We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pint”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Oulton
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Oulton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Leeds’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in for a beer after work, place was busy but bar was a nice area for a drink. Would recommend and food looked good

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank pah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your positive review of your recent experience with us! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only live locally and not having anything in for tea we said “Why not have a Carvery”
Big mistake even though it was fairly quiet the food was not particularly up to Toby’s supposed standard. I’m not a massive eater but hell fire a 3yr old could eat more meat, and as for the Frozen Cauliflower, Frozen Carrots, Frozen Green beans, Frozen Peas, what’s wrong with Fresh Vegetables.........their are plenty in season to which you can choose, and what happed to the light fluffy Yorkshire Puddings yes they were just brought out from the kitchen but rock hard and chewy.
Your staff could also do with having a look at the tables also, not very well cleaned and Salt & Pepper were sticky & dirty, on the whole it will be a while before we visit again, come on guys pull your socks up it’s not rocket science a simple Carvery how
can you get it so wrong!.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Mrgrumpy846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at Toby Carvery Oulton Leeds but will take this opportunity to improve. We regret that you weren't satisfied with your experience. We hope you will give us another chance. Thank you and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in Monday had a carvery it was fresh and a lovely meal staff where helpful and pleasant, good value meal

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank waynemD8478FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Waynem. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awful service I had booked table but was told there was a delay people queuing to get Carvery and as I was rather abruptly spoken to by person front of house we all left after 30 mins of waiting will not be going there again!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Karen S, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in on the way home from Leeds so that we would not be eating too late.
Previous visits have all been good, but on this occasion the meat was not of the usual standard. Both my beef and my wife's pork were tough and fatty. Vegetables were ok.
After recently visiting the Toby Carvery near York, where the restaurant was spotlessly clean, this one has a lot to learn. After the table next to us was cleared and re-set for new customers, there was a wet glass ring still on the table and the floor was littered with food and a napkin.
Will have to think hard before returning.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Barry, sorry to hear that your visit wasn’t up to the standard of previous visits. If you do encounter any issues with standard of food please speak to a member of staff who will do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your meal. We are hoping this was a one off for yourselves and things are back to the standards previously on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Oulton, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing