We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff”
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Elterwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay for a weekend in the Lakes. Staff are on the whole really friendly and make you feel very welcome. Breakfasts were really good and substantial, perfect fuel for a day on the fells. On a summer's evening the pub can get really busy, particularly outside, but the crowds die down around 9 o'clock and the residents feel a little more at home. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfy. We were in room 7 at the back of the hotel which despite other reviews to the contrary was fine...except the window doubles up as a mini-door and is the fire escape for the whole floor. Not a problem for us as there was no fire when we were there! However, the 'dwindow' as we called it wasn't lockable and someone could easily put their hand through top window and open the whole thing.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank skiingarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 351 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for a few days while attending a wedding in the lakes last September. A traditional inn, with great food and they brew their own beer as well! Must have tried every one a few times. The room suited me well, the only thing lacking was a view from the window. But just a step outside the front door and you're greeted with a stunning view (rain or shine) down through towards Elterwater. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're in the area, or even just dropping in for a meal or a pint!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor_Rock88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a two night break here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff are welcoming and friendly but our room was awful. It was cramped, hot and was above a refrigeration unit which created noise and vibration all night. The room was also a fire escape for the rest of the floor! How did they get planning permission for that. When we mentioned the following morning we were told by the manager that nothing could be done, even though another room had become vacant. He didn't even offer us a reduction to the bill or a glass of wine on the house. We will never come back to this hotel. Very poor value for money at £190 for two nights.

Room Tip: Room 7 is cramped and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Owner at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Firstly I would like to apologize for not being on here to reply to other reviewers for a while.
Now on to the review,
Thank you for choosing The Britannia Inn to celebrate your anniversary.
All the staff are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay, but we feel some of the points you raised in your review are simply not true.

All our rooms are cosy not cramped, because the Inn is 500 years old! Bedrooms were simply not designed to be junior suites 500 years ago.

Your room was hot because we were right in the middle of a heat wave, quite rare in the Lakes but very welcome.

There was a problem with the fan unit on the fridge. It made slightly more noise than its usual silent running. This was fixed as soon as the engineer could get here.

Room 7 is a fire escape for 3 rooms (including 7). In the unlikely event of a fire you smash the glass on the door to escape through the garden window. Which would make the residents of room 7 first out, is that a bad thing?
The Britannia Inn is a grade 2 listed building, hence we struggle on planning permission a bit.
This reviewer also took the time to place a call to Cumbria fire service, who came to inspect the fire escape. The fire officer said there is nothing wrong with how the fire escapes in the Britannia Inn function.

We were full when you stayed so not too sure about the vacant room.

Room 7 is a lovely, quiet room with a garden view.
There are lots of other reviews on trip advisor to testify to that.
Thank you
Andy Parker (Landlord)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

.....and we did ! Whilst visiting relatives in the UK we visited The Brit again where we stayed for another 3 nights. Once again we couldn't fault the levels of service, the quality of the food, friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness and the comfort of the bedrooms. Good beer, good food and a superb location. Having arrived back in Oz I'm missing the Brit already. Keep up the good work folks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian12998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Fantastic stay at The Brit - Great setting, staff were friendly even when the place was busy, hearty breakfast, great ales, and definitely dog-friendly and not just dog tolerant. Would highly recommend and will stay here again next time we're in the area. Access to the spa at The Langdale Hotel was an unexpected bonus too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjb34uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have to echo other comments - if the sun is out you could easily spend an afternoon or evening sat outside this lovely little pub drinking a few pints of real ale. The food was great as well - we can recommend the steak,ale and mushroom pie ! Staff were very friendly - worth a detour if you are close by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bristoldoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a place. Stayed here over our wedding anniversary in Feb 2010. [Our 40th] Been to the Inn many times after long walks in the Langdales but have never stayed here before. With the total darkness you can see the stars like we haven't seen them for years because of the light pollution where we live.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Nuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elterwater
0.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
390 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,211 reviews
6.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Address: Langdale Valley, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elterwater
Price Range: $119 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Hotel Elterwater
The Britannia Inn Elterwater, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing