We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed over with my partner for a couple of nights, really enjoyed it! We stayed in a suite and it was fab!! The food was fantastic, people complaining about the price of food, but i dont mind paying that bit more if the food is great! Hotel is very clean and freindly staff! We will be returning thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmagus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    768
    401
    200
    131
See reviews for
349
1,095
37
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in a De Vere Hotel, Previously I stayed at Carden Park which was also fantastic, which is partly why I chose to stay at Oulton Hall when I needed an hotel in this area, I found the staff to be helpful and profesional, the layout, building and decor to be second to none, and the food was fantastic! I booked the hotel as a little treat for my girlfriend and she was equally as pleased. I will certainly be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

De Vere are taking peoples money under false pretencies. The place looks magic, but delivers little. Their advertising does not deliver what they say it should. The rooms are average and depending on where you are very noisy. We had, for our two night stay functions going on that blasted out loud music till the early hours. They had the restaurant closed to guests, due to functions. We were told to use the outside eatery, which meant, if we had used it, to walk some distance in the poring rain to get to it. 'Not on' De Vere. The bar area is stunning but cold with no heating. What's the point of the open fires???? The drink and bar food prices are unbelievably expensive. We visited once. Breakfast was very ordinary. Plenty of choice, but the hot selections were always cold. The staff in bar and breakfast area - I felt sorry for. They tried but inexperience really let them down. The person in charge, tried to look busy but sadly missed on more than one occassion to council and train staff in a quiet and positive way. The reception staff did a good job, but were obviously used to explaining away guest problems. The door man was terrific and a personality. I do not blame any staff member for their respective shortcomings. I blame the management. This was my families second stay here (3 years apart). I will not come back again.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ausman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We decided to book New Year's Eve in the De Vere hotel, Oulton Hall, this was a black tie event, the room was average, clean but near the lifts. Booking in at 3.0pm was fine Went to the room unpacked and decided to spend a little time in the library relaxing! Ordered a drink ( white rum and coke, steep at £7 and settled down for an hour with a book. The reception started at 7.30pm leading to the 5 course meal at 8.0 pm, I have to say the meal it's self was nothing to write home about, the usual starter followed by a sorbet and the main course I felt was disappointing , a slice of beef topped with a Yorkshire pudding and veg is not my idea of a celebratory meal, more a fancy carvary. The band started at 9.0 pm and were without doubt the saving grace of the night, mostly soul music, they quickly filled the floor , when the disc jockey took over during their break he managed to quickly clear it! All in all with the flow of alcohol the night progressed albeit an expensive one with the average for a bottle of wine £30 and champers £60+. The breakfast, buffet . Followed by a walk again hampered by the soaking ground due to the previous days torrential rain. The hotel is sat in the middle of a golf course and I would think would have lovely walks when not waterlogged. I am sorry to say the night promised more than it delivered, the meal, that should have been one of the highlights of the night was average, a guest near to me found broken glass from a wine glass stem on his breakfast table, At £380 for two it disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorky100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lovely grounds and reception areas with impressive and expensive bar. Rooms are very average. Breakfast was basic buffet type itch bellow average choice. Went for company do- wouldn't rush there on leisure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Oulton Hall for my 30th Birthday, we booked 6mths in advance. My husband called to book the restaurant about 3 weeks before our stay, only to discover that it was closed for a Christmas party. No one had informed us of this and we were very disappointed - we had to have my birthday meal in the golf clubhouse!!!
As a gesture our room was upgraded, which was very nice, very old fashioned.

The service over all is good, but it is nothing like it used to be, it once was almost magical and really on the ball.....now, they seem short staffed and the sparkle has worn off.

On a normal day im sure the hotel is generally nice, but In all, we left feeling really deflated and im afraid to say wont be back in a hurry.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely, but ours was on the front meaning drunk guests smoking at 1am work us up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travler2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We Chose this Hotel as we had previously stayed in 2009.
First impressions do flatter this very impressive looking Hotel.
Our De luxe Room was fairly average but was not clean.
We could not sleep due to a noisy duct above the ceiling so had 3 hours sleep all night.
Hotel Staff need training and senior management to get this place back to how it once was.
Very poor Below average hotel.

Room Tip: Would advise a Suite only but are £300 plus per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRBespokeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,535 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
947 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing