We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a luxurious five star stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“This was a luxurious five star stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed here for two nights at the end of September 2008 to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary. We were looking for a touch of luxury, and this five star hotel provided it. Our deluxe bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable, with complimentary bottled water and a decanter of port. The bathroom was of good size and well lit. Room service was prompt and efficient. On arrival we took afternoon tea in the lounge. It was served on fine china and solid silverware. A pianist provided background music on the grand piano. At almost £40 for the two of us it may appear extravagant, but this is the luxury we were seeking, and we were not disappointed. Our first night evening meal was in the Calverley restaurant (previously called the Bronte) which had just opened after extensive refurbishment. The meal was excellent, and the service matched it. The hotel furnishings are of a high standard, along with the decor. The bar prices however are frightening, and many guests who fancied a few drinks were taking the stroll down the road to the pub in Oulton where the prices are more agreeable. It doesn't appear to make good business sense for the hotel to charge such prices and effectively encourage their guests to drink elsewhere, but we have found that applies to a lot of four and five star establishments.The hotel is set in magnificent grounds with an adjoining golf course. There was still some refurbishment taking place when we were there, but it didn't affect our stay. We found the staff friendly, polite and courteous. The hotel is within driving distance to the city of Leeds, and a visit to the historic spa town of Harrogate whilst there will not disappoint. This hotel came up to our expectations in every respect, but of course, at a price. But well worth it for a special occasion.

  • Liked — Luxurious feel to the hotel from the moment you walk in.
  • Disliked — Unbelievable bar prices
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank middlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    733
    394
    193
    123
See reviews for
336
1,056
35
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Just spent a lovely wedding weekend at the Oulton Hall, excellent food and excellent service provided by pleasant and freindly staff. Rooms clean and spacious. Hotel in beautiful grounds. The only downfall was the pice of the drinks - very expensive.

  • Disliked — Expensive drinks
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

Purchased a suite package for 1st anniversary and was left very disappointed. De-vere web site makes no mention as to the number of parallel refurb programmes going on and reception staff made no mention when booking in. Two basic mistakes when you would want to set customer expectations.

No leisure facilities, spa treatments in hastily arranged bedrooms, no fine dining (shovelled into a conference room), average meal (beef over cooked and dirty cutlery), breakfast in large conference/entertainment venue in extremely cramped conditions. Brusque service from reception staff.

Building looks great and some of the refurb that has happened looks good but really poor handling of customer expectations.

De-vere offered part refund but missing the point as cannot recreate 1st Anniversary! Check with hotel before travelling and gain cast iron information will be the lesson I learnt. Not hard to see why De-Vere have had management issues generally.

  • Liked — Surroundings and appointment
  • Disliked — Mis selling
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

Stayed on a very rainy night in June. The room was very basic and the view from the window was a bush which gave very little natural light into the room. For the price we paid I would have expected something larger. We ate at the Golf lodge a short walk from the hotel as it had greater choice. The food in the meal was fine although we found that the plates were dirty for most courses and had to be returned. There did seem to be some work going on and the leisure facilities were limited. The best bit was the breakfast the following morning which was great. The choice was fantastic and it would be worth just going there for this, although at £18.50 per head it has to be included in the price.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby-on-Tees
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

A pretty good hotel, with very good food for our fourteen man golf break of three nights dinner bed and breakfast and four days golf. However £3.95 for a beer and £8.50 for a pot of tea for two is
ludicrous. Half the cost and our guys woludn't have walked to the pub.

  • Liked — Good fodd
  • Disliked — drinks prices
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

The hotel is undergoing a major refit and is going to be fantastic when finished.You only have to look at the work which has already been completed to gain an idea of what a great hotel this will be.The staff are fantastic the food is fantastic and what an absolutely beautiful setting for a wedding.The refit did not spoil my enjoyment at all in fact i shall look forward to a revisit when it is finished.The hotel is is a beautiful old building with superb gardens in such a peaceful enviroment.You are not miles away from places to visit eg leeds city for shopping and nightlife ,the gateway to the beautiful yorkshire dales, the quaint village of haworth home of the bronte sisters,skipton open air market,the white rose shopping center,medowhall shopping center,escape center which is great for kids ect ect ect!Ok some of the areas are under refit it has to be done sometime and the staff make your stay as pleasant as possible throught all this.As for the prices of food and drink if you dont want to pay for luxury go stay at butlins.The new claret jug club house is an indication of the superb work underway and as for the golf course OUTSTANDING. I had a lovely stay and one i shall gladly repeat . The only thing that spoilt it was having to listen to people moaning and complaining so come on give them a chance and let them prove what a fantastic place this will be.I have stayed in some hotels that have been awful this is not one of them i sometimes think all people want to do is complain.SO GET A LIFE AND START LIVING IT.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jiffy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at Oulton Hall at the end of July for a family wedding and I must say it wasn’t bad. It’s difficult to base this as just a guest as we were on the periphery of wedding organisation and as such were party to some of the “behind the scenes” activities that weddings create.

Firstly, it’s a pretty stunning setting and building. It makes a nice change from all the corporate cubes I seem to end up in these days. The front of house decorations, furniture etc. were very impressive. The front of house staff were excellent as well (as were the bulk of all the staff we encountered). As was mentioned in other reviews the hotel is busy at weekends with weddings, functions and the golf course. Not a unique situation in this day and age. I will have a moan about the car parking though. We were ushered away from the front of the hotel (where there is a smaller car park which was full) to the overflow car park at the rear. I still hadn’t checked in and was faced with a long trip with multiple cases to do so. It would have been nice to have been asked so I could have unloaded the cases and then gone onto park up.

The room was on the first floor overlooking what I suspect was the swimming pool roof. No complaints at all about the accommodation. The pine furniture is an odd choice. It doesn’t seem to suit the rest of the hotel décor and looks out of place. That said, it all worked and nothing dropped off which I was surprised at reading some other reviews. There was also a mini bar, robes, trouser press, iron and ironing board. The bathroom was clean with nothing to complain about. The air-conditioning worked fine and wasn’t overly noisy. The power in the room was activated by the key card which meant that you couldn’t leave the air conditioning on when you were out of the room unless you left another card inserted.

I can only really comment on the breakfast food (the wedding food was very good) as a standard consumer. My years of hotel breakfasts have taught me that hotel breakfast dining rooms are roughly divided into three categories:

a) Slick and efficient.
b) Frantic paddling underwater.
c) Meltdown.

Saturday morning breakfast fell into Category b. Asking to be sat near friends and not where we were initially told took a while to compute. Repeated requests for cups of tea and coffee fell on stony ground until we’d almost finished our meal whilst others around us drank to excess. I was wasn’t rude to the staff either, I never am. No choice given as to what we would like to eat, it was assumed that we would be having the “full English”. Once these misunderstandings were sorted I’m happy to report that the food was good and the dining room we were in was very well appointed.

We had a couple of drinks in The Claret Jug golf bar and we were very impressed. Nice staff and surroundings and a great view overlooking the 18th green and fairway.

To sum up, would we stay again? Yes. No reason why not. We would both have been happy if we’d have booked here for business. OK, the pool was shut but they told us when we booked and the web site informed of the same. If I go again I’ll take my golf clubs. It’s supposed to be a nice course.

  • Liked — Surroundings
  • Disliked — That pine furniture in the bedrooms.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing