We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flamstead
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here on 28th June as an over nighter from home to Dover ferryport. Really easy to find off M1 J9, and convenient to hop on and off motorway. Receptionist on arrival gave a welcoming greeting. We were initially given a room right next to the floor entrance doorway, which we didn't fancy due to possible noise of people coming and going through the night. Asked for another room and provided with one without fuss from the receptionist. Room and spec exactly what we expected. Paid for the cooked breakfast option, which was fine, again we received a nice welcome from the restaurant lady. Left next morning, and on the M25 within 10 minutes. Spot on!
All in all, great service and value for money. Met our expectations, Premier Inn do it just right, but nothing outstanding, hence a 4 overall score.

Room Tip: Plenty of free parking with cctv and coded barrier.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGSF-PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 478 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked here last minute as some colleagues were staying over
£79.25 for B&B not including internet I was a sole traveler rooms are small poor lighting in bathroom shower trickled
really disappointing.
I don't say this often but i felt like i had been ripped off.
One positive breakfast was nice but cutlery was dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked online for a one night stay to be close to Harry potter world, it worked out a great location & very quiet, a good nights sleep all for £29.
When we arrived we were disappointed with the lack of space and size of the family room. It's so much smaller than other premier inns all over the country including Heathrow airport. It had a double and two singles squashed in a line with a dressing table at the foot of the beds leaving no space at all to walk. The receptionist showed us a handful of other rooms which were all the same size, so this is a huge negative with this hotel. Fortunately for us we had come from a long day at Legoland arriving late and went straight to dinner after checking in so it was just a bed for the night.
The room was quiet and we were back at breakfast at 7am. The gentleman taking orders was really polite, friendly and cheery and the cooked breakfast was great, it really set us up for the day. It was nice to be served rather than the normal buffet, at premier inns, much preferred.
If we ever have to stay in the future we would have to book two rooms and spilt up which is not at all ideal for a family of two adults and two children aged 2 & 4 years. For this reason I couldn't recommend to families who need all four beds but otherwise a good choice and great value at £29.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT3BOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Premier Inn Luton South on Thursday 23rd May we arrived at the hotel after midnight and everything was perfect. The receptionist was helpful and quickly found our reservation and showed us to our room. The bathroom and bed was very clean and comfortable. It was quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. We will definately be using this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stay well clear of this hotel. It is of a real poor standard. I can sum up the points raised in other reviews,
yes, the bathroom floors are really rotten, they do sink about 2".
the rooms are cold, don't think you are setting the temperature in the room, you are not.
the rooms do have a damp musty smell.
The Harvester pub next door is a complete and utter rip off, Waiting times of anything up to an hour, food is average and overpriced. The bar is only ever served by one person, and continually runs out of draft beer.
I am aware that the two are not linked, but they are well suited in terms of condition and service.
as a footnote, this is not based on a one night experience, more like 3 months, booked by my company who have a business account, I am just unfortunate to be working down here.
one last thing that I do not think anyone mentioned, don't pay for the WI FI, its almost impossible to connect to the internet.

Room Tip: anything upstairs where the floors don't tend to be rotten. No use complaining, the staff just...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip to London . Wasnt expecting great things . What a revelation . Comfy rooms and beds , quiet sleep and the best freshly cooked breakfast for £8 per head . Friendly helpful staff , plentiful free parking . Thoroughly recommended. Compliments to the management

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Premier Inn is a basic usual format, no evening food in house so unless you take a short trip to a nearby pub (which I'd strongly recommend) your choice is the Harvester Flamstead next door. All I can add it - avoid at all costs. The food is reheated, usually over cooked and not a pleasant experience.
The rooms at the Premier Inn are smaller but travelling solo this trip not an issue. Reception staff were very helpful.
For the price paid was okay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Traveller4531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flamstead
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
2.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
#9 of 10 in St. Albans
795 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
634 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St. Albans
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel

Address: London Road | Just of the M1, at J9, Flamstead, St. Albans AL3 8HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans > Flamstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flamstead
Price Range: $59 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient whether you're flying through Luton or heading for Harry Potter at Warner Bros Studios. Catching a 747 or fancy a great break 24/7? Premier Inn Hotel Luton South (M1, J9) is ideal for Luton Airport and for plenty of tourist sites and entertainment too. So whether you're jetting off or staying put, you'll find we're a great place to stay. Watch the penguins catch fish at Whipsnade Zoo or catch one of your favourite bands at Wembley Arena. Take the kids to see the wizardry behind the Harry Potter films at the Warner Bros Studios, or just enjoy a peaceful stroll over Dunstable Downs. Then come back to the hotel for some lovely food at the Harvester restaurant next to our hotel and a great night's sleep in a comfy bed, and choose to wake up to start your day with Breakfast within our Premier Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Luton South (m1, Jct 9) Hotel Flamstead
Premier Inn Saint Albans
Holiday Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing