you a bit of a deal on a meal and give you a break from cooking, after all, what's the point of a holiday if you don't get ONE night off from cooking!?

I hope your car is now sorted. The unfortunate incident was a break from our normal peaceful existence and a bit of a surprise for all of us!

See you again...?

Cheers

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just got back from a three night stay where we used the hostel for another visit to the central fells. I have stayed there several times (lads and dads weekends etc) and was interested to see the impact of "privatisation". I need not have worried the place is as good as ever. The team running it were great - welcoming and friendly and attentive making for a good trip. The welcoming coffee was a nice touch and much appreciated and that was available throughout. After a few beers and meals in the Brit (always excellent and so close to the hostel) and wainwrights it was really enjoyable to sit outside the hostel with a bottle of their very good value wine (you can't go wrong with their Argentinian Malbec at circa ten quid a bottle) rest the weary limbs and watch the sun go down in a tranquil garden. Room 12 was fine with comfortable bunks and was just the job for catching the Zzzzz's after full days walking. The place was really spotless and there are two newly updated shower rooms which were brilliant after a day on the high fells to revive the body prior to walking to the Brit ! Whilst we didn't have breakfast it looked very nice and was cooked to order for a group from Russia who were doing the Cumbrian way. Great value as well. The hostel was very quiet when we were there (20 May) which made us concerned as we wouldn't want this special place to close but we concluded that some people may think it has closed post privatisation. Indeed we bumped into some folk on Bowfell and the Crinkles who thought it had shut and so we put them right. Folks this place has not closed so spread the message it's great as ever and open for business in of the best spots in the lakes with a very good management team. Wish Nick a speedy recovery and as MacArthur said "I shall return". Thanks to the team for a very nice stay. One improvement recommendation - get the fireplace open for autumn ! It will be a great focal point for the main lounge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfox1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thanks for the great review. As you say, we are very much still here, so thanks for spreading the word... and we're glad you like what we're doing

I think it's unlikely we'll have the fireplace built by autumn. It will require a BIG hole and a lot of mess, so it's much more a winter job. In the meantime we'll all just keep warming our toes in front of the electric fire and hoping that the summer is good enough to not require it anyway!!

And finally thanks for the best wishes.. it's very frustrating being largely confined to the sofa waiting for my leg to grow back on!! However, as you, and MacArthur said "I shall return"

Cheers,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed for 6 nights here and had a wonderful time. The location is excellent (both for walking and pubbing as the Britannia Inn is one minute walk away), the facilities are very good, including a well-equipped and tidy kitchen, the best showers of my two weeks in the Lakes and a comfy lounge/dining area with some decent books for when you're not walking. But it's the staff that make it – very friendly and happy to help. Would recommend this hostel 100%.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thanks for your review and taking time to post it. We're pleased to hear that we seem to be providing what our guests want, so feedback is very helpful to make sure we're on track.

Thanks

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

A stunning setting for a friendly, spotlessly clean hostel.

Great facilities and comfortable living areas.

The staff went above and beyond with everything, especially when our car was hit by a driver and written off. I strongly recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thanks for your review. we're glad you managed to enjoy your visit, despite the mishap with your car!! Hopefully that was all resolved for you without too many complications!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elterwater
0.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
371 reviews
11.5 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Eltermere Inn
The Eltermere Inn
#2 of 2 in Elterwater
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#1 of 2 in Elterwater
340 reviews
3.2 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elterwater Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elterwater Hostel

Property: Elterwater Hostel
Address: Elterwater Independent Hostel Ltd | Ambleside, Elterwater LA22 9HX, England (Formerly YHA Elterwater)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Elterwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elterwater Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located in the peaceful village of Elterwater, in the Langdale valley, 15 minutes drive from Ambleside. The area has many walks for people of all abilities, from gentle riverside meanders to the challenge presented by the Langdale Pikes, Bowfell and Scafell. Banks, shops and other amenities are available in Ambleside. The area is also a favourite for both on and off-road cycling, rock climbing and many other outdoor activities. An ideal overnight stop on the Cumbria way. The hostel is an ideal venue for individuals, families, outdoor groups, schools and college trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Elterwater Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elterwater Hostel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing