We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel in beautiful setting”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Hotel in beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently to attend a friend's wedding. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has a very impressive entrance. On arrival, the hotel's porter was very helpful and cheerful. The bedroom itself was quite large (deluxe bedroom) and looked as though it had been re-decorated recently. It was very clean. The reception rooms downstairs are impressive and have wonderful views. You feel as though you are in the country when in fact it's not far from the town. We had 2 breakfasts here and they were of a high standard with plenty of choice from cereals, fruit etc to cooked breakfast served in a spacious dining room with attentive staff. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: A 'deluxe' room is more spacious. 1st floor room at the back of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear susiewoo29

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall. You are correct that we are part way through a hotel bedroom refurbishment and I am delighted you liked the new room specification.
I do hope you will come back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    771
    403
    201
    131
See reviews for
351
1,101
37
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in a super setting. Stayed with a group of ladies on a golfing weekend and had a great time. Golf was a bit up and down! The clubhouse is a nice place to relax and have a drink or a bite to eat after a game. The hotel was beautiful, had a good meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was very nice too with the option of having something other than the buffet. Very nice spa and pool area, didn't have any treatments but used the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Meb58

Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall and we agree we are very fortunate to enjoy such a lovely setting.
We do hope you will come back soon and the golf won’t be quite so "up and down"
Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at another venue in Leeds.
The Hotel is very 'grand', the entrance and hall are beautiful.
The main restaurant has a dress code! which put us off so we opted for the less formal 'Caret Jug' which is the golf clubhouse restaurant, it was OK although very dingy at night.
Breakfasts were acceptable although dining room crowded.
The bedroom corridors are looking a bit less grand with duck tape across some of the joins in the carpet.
Our room, (137) a superior one was nice enough though smallish and dark with a poor view out over a flat roof, it was close to a loading bay of some kind so was noisy late at night and early in the morning. We had to get help with the smart TV (probably our fault). Housekeeping standard was OK, the room was cleaned well enough on our second day but not 'dressed' as it was when we arrived.
The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The Hotel seems to be one of Leeds main wedding venues, there were 4 whilst we were there, which meant that all the public areas were very busy.
Would we go again- possibly not.

Room Tip: Not 137, it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Gina V

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall. We do appreciate the time taken to give us feedback and hope we can continue to give the great service you experienced whilst with us.

We are part way through the refurbishment programme and hope that the corridors will have been completed soon to match the other areas you mentioned. We endeavour to offer a variety of food and beverage areas suitable to all tastes, but we do not insist on a strict dress code in the Calverley Grill so we do apologise if we gave the impression otherwise, however we must look into the claret jug lighting if it is "dingy" in the evening. Not the atmosphere we go for at all.
I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon and demonstrate our commitment to delivering great service and relaxed surroundings no matter how busy.
Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked the Rosedale suite at Oulton Hall for a directors strategy meeting. The room organisation and food were all fantastic and allowed us to get on with what the day should be about rather than chasing the organisation which I have had in some locations in the past. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Rosedale Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dta0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear dta0307

I am delighted to hear your recent corporate day at Oulton Hall went well and we do look forward to welcoming back soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

First class hotel spa and leisure, well worth every penny if you need a weekend somewhere to relax, excellent facilities, could not fault staff or hotel, we are use to staying at 5 star hotels so must have been fortunate acquiring the room we got reading some of the other reviews!!!only complaint we had was we booked a side by side massage which we never got. The claret jug is the cheaper place for a drink if you like a tipple.

Room Tip: We had room 125 which is the opposite side of the hotel from the venues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Gill B

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Oulton hall and I am delighted you had a fabulous stay. As you mention we are very fortunate to have such friendly and deidcated staff and do hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely easy to get to location in beautiful grounds including a golf course.
Very friendly and helpful staff, luxurious rooms with cumphy beds and spacious well presented public areas to relax in. Excellent leisure club as well
We ate in the Claret Jug, the more informal eatery in the golf club and the food was excellent and good value. I must mention the steak and kidney pie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParGolfer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear ParGolfer72

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Oulton Hall. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and in particular the Steak and Kidney Pie. We do hope you will be back soon to sample the new claret jug menus. Kind Regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Visited this hotel with friends having previously visited the De Vere hotels at Carden Park, Belton Woods and Dunston Hall in the past 12 months or so and quite frankly had Oulton Hall been our first experience of De Vere we wouldn't have bothered with the others.
The room was satisfactory,although, as mentioned elsewhere, the decor is tired and the bathroom really needed a deep clean because the tiling was grubby and the mastic beading around the bath had gone black with age. Nevertheless, clean towels were provided each of the 3 days of our visit and our room was tidied and the bed made. Unfortunately, our friends could not say the same after their room was missed by the chambermaid and was still not made up that day even though the omission was reported to reception.
Our booking was for dinner bed and breakfast. This worked out at about £200 per couple per day which was a little more than what we had paid for a similar package at the other venues but perfectly acceptable. What was not acceptable was the choice of main courses on the set menu that was available under the deal we had booked. The choices on the set menu every day were coley, belly pork or a vegetarian option which were available without any vegetables other than potato. Vegetables and/or salad could be purchased separately, however, at an additional cost of approximately £4 per item. Possibly, many guests may have welcomed these choices of main course but we really didn't fancy any of them and decided to go 'a la carte'. Not one of the choices on the 'a la carte' was near the allowance give in lieu of the cost of the set menu and again the vegetables or salad had to be purchased at extra cost and without gravy the meal was dry so it was necessary to purchase sauce to aid digestion.
To gild the lily, the portions for all of the courses were comparable with the bad days of the 'nouvelle cuisine' era which has, thankfully, largely disappeared elsewhere,even at other De Vere venues where we have often enjoyed an uncomplicated carvery. Hopefully for future visitors to other De Vere venues Oulton Hall is not a sign of what is to come.
Others have commented on the price of the drinks in previous reviews and have even recommended using the pub at the entrance to the grounds. Whilst, not going that far, the management should consider that excessively high prices alienate visitors, Perhaps, the prices are aimed at the many wedding guests and hen parties who only stayed for the evening or possibly overnight but again you have to wonder if even they would return.
There are other negative issues, such as Oulton Hall being the only De Vere golf venue where the points on a De Vere golf club card cannot be used on a Friday - needless to say the golf club membership will not be renewed even though this means writing off some 100 points but no doubt this won't cause the local management of this particular venue to lose too much sleep.
The overall feeling, is that we were there for three days and the hotel was going to make as much as possible out of us which is very disappointing given the optimism with which we looked forward to the break after our previous experiences with the group.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the end of the extension because a long walk is involved. they may also necessit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Brian T
Many thanks for your recent review of your stay at Oulton Hall. Having read through your review I was sorry to hear your stay was less than you have experienced before and fell short of your expectations.
I am sorry that we have not delivered that level of service you have come to expect from De Vere Hotels as a group and I hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify some of the points raised. We do take your comments very seriously and I am keen to address some of your points mentioned personally. With regards the Golf points, they can be redeeemded 7 days a week, it is only buggy hire that is restricted to Monday to Thursday so I apologise for any misunderstanding in that direction. I will discuss the menu choices with the chef as we strive to include variety and choice for all our guests and welcome your feedback.
If you could please email me directly on rachel.riches@devere-hotels.com I would welcome the chance to talk through your stay with you.
kind regards, Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
960 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing