We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat yourselves and go !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Treat yourselves and go !!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The weekend away was a surprise gift for Christmas and what a fantastic surprise it turned out to be.

The hotel was really easy to find and we were very well looked after the moment we arrived by Ian who took our keys and luggage, we were promptly allocated our room by the smiley friendly reception staff and within a matter or minutes Ian was delivering our luggage to the door of our room.

The room was wonderful with a huge and most comfortable bed, lovely fluffy pillows, a lovely seating area with beautifully upholstered wing backed chairs and lovely matching furniture. On the table was a bottle of sparkling wine which was welcome after our journey. The bedding in the rooms was more than ample, so warm !!! Extra blankets were in the wardrobe if required along with fluffy dressing gowns.

The bathroom was spacious and although I felt the shower fittings and taps were generally in need of replacement the hot water was plentiful and the shower was powerful. The mirror was also a god send with an anti-mist centre to it which was great.

The whole hotel was lovely and warm and decorated in a luxurious manner with the Roman Emperors keeping watch over ones movements on the huge staircase which is a main feature with its huge galleried landing area.

After a fantastic nights sleep the breakfast was super and the service was prompt with a decent range of cereals and yoghurts, the fresh whole fruit on offer was a little limited I have to say but the preserved fruits were plentiful. Hot food was served fresh and with a self service counter one could return for more if required. I actually had smoked Salmon which was the perfect start to my day.

The location of the Hotel is ideal for visiting the so many things to do and see in the area. We ate our evening meals out as we always seemed to be somewhere knew at that point. York is an absolute must.

The staff in the hotel were extremely friendly across all areas. They conducted themselves in a quiet, professional, polite and courteous manner at all times and nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

We had afternoon tea in the library which is a must !!! Drinks in the evening in the lounge were most relaxing with a splendid mix of different seating arrangements. For the connoisseur the Whisky collection is second to none.

We used the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and Sauna facilites which were clean and well kept. The changing room I found a little chilly to be honest but the pool was lovely and warm and the Jacuzzi even warmer ! Hot showers were welcome with nice big fluffy towels again. The chill out relaxation room was gorgeous and a really easy place to doze away your time after a busy day sightseeing.

The hotel was ofcourse decorated for the festive season when we were there and the huge tree in the lounge was a site to see from the balcony overlooking the area.

I recommend a stay at the Oulton Hall Hotel to anyone seeking a warm and friendly hotel, with or without their young families. Everyone it would seem is catered for, yet all was so very quiet and relaxing. Another wonderful Devere Location.

It will remain one of my favourites due to how well we were looked after and I really can't wait to return again and am already checking my diary for the next visit !!

Joanne P

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Joanne P,

Many, many thanks for your kind words about our hotel and the fine people with whom I have the privilege to work each day. We have two Ians at Concierge who equally share the praise. Both are fantastic and most often try to pass the credit to the other. We have considered having George change his name to make it easier for all who experience the Great British Hospitality for which they are often commended.

I am delighted that you were able to spend such a special time of year in the hotel. The interlude between Christmas and New Years is a great time to visit. We have a number of guests spend the season with us year after year. Some of the longer serving team members have seen many children grow up with each visit.

We are both pleased and proud that lovely guests such as yourself choose to stay with us and we hope that you will soon have cause to visit us again. I look forward thanking you personally on your return for all of your feedback. Don’t wait until the Christmas season to treat yourself.

Kind regards,


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    731
    395
    192
    122
See reviews for
333
1,057
34
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I visited for a 3 night break in an upgraded room, Sunday to Thursday. We found the hotel room exceeded our expectations , the staff were all very helpfull and friendly and the food was excellent.We originated from the Oulton area and make regular visits to Leeds so Oulton hall will be top of our list when looking for our next stay.Unfortunately we had limited time there, otherwise we would have taken advantage of the leisure facilities that are on offer, I have played on the golf course previously and it is quite a test.

Room Tip: Look out for special offers and upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasselec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian G, Guest Relations Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Good afternoon Tasselec,

Well, what lovely comments……. Thank you so much, we greatly appreciate you taking time out to tell us about your stay with us. It gives us all a great sense of achievement and satisfaction that what we do makes a great difference to each and everyone of our wonderful guests

Nice to hear you are from the area, it is amazing how many of our guests originate from around here who still have friends and family in the area, it’s a great “meet up” place, even if it’s just for a coffee, a bite to eat or like yourselves somewhere to stay and enjoy all that we have to offer

Come along soon to see us wont you, regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break. Found all the staff friendly and most courteous. In fact they all seemed to be on individual personal missions to make our stay a memorable one. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate in the Claret Jug and the food was delicious and reasonably priced especially if you eat Monday to Thursday when there is a special offer on at the moment. The breakfast takes some beating with just about everything available on the hot and cold buffet and things that aren't will be produced from the kitchen! The spa and swimming pool area are delightful with the hydra pool (jacussi!) being the most powerful we have experienced. It may be late winter but the gardens are looking very colouful with spring plants. A sumptuous character hotel set in the center of a great golf course - what more could you possibly want!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian G, Guest Relations Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Marilyn004,

Words fail me, what wonderful comments. I am so glad you both had a great time with us and shall remember your stay with such fond memories.

I am so pleased to hear you received our great British hospitality; we are so committed to making sure you receive fabulous service and the staff are most welcoming.

It sounds like you made the most of all the facilities De Vere Oulton Hall has to offer, Our gardens are just starting to bloom with colour, Spring has definitely arrived, the daffodils along the drive way are always breathtaking, thousands and thousands swaying in the breeze, something not to be missed

Don’t leave it too before you return and enjoy another relaxing break, hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees united Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I have just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary, we stayed at Oulton Hall. It was the prefect place to spend our anniversary, the hotel was beautiful, the room clean spacious and very comfortable. the staff were polite and friendly and the food was first class. The whole experience was so relaxing from start to finish, will be going back later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian G, Guest Relations Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Gary N,

Congratulations on celebrating your 25th Wedding Anniversary, I am so glad you chose Oulton Hall to celebrate the occasion.

It is wonderful to read such great comments about the hotel and staff, thank you so much for taking time to write the review. It goes without saying how proud we are of Oulton Hall and the commitment to servicing all our guests.

Looking forwarding to seeing you both very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Oulton hall, the last being over 8 years ago when we visited as a family. I got an excellent deal through Travel zoo £99 bed, breakfast evening meal and a bottle of wine in our room on arrival. We had room 316 which was beautiful. It was very comfortable and very clean. ( I am a facilities manager and my standards are very high!)
The evening meal served in the Calvary Restaurant was lovely, presentation and service was 2nd to non. We had a pre dinner drink in the Champagne bar, the atmosphere was just right and we said we would go back in there after dinner to finish the evening off, unfortunately the bar was empty so we decided to finish off the wine in our room. I can only think that maybe the price of the drinks put people off, although I think for a Hotel of this quality the price on the drinks is the norm. We would definitely return to Oulton Hall. We found all the staff to be very friendly and very helpful. After reading dome previous reviews we were a little concerned but had no need to be. We travelled to York (40 minutes) the following morning after having again a delicious breakfast in the lovely restaurant, the choice and taste was amazing. A lovely weekend, no complaints at all.

Room Tip: ask for room 318 or a refurbed room although I believe other rooms ar just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian G, Guest Relations Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear HollyChristine,

Welcome back, there are so many amazing offers out there for you to enjoy, keep an eye on our website for your return visit . The Calverley Grill is such a special place to dine, the whole experience is something you do not forget in a hurry. The Restaurant Manager - Jason and the team are so proud of the menus, presentation and service, they have work so hard to achieve and it really does shows, so thank you for those great comments.

Breakfast, is so very inviting, there is such a vast selection it’s hard to make a decision on what to have is’t it? But if you are anything like me, I like to try a little bit of everything,….and why not, you are on a break, it’s a treat !!!!

I am so pleased you had great stay, just do not leave it another 8 years to come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here to break a long journey and chose the hotel for its location (easy drive from M1) and because we spotted a good dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We'd stayed in a couple of De Vere hotels before and this is our favourite.
We particularly liked the fact that Oulton Hall is an old house, with cosy lounges and interesting features, not a boring ,characterless building Our room was stylishly decorated, fairly spacious and immaculately clean. The bathroom, too, was absolutely spotless - not something that can be said of all hotels! The bed was comfortable and the bed linen was good quality.
We enjoyed dinner - lovely duck - and next day had an excellent breakfast. The choice was impressive and we ate well!
Our stay was relaxing, the staff were friendly. Having found Oulton Hall, we'll be back, and next time we'll make time to explore the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian G, Guest Relations Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dead CindersWales,

What a great start to my day, to read great positive feedback from you. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel has got so much character and history, it really does make a difference to the hotels atmosphere. Next time you viisit, you must ask our Concierge to give you a show round of the hotel and grounds, the hall has got such a varied and interesting past ….....See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just returned from Oulton Hall on a 2 night stay, this being our second stay since December 2011. Everything was excellent from start to finish. The check in was smooth, rooms lovely and clean, breakfast brilliant and the gym and swimming pool all excellent.

Would recommend this hotel to friends and family and looking forward to returning to this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian G, Guest Relations Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hi Diane128,

How wonderful to read such great comments about the hotel and staff, thank you so much for taking time to write the review. It goes without saying how proud we are of Oulton Hall and the commitment to servicing all our guests.

There is still lots to do and expereince at the hotel, hurry back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
3,088 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing