We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again....great hotel!”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed on an offer for dinner, wine, bed and breakfast plus a round of golf. We found this to be excellent value. The hotel is beautiful, however the rooms probably do need a re-vamp, but still nice and clean - they don't quite live up to the luxury of the rest of the hotel, and I would have expected bigger beds. We ate in The Claret Jug and the food and service was lovely. The breakfast the following morning in the main restaurant was AMAZING! So much choice - cereals, pastries, fruits, full english, juices - everything you could wish for. Me and a friend used the spa facilities and had a treatment whilst our other halves played golf. The spa area was lovely, quite busy but you could still swim and make use of the facilities. The staff in the spa were very helpful and friendly. The following day we went shopping into Leeds which is very close-by. The location of this hotel is really good. All in all we had a fantastic weekend, and will definitely be staying here again in the future.
The negative points of the hotel were:
a) we booked a golf buggy for my boyfriend who had an operation on his knee a few years ago, when they went to play golf they were told that the buggies weren't available til April and he had left his electric trolley at home, which meant he had to carry his clubs around - we shouldn't have been allowed to book buggies if they weren't available
b) at the time of booking we'd asked for the wine we got with our deal to be served in the restaurant rather than the room and was told this was ok and it was put on our confirmation. A bottle of wine appeared in our room so I queried with reception who told me we could not have the wine in the restaurant, however when I showed them our confirmation email that said we could have wine in the restaurant they obliged. Apart from the one receptionist who was awkward, the rest of the staff were fantastic and very helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and other than the nit-picking points mentioned above, we couldn't have wished for a better stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,622)
There are newer reviews for Oulton Hall & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,340 - 2,346 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2011

I went here with some friends for a low-key (i.e. comparatively respectable) hen do last summer. I don't think we got any special deal but the price included 1 night's stay, 2 course dinner (and breakfast) and a spa treatment.

We arrived and were welcomed very warmly by the staff. It seemed we'd been given our own dedicated porter, (at least, one of the front of house staff kindly took it upon himself to organise our luggage and have it sent to our rooms). We were able to head straight to the spa area and order our treatments. The pool and steam rooms are very modern and there's a nice, if pricey, 'health' cafe/bar in the spa suite. We'd all booked 1-hour relaxation massages. My massage was quite nice though in future I would probably choose a different treatment, maybe a more focussed massage than an all-over body one.

The rooms were big and had everything we needed (nice bathroom, comfy beds etc.). If I'm being fussy, I expected the décor to reflect the 5-star rating, I felt it a little dated. However, it was clean and cosy. One of our group unfortunately had been given a smoking room. She asked to change, and the staff were able to find her a more suitable room straight away.

We had our dinner in the Calverley Grill. I was very impressed by the restaurant, for me it had the wow-factor. A la carte, the prices seemed to be very expensive so there was no incentive to stray from the meal deal we'd paid for. Nevertheless, I ordered a fantastic fish dish and my dessert, a chocolate and orange mousse was divine. The waiting staff were highly skilled and we were served very well.

After dinner, we went to relax in the Whisky Room, one of the old reception rooms, which has been modernised but still retains many fine original features. We all slept without any bother that night and went down for breakfast in the morning. We found a huge hot/cold buffet with a great choice of food. We checked out and we thanked the staff for being so friendly and attentive during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We chose this hotel as we have stayed in a few De Vere's and always found them good value, so when we were looking for somewhere to stay for a 3 day break we thought we would try Oulton Hall.

The hotel is set in countryside next to a golf course, with a long drive leading to the old house which has been vastly extended. It is very easy to find, and from the outside looks very nice, with plenty of parking. Inside the hotel has lots of art, and nice furniture, a champagne bar, whisky room and a library, the public rooms are very spacious. The hotel was very quiet and relaxing.

Check in was easy and efficient, our executive room looked over the front of the hotel, and the room was well decorated, with good facilities. The TV was an old style set with a smallish screen, but we did not even turn it on. The bed was large, but we found it was 2 singles joined together so it was a little uncomfortable in the middle where the two mattresses joined. My wife had a bath and found the bath overflow outlet was filthy, and probably not been cleaned for months. However when we called reception Housekeeping quickly came to clean it. Message to management - you need to do some spot checks. This apart the room was well cleaned.

We ate in the golf club brasserie on the first night and the set menu was very reasonably priced and good value. It is only a short walk from the hotel main entrance.

Breakfast was in the main dining room which is well decorated in black and red, the choice was reasonable, 4/5 freshly cooked offerings which were very tasty, everything else was buffet style. On the second morning we were served luke-warm coffee, but the waitress soon brought us more. A little checking from the waitress would have shown the coffee was not hot enough before serving 2 cups to us. The orange juice is powdered, and a bagel I tried had obviously been waiting around for several hours .

On the third day we missed breakfast to go to the leisure club, and a request to be served coffee only after the 10am deadline was refused by a supervisor. This may seem petty but it soured our leaving, and serving the coffee would have cost the hotel nothing. In my view it just shows how little they care about the needs of guests, and are more concerned about how much the guest spends.

The leisure club is very good with a large sauna and steam room, large changing rooms, and a nice sized pool and spa pool. We did not have any treatments, but the list looked comprehensive.

Finally the 'fine dining' restaurant: the food was nice, my wife had salmon with a mousse (although the mousse was almost non existent), and 2 requests to waiters to see if there should have been more mousse met with no replies. I had halibut and this was well cooked. The prices are on the STEEP side, the fish dishes were £24 each, plus vegetables at £3.50 per small dish. On our last night we ate at a restaurant in the dales and had 3 very good courses of FINER dining for the same price as our one course at Oulton Hall. To top off the eveing we had coffee in the library, but the waiter managed to spill the top inch of my cup all over the table, and did not even offer to replace it.

In summary, we would recommend the hotel for its facilities, but not the over-priced food, and the service needs to improve to portray the 4 star image. Management needs to manage this. There was a nice touch though as it was my birthday we were left 4 nice chocolates in our room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_Love_Sun_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Been on numerous short breaks with de vere and all have been enjoyable whatever the location. Oulton hall on the other hand was extremely disappointing. Lovely location and impressive entrance quickly spoilt by surly receptionist. Booked a deluxe room very dated old tv that just kept going silent for no reason, safe broken, wi fi did not work etc. Definitely not up to 5 star standard. Food choice on the meal break we chose was pathetic ,3 choices one of which was vegetarian. Always had a good choice at other de vere venues. Staff were extremely up themselves especially the somellier he asked us what wine we,d like as we were being seated asked him for a few moments to look then despite numerous attempts to call him back he ignored us, that was until we,d finished our deserts then he came to ask if we,d decided yet. Extremely amusing. However with the cheapest house wine at 24 pounds I can,t say I was that heart broken not to get any. Service in the bar was terrible even though it was very quiet. Apparently nobody asks for a cappuccino in their bar so they don,t stock milk . Pathetic. The prices are also nothing short of day light robbery. Due to obnoxious staff we cancelled the next nights meal and ate at a very good Italian in Leeds, the red dragon Chinese just around the corner was also excellent. On check-out our bill was wrong to the tune of 60 pounds and they had tried to charge us a 5 pounds service charge on a child's meal that cost 7.50. They rectified this with no apology at all maybe its policy and they hope people don,t check. Due to management and staff attitude coupled with dated rooms this is by no means a 5 star hotel with the exception of prices. Worst de vere venue by far, left a nasty taste in the mouth. Others were in agreement. Maybe why it was by far the quietness de vere hotel we,ve been to. There are better places to stay than here.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikhebhoofdpijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We've just returned from our 6th stay which was again, most enjoyable. We live an hour away, so its a convenient getaway which we always enjoy. OK over the years we've progressed from the Yorkshire Room, which is quite small, but still quite elegant, to the Deluxe which is much bigger with lots of extras, to the Bolton Abbey Suite which is just lovely for a special occasion. Then again, why wait for a special occasion ?
My points score is an overall judgement. All rooms would score differently as would the service which has always been excellent previously.
We've eaten in both the Claret Jug - more informal but serving delicious food, to the Calverley Grill which served a lovely 3 course meal (included in the deal we received) for £30 per head, or use as credit towards the A la Carte Menu. The food was lovely, but the wine is really expensive. They are fine to just serve tap water at no charge.
We have never had a complaint about the service which has always been excellent until our last visit. The Sunday was up to its usual very good standard. On Monday night, the lack of waiting staff was apparent - not to us - but to several tables tucked away out of sight. Nice romantic dinner lasted hours longer than I think they had inteneded. Also, there are some meals, carved and served at the table. Sounds very romantic, but as the dining area was crowded, the Maitre'D was preparing in the aisle rather than explaining what he was doing to the diners. Thought that was such a shame. There is a 'discretionary 10% service charge' added to the bill. Normally, 10% is absolutely fine. This was not added to our bill for the second night, so perhaps it was acknowledged that the service was not too good for Monday.
Breakfast is amazing. If you dont fancy the huge selection of buffet food, there's a menu such as Eggs Benedict, Smoked Haddock with poached eggs, Kippers etc that are prepared freshly. The service at breakfast was different again - nothing was too much trouble.
It's a very elegant place, albeit a little 'tired' but this adds to the charm of the hotel. Would I go back ? Yes, absolutely! Just love it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nottingham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed here for one night on a B & B basis as I was attending a Wedding. Check in went smoothly, very attentive friendly staff in the Reception area. Our room was indeed adequate. Decent size bathroom, exceptionally comfy bed, tv (not that we watched it), tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron, ironingboard, trouser press, dressing gowns and ample fresh towels. There was a mini fridge but we didnt even look inside this. This was in a standard twin room. The house (Hotel) is beautiful with period decor and furniture. The grounds are spectacular. I can only comment on the Wedding Food for an evening meal but this was cooked to perfection and the breakfast was equally as good and very plentiful with again attentitive friendly waittress's. On the evening we moved to the Claret Jug (which is incidently where the Spa and Pool is). This is up a steep hill and would indeed be a problem for the elderly or less mobile to walk but that was no problem as we were taken up in the 'Oulton Hall Car' by Ian who again was chatting and friendly, helping my father in law in and out of the car. If there was any down sides to our stay it would be the smell at the bars (but only when stood at the bars) in the Champayne Bar and the Claret Jug. The smell was foisty like damp cloths that had been left and also the cost of the drinks were extremely expensive. £8.40 for a large house wine. Apart from this I would recommend Outon Hall for a short stay and a definate location for a Wedding or Party.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We needed a relaxing break as I have been ill for the past 4 months, We asked if we could have "a nice room with a relaxing view" and the people at Oulton Hall provided us with just that .... in trumps.
The hotel is just beautiful with sumptuous furnishings and has a golf course surrounding it, providing our relaxing view.
The food, both in the main restaurant and adjacent "Claret Jug" was of high quality and really tasty.
The staff were really warm and friendly and gave the impression that they were happy to help make our stay really enjoyable.
We feel that we really well treated and will return when the situation arises.
Thank you De Vere Oulton Hall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range: $124 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing