We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant spa day”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant spa day”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Having bought a groupon for spa day with treatments for my friends birthday we were really looking forward to it. And we were not disappointed. Can't fault any thing in the spa. We had some lunch in the hotel champagne bar. Food was delicious but could have done with being a little warmer. Overall a wonderful day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrillowc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    747
    399
    196
    127
See reviews for
343
1,075
36
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Arriving late I was looking for some quick food and went to the "pub" next to the hotel's golf club. The service was attentive but first choice of meal was not available which really could have been stated when. Was handed the menu. I later checked in and the receptionist was friendly and directed me to my room. The hotel public areas are comfortable and well decorated. Shame about the room, very tired furniture and the bathroom needed attention. The toiletries were poor and felt cheap for a nice stately home type hotel. Check out was prompt after a breakfast that while satisfactory rather than fulfilling.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1673389223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute Friday getaway on the 'Dinner, Wine and Simply Devine' rate at £149. The hotel was very busy due to a wedding but this didn't affect our stay and we were efficiently checked in and directed to our room, a Chambre Unique room on the first floor.

The Chambre Unique room was beautifully decorated and at first glance seemed to be very well appointed. It was only when it came to getting ready for our evening meal that we realised a couple of vital features were missing. Firstly, there was no lighting provided to the ceiling within the bedroom area, this made it very difficult for my partner to use the mirror, hairdryer, hair straighteners etc with two bedside lamps and a corner lamp. Secondly, there were no spare sockets provided around the dressing table, mirror, television etc; in fact, the only spare socket available in the entire room for phone charging, laptop power etc was located under the window and was hanging loose off the wall, with the cover plate missing. This appeared quite dangerous with the wiring visible. My partner had to unplug the desk lamp to plug in a hairdryer, making it even darker in the room. When using the shower we found that the overspray ends up flooding the bathroom floor as the shower screen is not large enough. On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable and the upgraded features make the room feel more indulgent than a standard hotel room.

We visited the Champagne bar for a drink before dinner and this area of the hotel is very striking. The staff were very friendly and we found the atmosphere very relaxed with no hint of the wedding party that was ongoing nearby. The only downside was the price of drinks, at £4.25 for a bottle of beer and £9.95 for a cocktail, we weren't tempted to return after dinner. If we had stayed for longer we would have liked to try the Claret Jug bar.

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal in the Calverley Grill. We were informed that we only had a £21 allowance towards dinner inclusive of our rate; and this would only allow 2 courses from a limited mixed price menu, or one course from the main menu. We opted for 2 courses from the a la carte and we were very pleased with the quality of the food. We found the waiting staff in the restaurant excellent, they frequently checked on us, topping up our wine, asking how we were enjoying the food and were very prompt despite the restaurant being busy. On receipt of the bill we were asked to sign and state our room number so that this could be added to our hotel bill. We had not realised that we had to declare the level of tip on this receipt and on leaving the restaurant 5 minutes later, we asked the Restaurant Manager if we could leave a tip for the staff; he said that it was too late as he had already closed our account. This was slightly disappointing, more so for the waiting staff.

Our nights sleep was slightly disturbed by the wedding party music below, but this was understandable and didn't go on too late. The air conditioning failed to cool during the night, despite working fine earlier in the evening; the cool function came back on around 10am as we were getting ready to leave. We had decided to order Breakfast in Bed before going to sleep. This arrived on time at 9am; however, disappointingly, the continental breakfast consisted of a small bowl of cereal, rack of toast and butter. The promised pastries and croissants never materialised and we couldn't help feeling that we should have just eaten breakfast in the restaurant rather than paying £5 extra for half a breakfast.

Check out was efficient and swift but we were never asked how our stay was, nor if everything was ok. This is an impressive hotel and we didn't have time to explore every facility such as the Spa or Claret Jug, but it seemed that the finishing touches were missing from the upgraded room and in some areas, the service. Having stayed recently at De Vere Slaley Hall, we found the upgraded rooms at Slaley to be better thought out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank city_break_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear city_break_review

many thanks for your review and feedback of your stay at Oulton Hall. You raised some very valid comments reference the lighting and sockets in the Chambre Uniques which we are currently working to enhance.

I do hope we will see you back at Oulton Hall soon.

kind regards
RachelR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed after a bad night at hazlewood castle
We loved every minute - lovely food - do visit the golf club bar for lunch lovely food and drink and not
Expensive
Lovely staff grounds and we got a modernised room
Great we will be back soon I hope
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblegum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Bubblegum1

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted you had a lovely stay and do hope you will be back soon.

Kind regards
RachelR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while attending a Punch Taverns roadshow. Lovely building,nice room and very helpful staff. Will definitely return,only slight criticism at breakfast we ordered poached eggs and they were almost raw, the head of breakfast dinning collected the plate but didn't enquire why they were untouched.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juanele16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear juanele16

Many thanks for your tripadvisor review. Please accept my apologies for the poached eggs, but I do hope you will stay with us again soon.

kind regards
RachelR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The buildings are grand, very grand... and the room was lovely.. but best of all is the communal space here. A large drawing room attached to a very stylish bar... Truly somewhere to relax with a good book and chill.

I would have liked the restaurant better if I wasn't dieting... but it was pretty perfect...

This is the crown in the De Vere group... I've stayed in most, and none of those come close.

Well Done !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear TravellinBaz

a delayed thank you for your kind comments about your stay at Oulton Hall. I do hope you will return soon and hopefully not dieting.

kind regards
RachelR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Lush rooms and a fantastic spa. The food is fine dining and for those who like to be filled order a side dish, be warned its not cheap but its definitely quality! The champagne bar is beautiful with lavish decor, cheapest bottle of beer is £4 or more, alcoholic cocktails seembto be about £9+ but in the surroundings its justifiable I guess. Don't let the price put you off though as the whole place is beautiful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Weardalelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Weardalelad

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Oulton Hall. I am delighted you enjoyed both the rooms and the Calverley Grill and do hope you will find time to visit us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,153 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing