We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Elterwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We've visited The Britannia on a few occasions in the past but never actually stayed there. This time we stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. We had the room with the separate bathroom and whilst not ideal it was spotlessly clean. That said , the room was of a good size and very comfortable. The breakfast is probably one of the best I've ever had in either a B&B or top class hotel. It certainly sets you up for the day ! The website is brutally honest, you will hear some noise from the bar downstairs, particularly the Sunday night quiz ! After a long day walking what could be better than relaxing in a spa bath ? No problem here, just nip next door to The Langdale Estate and you can use the facilities free of charge. A couple of tips though, take a towel (The Langdale will charge non guests) and DO NOT DRINK THE BEER at The Langdale - it's rank. Save your money and enjoy one of the excellent ales back at The Britannia.

All in all we had a great time and will be back next year for what will be another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian12998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the review.
Room 3 in which you stayed is not en-suite but it does have the only bath in the hotel!
So its sort of a double edged sword really....
Glad to hear you enjoyed the beer.
Thanks again all the Brit staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    91
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
64
165
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

What can I say, they have it all to feed the mind, body and soul.

Where can you go to leave all the stresses and strains of moden life behind you for a real break from it all?

The Brit, amazing, having just come back from 3 days there I cant wait to get back. The staff are ultra friendly, the food's fantastic value and quality. The rooms are clean, comfortable and recently renovated, a little small but thats no sacrifice concidering the inn is over 300 years old.

If you've never tried it I promise you'll have an amazing break, after driving there that 1st pint of Britannia Inn ale and the stunning views from the patio causes relaxation to just courses through you.

In the heart of the Langdales, local walks are as easy or as hard as you want them to be. Gushing I know, but I just cant help it.

After having said that, please don't go. The less people know about it the better, they've only got 9 rooms :)

Rule Britannia

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alakelandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
The Most Amazing Place In The World? We think so(well maybe top 10)!
I dont know what to say, too many good points to mention.
Thank you so much all the Brit Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We didnt stay here as we were in a time share apartment nearby.We called in the Britannia on the Saturday as we arrived.It was a gloomy rainy day.When we went in it was packed and what a great atmosphere!There was a real fire and the food looked very nice.We stayed for two drinks and already felt like locals.Each time we went walking we ended up in the Britannia.Also quiz night Sunday was brill.We meet some lovely people.If near a visit is a must.Great real ales!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thanks for all your positive comments!!!
Good to hear we are ticking the boxes. The quiz is on every Sunday with a £15.00 prize for the winner!
See you again soon, all the Brit Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We didn't stay I've but after a day on the fells, we decided to stop for lunch. We missed the main lunch menu so had hit baguettes off the reduced menu. There was no fault to be found. Food was tasty, good portion, and along with a local Ale by Coniston Brewery it all went down extremely well.

They offer excellent food, snug areas with fires and great selection of ales. Free wifi too which is essential as mobile signal is very limited!

Well done to all.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakesAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you, i have had many a pint too after a hard walk!! Nothing better than sitting next to the fire having a pint of Britannia Inn Special Edition.
See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Beautiful location, although the inn can't get credit for that! Service was generally ok. Our issue: yes the bedrooms allow dogs, however they are not allowed in the dining room
; which in itself would not be an issue if an alternative was offered; however they do not reserve tables in the bar, not even to residents, in a very very busy, very tiny bar area! We were unable to eat an evening meal at our inn for the entire length of our stay! Other dog owners had no problem leaving their dogs in their rooms to eat in the dining room- their dogs did however, and barked the entire time they were alone! And breakfast? Only served in the dining room! Therefore to avoid leaving our dog alone in the bedroom we had to place him in his more familiar doge cage! We had higher expectations! Very disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duttdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Director of Sales at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
We are very dog friendly, we allow dogs in the bedrooms, and bars. We provide fresh water bowls daily for dogs.

We DONT allow dogs in the restaurant/dining room for very obvious reasons, unless they are guide dogs.

We do our best to accommodate residents with their pets we regularly have guests eating in the hall to be with their pets, I do not know why this was not offered. We have amended our room information to highlight this to dog owners.

Currently we do not allow table bookings in the bars, from past experience it is very difficult to manage. We will review your comments and see if there is a better solution.

Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention, if you had mentioned this whilst you were here we would have been tried to resolve it for you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed 3 nights on way to Scotland,Just as we expected ,warm and welcoming.Real people real food,a real pleasure,everything a Lake District Inn should be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potter875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you on the way back hopefully.
Cheers the Brit team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Britannia Inn is a real country pub in the traditional style. Thank goodness it hasn't been over modernised. We loved our dinky little bedroom with the flowers round the window and the excellent bar meals. Our only gripe was the extra charge to eat in the dining room even though the food is the same. Maybe guests could be advised that you can't actually walk to the lake here though there are many other suberb walks nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeDistrictHotelier, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Than you very much for your comments.
As long as the same team run the Brit we will never change the 'olde world' charm of the pub!!! Thats a promise.
Which lake do you mean? A lot of our guests enjoy the walk to Skelwith Bridge, this passes the lake.
Thanks again everyone at the Brit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elterwater
0.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
2.7 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Property: The Britannia Inn
Address: Langdale Valley, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elterwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Hotel Elterwater
The Britannia Inn Elterwater, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing