We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year, Terrible Experience”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“New Year, Terrible Experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked a two night stay, very last minute for New Years Eve and Jan 1st at just over £500. For this we were to receive a champagne and canape reception and gala dinner with live entertainment on New Years Eve, and breakfast on the two mornings.
Our room was an upgraded Chambre Unique room which was fine.
Everything was ok until the champagne reception. We had to queue for 10 minutes for half a glass of warm sparkling wine, the waiter had run out and when I enquired about the problem, I was told that some people had had more than one glass so he had run out. We didn't see any canapes so can't comment.
Dinner was in the Charvellry restaurant, which was beautifully decorated, although far too many tables were in there, making it virtually impossible for waiters to serve between tables.

To cut a long and sorry story short, the service was totally inadequate, far too few staff for the number of guests. We waited 1 hour and 20 minutes between starter and main course. Everyone else had been served. We could not get bread, although was promised it four times. My husbands hot fish main course was icy cold in the middle and looked like it had been dumped on the plate. I was constantly being knocked by passing waiters as I was on the main route to the kitchen.
We had pre-ordered champagne which was placed in a wine bucket away from our table, and we could not get anyone to serve it to us. It was also warm. At £68 a bottle I would have expected chilled champagne.
We tried to complain but was told the restaurant manager was dealing with a problem in the kitchen!
As an upshot, there was no-one to voice our complaints to, so we checked out first thing in the morning.
This is a beautiful looking hotel, but feel that they got it totally wrong for New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NottinghamDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    772
    403
    201
    132
See reviews for
351
1,103
37
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in between Xmas and new year. Very busy on arrival but the check in staff did a good job of dealing with everyone as quickly as possible. The hotel had emailed us prior to our arrival to ask us whether we wanted to be considered for an upgrade which would be confirmed on arrival. There was no mention of this at check in however when I mentioned it I was immediately upgraded. The room was a refurbished room and it was very nice.

We had champagne and lunch in the champagne bar. Lovely room and great staff and service. Not happy that the advertised price on the menu for the champagne was £68 yet I was charged £70 on my final bill. A bit naughty I think.

We hadn't reserved in advance so our dinner reservation was for 9.15 which was not a problem to us. However the food was just awful. Very cold fois gras straight from the fridge and extremely overcooked fish. The brocolli was however excellent! There were about 6 dessert choices but 3 or 4 of them were not available and were replaced by a strawberry cheesecake which I'm sure was bought in as it had a very synthetic taste. I'm fairly easy to please but I really did not enjoy the food and was very disappointed in the meal.

Breakfast was a very hectic affair but that's what you get when you turn up at peak time so I expected to wait a while for a table which I did. There seemed to be insufficient staff to deal with the volume of customers and when my coffee and toast eventually arrived it was burnt and indelible. I ordered poached eggs from the menu but they were actually hard boiled when they arrived so I gave up on them and went to the buffet. I'm not a fan of hot breakfast buffets and there was nothing particularly bad about it but I ended up with yoghurt and muesli which was very nice.

All in all it was a fairly expensive overnight stay costing over £300 for lunch, champagne, dinner, bed and breakfast. It was OK. Not great value for money and although the surroundings are lovely the food really really let it down.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evilkimevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked the 3 day Christmas break and were very well looked after from start to finish. Afternoon tea on arrival, delightful carol singers followed by midnight mass on Christmas Eve. Welcomed by complimentary fizz at breakfast and lunch on Christmas Day. Plenty of well managed attentive, friendly staff. Boxing Day Black Tie Dinner with live music, Beautiful main building and landscaped grounds.
Best Christmas break in the UK so far, would go back. A big thank you to Gillian Greaves, Rachel Riches and all the wonderful team at Oulton Hall.

Room Tip: Stayed in a sumptuous suite in the main building. Discuss your requirements prior to booking to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the De Vere Oulton Hall hotel for a spa break. The hotel is beautifully presented and surrounded by gardens and a large golf course. Upon arrival we were greeted by the doorman and reception staff who directed us to our room. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a large television and coffee making machine. The bed was very comfortable with a thick mattress and covers.

A good selection of dining options are provided in the Claret Jug (Golf house) and Calverley Grill. those that prefer a sandwich meal will find the Champagne Bar offers a good selection at reasonable prices.

The spa is very good, the massages we had made us feel relaxed and fresh. The other leisure facilities (swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room) were well located within walking distance from our room, we found that the pool was busy at certain times - although we had the place to ourselves when we went first thing in the morning.

Overall a lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John3166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My boyfriend booked me in to the spa and we stayed overnight with dinner and breakfast. The spa staff were absolutely lovely, and the treatment was very good. However, we were both very disappointed by how busy the other spa facilities were, particularly by the amount of small children running around, even in the female only changing room- not ideal for a relaxing day! Also, only having 3 beds around the pool area didnt really seem enough. Furthermore, the other seating area by the snack bar were also packed, meaning having to leave the spa to get lunch (which dampened the whole day, especially when it was cold/ wet outside).
The other parts of the hotel were beautiful, lots of gorgeous Christmas decorations and the room was lovely. Champagne bar cocktails were delicious, and bar staff were exceptional and were the staff in the dining room.
Overall, a fantastic stay but would not recommend going during really busy periods- especially to the spa!

Room Tip: Try and get an upgraded room and try not to go during busy periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona6469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Oulton Hall is a short drive from Leeds city centre (around £15 in a taxi), but it is relaxing and luxurious. Staff were all helpful and check in was fact, event though we were early. Our room was lovely, overlooking the gardens, it was spacious and the beds were comfy, storage could be an issue if you were staying more than a few days though.

Breakfast and dinner were delicious with a great choice of food that was well cooked. DInner was a three course set price menu that offered some unusual but tasty combinations and the steak was outstanding. I was slightly shocked that a drink from the bar cost over £7 and a small diet coke was £2.50 - be warned!

We also went to the spa and leisure club and the treatments were great. I'd definitely recommend Oulton Hall and it is a great way to combine some relaxation with some city centre shopping.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited here for afternoon tea and we both had a lovely time in a relaxed atmosphere in the grand setting of the drawing room.

Nice sandwiches, delicious scones and tasty treats with a continuous flow of tea.

Staff were friendly and attentive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kapowell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
960 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing