We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above and beyond the call of duty”
Review of Kasteel Elsloo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasteel Elsloo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elsloo
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I arrived at the hotel in a state of some distress as I had taken a taxi from Maastricht and despite having agreed a fare of €40 before we left the taxi driver requested a fare of €80 - I went into the hotel and asked the manager to speak to the taxi driver on my behalf - he was most accommodating on negotiated on my behalf. I cannot express my appreciation of his assistance - he was calm reassuring and very kind to me and certainly deserves immense credit. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast very tasty. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILOVEMYHOLS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Kasteel Elsloo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed there for two nights. There was a nice room, but the view and castle exterior were the star. It's located out of the way, and you should not try to walk into any towns. I would recommend this place to someone with a car, and a good sense of direction. There was a friendly staff and it is a well respected hotel in the area. Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Needed a hotel near Maastricht airport and this place came up when I did a search. I booked only a few days ahead, and got the last room - hotel as hosting a large wedding party and I was the only person in the hotel not part of the wedding guest list. Music was just audible in the room, but staff were decent enough to pick a room for me that was on the opposite side of the building to the noise.

Room was a little basic - had a bathroom and bed was OK, but I was paying cheap and seems fair that I got one of the small and cheap rooms rather than the nice rooms. Reception was friendly and happy to arrange spend time arranging a reliable taxi for the morning.

Be aware that the hotel is about 20 mins walk from the nearest train station - was not particularly fun walking there late at night ! If heading to Maastricht airport, it's much too far to walk.

Would have liked to try the restaurant or see the grounds, but arrived too late and had to leave too early.

Hotel served its purpose - can't really complain

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in Kasteel Elsloo with family and friends tio celebrate a 65th birthday. We had a 4-course dinner, the 2 first dishes and the dessert were beautifully presented and tasted great. The main dish was a bit disappointing. The service was, as always, very friendly and professional. Wine choice was surprising. In the evening we had snow whit gave the illuminated terrace a fairy-like appearance. The bar stayed open long enough and served great local beers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Beautiful old building, and rural surroundings, tranquil, but not too far from the Motorway.
They seem to operate as a Gourmet restaurant, (which I didn't want), but with very basic rooms. Quiet, but depressing. I am sure in the summer, I would have enjoyed a walk or to sit on the terrace, as you really would not want to spend more time than necessary in the room.

Sorry, not a place that would really encourage me to go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at Kasteel Elsloo for a couple of days on business with colleagues. The Hotel has beautiful surrounds beings situated in parkland, near a canal and on cobbled streets. The hotel staff were very welcoming, spoke excellent english, and the dinner each night was exceptional. Great selection of local beers in the hotel bar are a plus!

The rooms are comfortable, and with good radiator controls for the winter - not over the top luxurious, but for the price, they are very reasonable. Breakfast was included and was a very good continental selection. I would deftinitely stay here again, both for business or with family.

You do need a car to access, and there is plenty of car parking on site in the grounds.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms can have an angle to the roof, so not great if you are taller.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_UKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for two nights as a young couple. The castle is located in a nice and quiet village close to the Belgian border, the highway and Maastricht. The location is really nice, with a large garden/park.
The room itself was not great, but also not bad. Everything what is needed was present, but the decoration could be a bit more recent, especially the badroom (it was a bit dated, but clean). The we got room was rather small.
On the first day, the hotel was not too crowded, yet they gave us a room under which a crane was located to do construction works early in the morning. Clearly, that was quite annoying. We got the usual apologies, and they were willing to relocate us if the construction works would be going on for a second day. As the second day was a weekend, this was not the case.
The hotel has a big restaurant, but we only had breakfast there. The breakfast was ok, but nothing more (good quality, but quite limited in choice).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsloo
3.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond
4.9 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
869 reviews
4.4 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
3.0 mi away
Hotel Boomgaard
Hotel Boomgaard
#3 of 4 in Lanaken
30 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Elsloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Elsloo

Address: Maasberg 1 | Elsloo, 6181 GV Elsloo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Elsloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elsloo
Price Range: $107 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasteel Elsloo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kasteel Elsloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing