We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel super food great staff great time”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic hotel super food great staff great time”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed everything was 5 star,the reception was warm and friendly yet very professional the concierge Ian was great and nothing was too much trouble .The restaurant food could not have been better.
We had a problem with the safe in our room and although the maintenance stall had gone off duty the general manager took charge and sorted the situation out personally with a little help
from his resourceful team.We would recommend this hotel very highly including the superb golf facilities.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebear48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    768
    401
    200
    131
See reviews for
349
1,095
37
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Wife and I stayed for one night last weekend ( Sat ).
We booked a special one night deal with a deluxe room upgrade for £130 incl 2 course dinner in the Claret Jug and breakfast.
Deluxe room was comfortable and well decorated but a little dark and dismal due to the black wallpaper ans dark furniture, As mentioned in earlier reports TV old CRT but the picture was OK. Bathroom was a nice design and clean but the shower section over the bath did need re grouting. To sum up room I would give it 7 /10.
Public rooms were very nice and in keeping with the hotel setting and grade. We sat in one of the hotel lounges before dinner and had a drink which was served promptly. When we were ready for a refill there was no sign of the waiter so we decided to check out the facilities at the Claret Jug. At no time in the lounge were we offered any nibbles to enjoy with our drinks which is usually the norm in this grade of hotel. ( Two glasses of peroni £8.40 so they could have offered some nuts etc )
The walk to the Claret Jug was very enjoyable in the early evening sun but we were lucky
It might not be so nice in the driving rain as there is no shelter or internal route to my knowledge.
The Claret jug was a typical sports bar/restaurant , nothing special infact no better than your average mass market chain restaurant like table / table or Ember inns etc. Where it did differ was the bar prices.( £9.90 for two pints lager ) The included 2 course menu had very little choice but in all fairness what we had was well cooked and enjoyable. If like us you are used to staying in nice 4/5 star hotels and dining in the hotels main restaurant from their table d hote menu then you will be disappointed.

Breakfast the following morning was served in the main hotel restaurant . The choice and quality of the food on offer was excellent if only warm due to the solid fuel burners used to keep the food containers warm. I guess with buffet breakfasts it is the look of the draw when you turn up! 10 minutes earlier and the food is piping hot :-)

Check in / out
Both went very smoothly and all reception staff were polite and friendly.
Hotel staff in general were all very nice and we did not encounter any miserable or surly staff.

To sum up
We enjoyed our one night stop over. At the price we paid it was ok value for money. You have to accept that drinks prices will be very high in 5 star horels so there is no getting away from that unless you book room only and eat/drink outside the hotel.

We have recently stayed in a 4 star hotel that was far superior in all ways than Oulton hall so maybe that has clouded our judgement. If you need a place to stay in the Leeds area and you get a deal you will comfortable with Oulton Hall.
One last point!
The free high speed internet was the best I have experienced in any hotel to date. Fast and easy to connect with.

Just one last point. Our deluxe room number 361 was on the third floor which meant along long walk and two seperate lifts to get too and we think it might be a bit of a stretch for anyone with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H2OTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay which with the B&B EM deal was extremely good value. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful . The food as part of our deal was good and the breakfast particularly good. Have to agree with some reviewers who commented on the basic Tv , could do with an upgrade. We found the 1 oclock checkout today particularly useful gave us a leisurely start to the day even managed a dip and sauna before breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsteviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed at Oulton Hall for 2 nights during March and we were made to feel very welcome from the minute we set foot through the door. The reception staff were bright and cheerful and directed us to our room.
Our room was bright and airy, with fantastic views of the hotel grounds and as expected was very clean and fresh.
We went swimming on our first afternoon, the leisure club staff were lovely, asked if we'd stayed before and if we knew where everything was. The changing rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy and there was plenty of locker space. The pool itself was great, nice temperature and even though it was quite busy you never felt crowded.
That night we ate in the Claret Jug ( The hotels golf clubhouse restaurant) and again, the staff were great. We felt very comfortable and relaxed and the food was incredible! I recommend the grilled chicken pasta! Delicious!
Breakfast was also brilliant, so much choice so there really is something for everyone.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Oulton Hall to anyone and can't wait to return ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaches2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Had a one night stay and game of golf through Groupon. Golf course in very good condition considering the time of year. Not too demanding, both enjoyed playing. Had a coffee in the Claret Jug which cost nearly £3.00 each and arrived luke warm. Not a good start! Was replaced, but mugs were stained with coffee all down the sides. Not impressive for a top hotel. The Hotel itself is very impressive and the room was fine. It was mainly just the quality of staff which was poor. We were asked at least 4 times if our meal was okay but it always seemed contrived and robotic.Food was nice. Contrast with Rudding Park near Harrogate, where the staff are fantastic. This is the main reason we gave Oulton 3 stars overall rather than 4. For the price we paid through Groupon, we cannot grumble but wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandstoneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Loverly settings and the whiskey cabinet could have taken a full days to enjoy. The bar was very pricey.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamMould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The drive up to the hotel and grounds was very impressive. The insides of the hotel are amazing and very grand. All staff that we came into contact with were very nice and helpful.

The deal we got included a 2 course meal in the claret jug (excellent food and service), however we were presented with a bill at the end of it. As we did not have the confirmation of the free meal with us I took this up with the restaurant manager the following morning who refunded us without question...not sure why they charged us in the first place?!

The Spa facilities were nice however was very overcrowded. There was also alot of small children in the pool which didn't make it very relaxing.

The Champagne bar in the hotel is very expensive. We paid £14.95 for a champagne bellini and £10.95 for a passion fruit daiquiri.....bigger fool us for paying it (I hear you say). The bar staff in here were a bit miserable too!

We stayed in the standard yorkshire room and unfortunately the rooms did not reflect the standards of the rest of the hotel. The furniture was dated, the beds were uncomfortable and there was a foisty smell. This was such a let down!

Breakfast - as nice as breakfast was, we had to que for 15 minutes to get into the restaurant - the que was literally out the door and into the lobby. Not sure if this is normal but I've never known this at any other hotel.

So..would I stay here again? Probably! But only if I got another bargain deal. I would definitely not pay full price simply because of the let down of the rooms. Perhaps I should try to upgrade to a deluxe room next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josaki789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,535 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
947 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing