We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more do you want for that price?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flamstead
Certificate of Excellence
Aspatria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What more do you want for that price?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Immaculately clean room, very friendly staff, wonderfully comfortable bed - suited us down to the ground. Stayed just one night on the way to London taking in the Harry Potter film studios on the way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdh200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    131
    63
    24
    18
See reviews for
156
143
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Room & facilities were rather basic. Good breakfasts, though, and reception & restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. However, Holiday Inn costs a little more but represents better value for money.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster on Sea
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for the night in order to attend a friend's special lunch the following day in St Albans. This hotel is miles from anywhere and when we arrived we were tired and hungry at 7pm. We left bags in the room and went to the Harvester next door where we got a very poor meal.
On returning to the room we discovered that although we turned the heating up it would only go to 23 degrees, and although the panel showed the flame symbol, the panel heater on the wall did not come on and the temperature soon returned to 19 degrees.
After a hot shower, and here the water did not drain away easily and the bathroom was fridge like, we went to bed early - at least it was warm under the duvet!
In the morning we complained to reception - the young girl had a problem understanding what we were talking about but the guest behind knew, as he also had had the same problem.
We left vowing to never visit this particular Premier Inn again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests receive a warm welcome in a clean and comfortable environment, I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be investigated with our Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great family accommodation in quiet hotel. Very reasonable deal for a large family room. Travel cot and child's single bed were made up in arrival. No lift but staff were very keen to help with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here the night before an early morning flight from Luton airport.
For £29/night, you can't get better value.
Wasn't over impressed with the adjacent buffet restaurant, but the breakfast was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here the night before flying out from Luton.

We had a very warm welcome from the receptionist on arrival and were allocated two key cards in case one of us wanted to go out. Very handy!

The room was spacious and totally spotless. Plenty of power points and a TV.

The bed was lovely and firm and very warm for a good nights sleep.

Shower had plentiful hot water and like the room was spotlessly clean.

We didn't intend having breakfast the next morning but ended up doing so and for £5.25 wasn't bad value for money at all.

The saver rate for the room was £29 and for what we had this was an excellent price.

a 15 minute drive on check out had us in the long stay car park in Luton, so ideal stopover for flights.

We usually tend to stay at Travelodge but after this first visit to a Premier Inn, they will now be the 1st choice as it makes Travelodge look like a very poor relation at the same price point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie F, Manager at Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
It was lovely to hear your feedback in regards to the warm welcome you received at Premier Inn M1J9 and all your comments will be passed back to the team. Thank you for taking the time to write the review, and we all sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean, comfortable and modern and so represented excellent value as I've come to realise from premier inn

The Luton one should be commended for the excellent service we received from the day and night people on the front desk. They were wonderful

We had 5 young children between myself and sister in law and they couldn't have done enough.

The only recommendation I could make would be for someone else to be serving at breakfast time as it was very busy and was difficult for the girl to deal with the customers and refill everything

Nevertheless, highly recommended

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie F, Manager at Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am absolutely delighted that you had a brilliant stay at M1J9 and I will certainly feed back your comments in regards to the excellent customer service that you received to the team members. We all very much look forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flamstead
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton-South
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
6.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Luton (Airport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel
Address: London Road, Flamstead, St. Albans AL3 8HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans > Flamstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flamstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient whether you're flying through Luton or heading for Harry Potter at Warner Bros Studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Luton South (m1, Jct 9) Hotel Flamstead
Premier Inn Saint Albans
Holiday Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing