We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Xmas treat”
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Elterwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited early December for long weekend. Rooms were not large(this is a very old building) but were very comfortable and well appointed. Public bar cosy with roaring fire and good range of local beer. Dining room comfortable, good menu and generous portions, especially breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Great area for walking. We would highly recommend this pub.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

It is several years since we last stopped at the Britannia. What's changed? Nothing much I am pleased to say. The rooms have been upgraded and so have the prices but this aside it is still a great country pub in a beautiful location. Elterwater is perfect - even in the rain!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Superb food , service and although small, certainly adequate rooms which were spotlessly clean.

Will not hesitate to go back; highly recommended. Good choice of beers and extensive menu for such a small resraurant

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Profresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Britannia Inn is the most welcoming, popular walking pub I have ever been to in the Lakes. Each and every member of staff was welcoming, polite and knowledgeable on the area.

The pub is ideally located in a quaint village. You are spoilt for walks from the doorstep.

The rooms are cosy and comfortable. The food was delicious, hearty homemade pub grub. We thoroughly enjoyed the Sunday night quiz.

Booking a table to dine is highly recommended as there is a continuous stream of locals and walkers entering the pub.

The pub provides you with access to the Langdale Spa; a lovely added extra. The rooms don't have a bath so the spa facilities are ideal to relax those aching limbs.

We highly recommend this pub to dine in, walk to for a drink and/or stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kepderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hits the right note as a walkers inn - good beer - substantial well cooked plates of food - well located in the south of the Lakes - comfortable rooms - what more can one want (oh! By the way access to the facilities in the neighbouring hotel - swimming pool etc.)

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank GeoffCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed for one night in November and what an oasis from the seasonal Lake District weather. The pub always seemed busy and for good reason. There are a number of different rooms to the main bar and each was as warm and cosy as each other.

The rooms are recently refurbished and whilst not massive and big enough to kick back and relax after a day out in the Lakes. A great, powerful shower and a lot of nice toiletries are provided. Nice to see the room had hot chocolate and biscuits free of charge. We had a lovely view from our window seat overlooking the village.

The bar is fab with a great choice of local ales and a menu with a lot to choose from. The portions were big enough to sink a ship! The staff were friendly and a the breakfast was up to standard.

This is a great place to stop if you want a smart walkers bar and good base for tons of walks. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stickyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I really can't fault this place. We stayed here overnight during a 4 day hike. The staff where some of the most friendly I've come across, they went out of their way to help us. The beer, food (breakfast + dinner) and general atmosphere was spot on - Will return !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roskoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elterwater
0.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
395 reviews
9.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,550 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Address: Langdale Valley, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elterwater
Price Range: $116 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Hotel Elterwater
The Britannia Inn Elterwater, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing