We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA in stunning location - great for walkers”
Review of Elterwater Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elterwater Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was my first experience of staying in a YHA hostel and I was very impressed with the high standard. The rooms and shower facilities were very clean. The room we stayed in had just one bunk bed in it and there was lots of space. The hostel is made from wood which gave the inside a lovely woody smell! The breakfast was generous and I noticed a fantastic kitchen for those people who wanted self-catering. Neadless to say the locartion is perfect for walking. We were allowed to leave our car in the car park the day before we stayed there and walked from there to borrowdale YHA, stayed the night then walked back a different way to stay at Elterwater. There's a pub within half a mile.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane__r30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 183 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

with very friendly and helpful staff.
Easy, but beautiful walks start just outside the door (to Elter Water, Little Langdale Tarn and many more...)
Britannia Inn Pub and bus stop next door.
Good YH facilities!
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallworldART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 546cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CclClld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elterwater
0.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eltermere Inn
The Eltermere Inn
#2 of 2 in Elterwater
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#1 of 2 in Elterwater
350 reviews
3.2 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
417 reviews
5.2 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elterwater Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elterwater Hostel

Address: Elterwater Independent Hostel Ltd | Ambleside, Elterwater LA22 9HX, England (Formerly YHA Elterwater)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Elterwater
Price Range: $27 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elterwater Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located in the peaceful village of Elterwater, in the Langdale valley, 15 minutes drive from Ambleside. The area has many walks for people of all abilities, from gentle riverside meanders to the challenge presented by the Langdale Pikes, Bowfell and Scafell. Banks, shops and other amenities are available in Ambleside. The area is also a favourite for both on and off-road cycling, rock climbing and many other outdoor activities. An ideal overnight stop on the Cumbria way. The hostel is an ideal venue for individuals, families, outdoor groups, schools and college trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Elterwater Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elterwater Hostel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing