We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Elterwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

14 of us stayed here for two nights and as a base for a walking group it is ideal. Comfortable rooms, good food, great choice of beers and staff who really want to help. After a slight problem with seating arrangements for dining on the first night the young lady manager ensured all was well the following night and produced complimentary bottles of wine. How often do you see that ?
It is a busy pub and I am not surprised as the quality of fare is excellent.

Room Tip: Really not a bad room in the place.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for The Britannia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 348 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've stayed at The Brit three times now, always a different room. We stay because the surroundings are very comfortable, food interestingly different to usual pub offerings (and always a huge and varied choice) and the atmosphere is just terrific. It's really relaxed and a great tonic to our frenetic working routine. Even the staff seem to be enjoying themselves, dashing about cheerfully and being unfailingly helpful, nothing ever seems too much trouble.
This time we were given Room 7, and I'm astounded to see it's received bad press on here. I'm a terribly light sleeper and I preferred its quiet, rear of the pub location. Liked it's outlook onto the garden, too. It has a superking bed which is blissful...... Means I can be a little further away from my snoring husband! Personally, I had three brilliant night's sleep, no disturbances, and highly recommend the room. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As a pub to stop and have drink outside after a long walk.....ideal. The food, was also very nice in the evening. However, the breakfast was nothing special. We stuck to cereal after the first day.

The room was very small, but clean and serviced well each day. No complaints.

The remainder of the hotel was in desperate need of a refurb. The carpets are terrible and smell and its generally not well cleaned. I know it's an old historical building, but that's no excuse. It is a real shame, as the location is stunning and we intend to return. I think the whole downstairs public area needs a complete re-think and redesign with an injection of cash and a deep clean. If you need a designer I'm married to one :-)

The staff were friendly and generally helpful.

Overall, we were a little disappointed as the reviews I read didn't reflect the place honestly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Owner at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thanks for the review Paul,
I'm glad you liked our cosy 500 year old rooms and found the staff helpful and friendly.
I don't understand what went wrong at breakfast, because our breakfasts are usually great!
You should have brought it to our attention, so the other two days would have been as they should.

A new carpet is due to be fitted in October, as it is every year. The whole of downstairs will be painted in December, as it is every year.
We have seen neck end of 100.000 people come through the doors of the Brit this year, so it is very difficult to renovate any thing in the summer months.As we are open for 15.5 hours per day the only time we can decorate is in winter when it is quieter.

We have no intention of re-designing the layout of the Brit!!
The small rooms and 'snugs' are what gives the Brit its character...... if you prefer an open plan Inn there are plenty of faux Lakeland pubs to choose from.

The reviews of the Brit are written by 126 individual reviewers, how can they all be wrong?
Thanks again.
Andy Parker(Landlord)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had booked the Brit for our annual get together and walking in the lakes. The Inn and the staff were top drawer, particularly on the Friday evening when the Inn was packed and dinner disrupted by a power cut.

The waiting staff resolved a problem over our table with utmost diplomacy and efficiency and for that many thanks.

The rooms were spotless ,beds comfortable and the food excellent, particularly breakfast. And as for the choice of beers, there were more than enough to keep our Real Ale aficionado happy each evening.

A definite thumbs up for the Brit from us and a return is on the cards next year if not before.

Room Tip: The dedicated private car park was a boon when Elterwater is busy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Many thanks to excellent staff at The Britannia. It was busy, busy on Friday night with some people eating very slowly while a power cut had made things awkward for the kitchen staff. All the waiting staff managed to keep their cool and were exceptionally friendly. Their care and attention continued all weekend-even when we were having a bit of an incident among ourselves as to whether our friend had asked for sausage or mushrooms (of course they sound the same?!?) ...the waiter carefully and quietly made sure she had both. The food was good-we particularly enjoyed those breakfasts - and they did have kipper! We booked dinner for both nights when we booked our rooms and we'd recommend that. Portions were probably too big but very tasty. We had 3 rooms for 5 of us. All very comfortable. I'd been offered room 3 which I liked very much as I could look out onto Elterwater's village tree. I didn't mind the separate bathroom - It was for my use only and was probably nore spacious than an en suite. We loved the absolute silence of Elterwater and the fact you could start your walk from the hotel doorway into magnificent countryside. I'd definitely return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Can't comment on rooms as was staying at the Youth Hostel so decided to eat at the Britannia Inn as we had been given recommendations. Luckily we booked ahead in the restaurant as it was fantastic weather and very busy. The first night the food was excellent, although we struggled to eat it all. The second night not so good. We both had the sea bass which was quite dry and never saw the salad which had been ordered and by the time we were able to mention it we were ready to leave. Went to get our own drinks from the bar as the waitress (not the same as the first night) was very busy and we were sort of left to our own devices, hence four stars. If you are going at a busy time it is well worth booking but you do pay a 10% premium on meals in the dining room, but then you are assured of a table. Meals are available in the bar area and outside. If the weather is good you can't get a better view with your meal. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Book at table in restaurant if you want to guarantee eating there, especially in peak season.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Helpful and friendly staff. Good pub food - though perhaps a little more than pub food prices but then everywhere seems to be like that in the Lakes we found. Room 3 nice (but bathroom across corridor) - children stayed in twin room 8 - nice and light - and twin room 7 - bit dark but nothing like as bad as some other reviewers have said. Good breakfast. Daughter left something behind in room and they offered to send it back to us recorded delivery - very impressed.

Room Tip: Room 3 nice view - bathroom across corridor. Room 8 nice light twin.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elterwater
0.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
384 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,195 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,496 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Address: Langdale Valley, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elterwater
Price Range: $134 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Hotel Elterwater
The Britannia Inn Elterwater, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing