We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Talat Yai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice guesthouse in sino-portuguese building in center of phuket town. Ran by a very nice family. Rooms are small, but cosy and have a nice bathroom. Rooms are a bit noisy, walls are thin. Breakfast is included in the price, but nothing special. Toast, jelly, coffee, tea and banana's, thats about it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirroRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 202 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice place, clean but very small

Possibly best bathroom in Thailand though!!!

Room had just enough space for a bed

Owners friendly cute breakfast

Would recommend to other

Good location, would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BranBran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Immaculate, tasteful, well-run guesthouse, in the centre of the old town. Helpful staff (went out of their way to sort out our tickets to Koh Jum) and not charging extra for the trouble! The rooms are on the smallish side, but has all the amenities. Great value for money! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatJo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Any place on this street is good. We have stayed just down the street before (lower number than 99 - like in the 50s ;o) and have always enjoyed our visits. Very near markets including a local night market a stones throw away from the fountain that is nearby.
Don't expect luxury anywhere on this street. We have stayed in this area and seen bugs. So if that is offensive, head to a resort out of town where the tourists are.
Staff, with exception of the owner's son, are nice. I would say the place down the street have staff even nicer, but the rooms here exceed (by far) those found elsewhere on Thalang Rd. The road has added evening light works with changing colors. A nice touch.
We were a group of five adults with three rooms and no complaints. You get free wi-fi.
Our fourth visit to Thalang Rd and yet to be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night before we went to phi phi. The owners of the guest house are very nice and they arranged out boat ticket to Phi phi for us for the next day. They also gave us a helpful map of the "old town" area. The location is on a really nice street with shops and cafes and at night all the buildings are lit up with different colour lights.


The guesthouse is great value for money and very clean. A basic breakfast of a banana and toast and tee and coffee is included. The only problem - and I have seen this in many guest houses in Thailand - the wall between our room and our neighbours does not go to the ceiling there is a 1 foot gap. At 99 the gap is filled with coloured glass which I thought looked really great- that was until 2 am when I could not get any sleep because the person in the room next to us wanted to keep their light on all night for some reason (I don't know why this happens perhaps they passed out). Any way the light from their room was so bright I wish I had brought my eye mask! My partner complained that the bed was hard but I found it ok.

Phuket town is really great- it has good markets on the weekend, with awesome food vendors; lots of quirky cafes/gallery's/shops.Places to have a massage and go for a drink. I wish we stayed here a little longer- even though there is no beach it is much nicer that Patong!

Room Tip: Don't get a balcony room if you don't like street noise. Bring ear plugs and and a eye mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kapte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's a smallo family business and the owner, Thai Lady, she doing everything will smile and welcome. Althought the room size is a bit small but this is just suitable with the price for a guesthouse. Still the room was very clean.

Room Tip: Well, the location is just great, located junt in Phuket town and you can walk to the local restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maprang5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights in August prior to moving on to Kata. Though not beach-side, this hotel is very well located for Phuket Town (near markets and cafe/restaurants as well as being a 5 minute walk to the bus 'station' which will take you on to Kata/Karon/Patong etc for 35 THB pp).

Hotel has a boutique design and spacious feel. Dark timber floors throughout; polished concrete bathroom. Included: bottled drinking water and toiletries (replenished daily), as well as TV, air-con and fridge.

The hotel is clean and safe. Reception is attended most of the day and you are provided with an additional key fob to enter the hotel after hours. Breakfast was simple/light (toast, tea/coffee, bananas) and tea/coffee was available for free during the day in the common dining area at the back.

The staff/owners try to assist as much as possible with directions, excursion bookings and any other queries. Pricing for trips was on par with nearby local agents and quality of tour is good, so recommend to go with them to save wandering about in the sun (went on 4 in 1 canoe day-trip).

Room Tip: First floor room (no. 22 - standard double) faced the street and had a semi-private balcony (shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ithacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talat Yai
0.1 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#1 of 93 in Phuket Town
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chinotel Phuket
Chinotel Phuket
#13 of 93 in Phuket Town
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#4 of 93 in Phuket Town
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
0.2 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 93 in Phuket Town
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sino Inn Phuket
Sino Inn Phuket
#12 of 197 in Phuket Town
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 99 Thalang Rd, Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Talat Yai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talat Yai
Price Range: $20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing