We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem !!!”
Review of Frutt Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frutt Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melchsee-Frutt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed there during the February school holiday and we loved the hotel. Tasteful decoration and impeccably clean. We had a fantastic room with an unbeatable view. They have a great chef and the food is very good. The service particularly at the restaurant is very good and during the whole week they offered a great variety of delicious dishes. Also great wine selection from all over the world and this includes a wide variety of excellent open wines. The spa is also very good and treatments are excellent. Also very child friendly. The only thing that could be improved is the english level of some staff at the reception. But overall this is a very well managed hotel and quality price ratio is really very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelacuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutt_Lodge_Spa, Manager at Frutt Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear lovelacuisine,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your stay at our hotel.

Your remark concerning the language skills at our front desk, helps us to improve our services in the near future.

We would be very glad to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Ilze & Ralph Treuthardt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 357 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Warmth welcome from Ralph the Director of Hotel makes you feell at home at once.

All staff are so wonderful, must to say the finest detail of services is really being taken care.

Rooms has great large window glass overview the Alps and you can just sit there like watching a HD Large Screen TV.

Foods are exellent and the collection on the cellar fantastic.

Upon check out, Director of hotel always greeting his guests as a true host.

Skiing facilities no questions and I must say, this is one of the best hotel run by warmth personality in pfofessional way

Must return,
Francois Tomasoa

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank torajahighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at this fantastic hotel over Christmas. The whole hotel is beautifully designed. The Spa was inviting especially once the sun went down. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Our cases were brought up in the gondelbahn and arrived at the hotel the same time as us and the same efficiency applied to going home this morning, no waiting around. The food was fantastic. We mixed and matched from their Christmas Eve menu and then had the full Christmas meal last night, fantastic. Breakfast had a large selection of food to choose from and the bar food at lunch time was tasty and arrived promptly and hot. Melchsee Frutt has updated their Gondelbahn this year and with new car parks, everything was so much easier for getting up to the resort.

This is not a cheap option, it is a 4 star superior hotel, but it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDGK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutt_Lodge_Spa, Manager at Frutt Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Liz K,

We would like to say thank you for your time and the great rating concering your stay during Christmas.

It is a great pleasure to hear, that you were very satisfied with our services at our hotel as well as in the transportation with the new cable car and parking system.

Perhaps you will visit us once again - maybe in summer? We would be very pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Ralph Treuthardt,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is modern and comfortable. Rooms are clean and large.
The kitchen is quality and fast, but afmoshere of hotel is TENSE!!!!
The smails of staff are artificial. We don't like one arrogant, he worked on the third floor.
He was noisy and disturbed the peace in the hallway, he don't speak german and absolutely english - typical Portuguese.
The hotel need quality personal for housekeeping!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thain h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a great experience in the middle of nowhere!
This is a wonderful hotel in a very nice mountain area.
Right from the beginning you feel very welcome. The reception staff is extremly friendly and helpfull, the bar keeper is great - we had a fun time drinking some local speciality called....I forgot. GREAT!
The SPA has all you need, great corners to relax and to look out in the wonderful mountains.
Definitely a place to go back, great experience!
Swiss hospitality at it's best! Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COKandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Frutt Lodghe & Spa is not only located in the middle of the nature and mountains, the hotel is a pearl from the architectonical perspective. The used materials are wood & stone and give to the hotel a warm atmosphere. Location spectacular, Rooms & Lobby cosy, Wellness beautiful and food excellent. 5 points!

Room Tip: All rooms are equal. Very high standard. Like heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiziano_pelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Wanted to take some time off... we found a perfect place for relaxing and enjoying the mountains.
Great address, great location, great staff and excellent service in general.
Our room was close to 40 meters square with a great view over the frozen lake. As the village does not allow car in winter, there is no traffic and therefore no noise what so ever. A real paradise...
Room offered a king bed, a big desk, and a great bathroom with a great italian shower and a separate bathtube.

Hotel is brand new, and therefore spotless. The staff is extremely friendly and having a drink at the bar after a long day skiing is a must.

Food at the restaurant was very good.

I recommend this hotel at 200%.

Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room "lake side"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian_basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melchsee-Frutt
7.6 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 4 in Sarnen
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fischers Alpenhotel
Fischers Alpenhotel
#3 of 3 in Melchsee-Frutt
7 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
450 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frutt Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frutt Lodge & Spa

Address: Frutt 9, Melchsee-Frutt 6068, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Melchsee-Frutt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melchsee-Frutt
Price Range: $259 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frutt Lodge & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a guest at the frutt Lodge & Spa Hotel, you will be treated to a unique location on the sunny plateau of Melchsee-Frutt 1 920m above sea level. The hotel is Europe's highest-altitude 4-star Superior hotel situated on a lake, offering breathtaking views of the starry night sky. These amazing views can be enjoyed right from your room. The 58 rooms and 9 suites are furnished in natural materials, with warm wooden pieces and stylish detail. The interior design is reminiscent of a classic lodge style and provides a fascinating contrast to the distinctive exterior. Culinary delights come courtesy of two restaurants and a hotel bar & lounge offering regional cuisine and a selection of fine wines. By the way, according to Gault-Millau, the hotel’s wine list is one of Switzerland’s top ten. After a busy day, guests can relax in the 900 sqm in-house Spa wellness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frutt Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing