We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing weekend”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Gomersal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing weekend”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This was our 6th weekend stay at Oulton Hall. As in previous stays we found the staff to be very helpful ( the Manager was available on our arrival to direct us to Reception). We had an excellent meal in the Claret Jug on Friday evening and enjoyed breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday mornings. The atmosphere in the Champagne Bar was lovely and we enjoyed after dinner cocktails. We used the spa facilities on Saturday afternoon and they were very good. We will definitely be staying again when we need to recharge our batteries.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TandJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear TandJW,

Thank you for your time in acknowledging the helpful team with whom we all have the pleasure to work.

The fact that you do stay with us time and time again and also that you appreciate the staff and the hotel is very nice to hear. We take it as a wonderful compliment.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    768
    401
    200
    131
See reviews for
349
1,095
37
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked Oulton Hall for our anniversary using a special deal from their website for dinner, bed & breakfast with a free bottle of wine. The Hotel room was traditionally decorated, clean and large with a fridge, tea/coffee (why is there never enough milk in hotels?). The en-suite, although nice & clean, perhaps was in need of a little updating, but by no means did it spoil our stay.
In advance I had booked an Oulton Spa “Prescriptive facial” as a treat. Despite the £65 cost, Patricia, my therapist was courteous and totally lovely. The treatment room was warm and comforting, and we chuckled at the music, which wasn’t the usual whales and water, but pan pipes and some were fast and furious tunes! The facial itself was bliss. A wonderful head massage while the face-pack was working, was immensely relaxing and didn’t want it to end. It all went too fast and the relaxation room afterwards was wonderfully dark with fleece and sateen throws for you to snuggle under. I really would have gone to sleep if it not for 2 ladies jabbering together, which I can understand when you’re with a mate, but it spoiled it a little as I didn’t want the “bubble to burst”! We didn’t try out the pool and leisure area, as I was so wiped out after my treatment!
The bar within the hotel was the “Champagne Bar” where they served lots of drinks, but champagne (Moet was the house) by the glass which was a nice touch but bloody expensive! No music in there in the afternoon when we arrived, a little classical music in the background would have set it off wonderfully. There was another lounge where afternoon tea is served by a butler from around 3pm!
We had booked the hotel restaurant for dinner, on check in. As there were sample menus in the room, we decided that for £19/head dinner deal better value was in the Claret Jug, attached to the golf course, a short walk away. The food was lovely, Sea Bass cooked to perfection and the Steak and ale pie was wonderful. The atmosphere was relaxed and service very good.
Breakfast the next day was nothing short of spectacular! There were lots of different fresh fruits and yoghurts, cereals and plenty of pastries to choose from with a continental section too. The cooked buffet breakfast was presented in two areas to keep any queues down. The food was wonderfully cooked, (not swimming in grease like some places), very well presented and tasted great. The staff, were attentive and professional.
We had an extremely enjoyable stay and I would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacko383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear jacko383,

Thank you for all of your praise for the hotel, the food and the team.

Your specific mention has been passed on to Patricia who was very flattered and thankful for your acknowledgement. It is always nice to know that we have hit the mark and that yhou have taken the time to let us know.

We are very pleased to hear that happy and appreciative guests wish to return and enjoy all the atmosphere and service which the team works so proudly to deliver to all.

Please come back and see us very soon.

Kind regards,


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Unlike some of the comments on trip adviser we had a great stay and we really couldnt fault anything. We have stayed in a few De Vere hotels and many similar and this rated up there amongst the best. The food was delicious, the wine lovely and the staff without exception friendly and helpful. The bar staff in the champagne lounge were excellent, just the right level of interested and friendly without being intrusive. The room was pleasant, not the nicest we have stayed in but the bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet and had all we needed. We wholeheartedly recommend it and will probably return for a golf and spa break.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear ChrisN111,

Thank you. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a visit and that you have taken the time to properly and fairly acknowledge the hardworking team with which I have the pleasure to work each day.

I appreciate your recommendation and I hope that you will return soon and enjoy another break with us.

Kind regards,


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Oulton Hall Hotel, Rothwell, Leeds on Sat 12th May as my cousin had her wedding reception there. The grounds are gorgeous, lots of rabbits! The food was lovely at the wedding breakfast, but the breakfast was the best, the sausages are gorgeous, I had to e-mail the hotel to find out where they got them!! The staff were lovely, very helpful. We were'nt there long enough to use the spa or golf facilities so I cannot comment on them. On the down side our room was very warm, though my sisters was cool, I'm not sure if we were able to control the temp, but overall it was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear jayne67,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is always a pleasure to hear that brides and grooms have chosen the right location for loved ones to come together and create lasting memories.

Many guests find that our breakfast is fantastic and we often get comments that are full of worthy praise. The sausages are quite good and something that I snack on way too often!

Please visit soon and relax in our award winning Spa or play some golf. While there are many rabbits directly around the hotel, the course abounds with them scurrying about.

Kind regards,


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Arrived Sunday morning 13/05/12. Coffee and bacon butties seemed very unorganized on arrival and unfortunately this set the tone of our stay. The course wasn't up to the usual de vere standards and after our 18 holes we sat on the verranda with a beer- very nice. Until the beer ran out and were told they were short of crisps and nuts. We were then told that our evening meal had been re-located to the main hotel-no problem-until we came down and told there was no draught beer in the "champaine" bar. 32 fellas not pleased ! After a long wait even for our orders to be taken 7 of us walked out and went for a pint at the local pub-very nice and very friendly. Ate a chinese later. Woke on Monday to the news that 3 cars on the car park had been broken into and clubs/bags etc stolen. Is this the 1st time this has happened?
Half the party had had enough by this time and went home! The staff didn't seem happy in their work and were unhelpful with our complaints.Will not be returning to de vere hotels in the future-will need a re-think for our trip away next year

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jigga36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear jigga36

I do apologise for any shortfalls in service while you visited us. I am pleased to have been able to speak to the organiser of your group and discuss the details with greater clarity.

I encourage you and others to contact me directly should you have any further concerns or questions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oulton Hall.

Kind regards,


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Us and 2 friends stayed here for 3 nightsinMay 10. We all enjoyed our visit. We have stayed in many Devere hotels over the past 4 years and this ranks amongst the best. It is like a small stately home with excellent facilities. The gym and pool were superb. We only had one minor delay in receiving a specially ordered breakfast but this was understandable given how busy they were with a large wedding party and a number of golf groups who all seemed to be enjoying themselves. When I read some reports I wonder whether other reviewers were at the same place. We would definately recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear ALANJL55 ,

Thank you very much for your astute and kind comments. It is always a treat to hear that our guests enjoy themselves and also that they are able to see that others have as well. I appreciate your understanding and patience with any delay, although your special order should have been more prompt.

Please return to us soon and you will surely find that the experience is again one which keeps our happy people returning, something which we take as a great compliment and we look forward to. It makes it all so worth the effort.

Kind regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at "Oulton hall" which we booked as a night away to celebrate our wed anniversary.

We pre-booked with booking.com and got a real bargain, double room with breakfast for £89.

We did put on our special instructions that it was a 1st time stay and we were staying for our anniversary, Stupidly i thought we might get a little something for this (not expecting an upgrade or anything!) but was disapointed when it wasn't even mentioned by reception ( I think i've stayed in too many hotels in America where they bend over backwards for you!!!)
Never mind, looking at the prices of everything I'll be amazed if anything comes free!

We had a lovely spacious room, bit of a walk from reception and to carry our luggage, but comfortable, nice and clean and quiet.

Bathroom was lovely, great power shower to help wake you up, and breakfast was really nice!

The pool was really nice as well as the steam room/sauna and rain showers.

Now we have stayed there once, I don't think we will again as we like to try new places all the time but would definately reccomend it to people looking to stay in the area, but try and get a deal as i'm glad we didnt upgrade or pay more than we did.

The staff were fine, but for some reaon I felt something was lacking although I could'nt quite put my finger on what it was, I wasn't blown away and maybe I expected to be !

There was a lovey "Toby Carvery" just down the road (you drive past it on the right as you come from the M62) we had a fantastic carvery on the saturday night and we were amazed at the size of the home made yorkshires......massive!!!
Fantastic tasty food and such a good price, £7.50 each for a king size carvery meal, very impressed and really friendly staff, busy but worth the 20min wait to get a table.

Nice hotel, would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscan159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear tuscan159,

Thank you for your comments and your recommendation to others.

Happy Anniversary, something which I wish we had known about prior to your arrival. We do place a personal note and chocolates in rooms when we know of such special occasions. Booking through a third party agent does not always guarantee that the information is passed on to us. We always like to share in the celebration with our guests. I apologise that we were unable to do so.

If you have not already signed up for our offers on our website, I would encourage you to get online and register. You will certainly continue to find great value and perhaps, one which will encourage you to enjoy our fine dining room, The Calverley Grill or the Claret Jug with fantastic food, service and views of the estate.

Kind regards,


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
945 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing