We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Richmond Arms

The Richmond Arms
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Country Pub, Restaurant, B& B in an idyllic Sussex rural village at the foot of the South Downs,5 Min's from Chichester. Locals bar and country kitchen serving locally sourced meats, seafood, game and vegetables in an innovative manner.Roasts on our "Rotisserie" and meats/seafood grilled over Charcoal. Classic bar snacks re-invented, regularly changing local microbreweries beers,home made hedgerow "eaux de vie" and large list of wines by the glass.... expressive of their origins and "terroir". ...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had lunch here on the 1st August and were completely overwhelmed by the quality and inventiveness of the food. Jack, the chef, is a culinary genius. We are still trying to work out how he managed to make the chorizo 'scotch' egg with a gorgeous crispy outer coating with a perfectly runny boiled egg in the centre. It was sublime! The mains we had (barbequed squid, and pork belly) were both fabulous - unusual accompaniments with the most wonderful taste and texture, and the desserts were outstanding. I will long remember the passion fruit posset with coconut tapioca and raspberry sorbet - I've never had anything quite like it and it was utterly divine. We are thinking about jacking it all in and moving to West Ashling so that this becomes our local!! Do go, it's simply wonderful. It's also very reasonably priced for the outstanding cuisine on offer and the staff are lovely too. A gem of a place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    56
    26
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went here as a foursome for the first time last night for a birthday celebration. The first impression was from our extremely welcoming and genuine waitress, who looked after us flawlessly all evening. The menu is extensive and interesting with an emphasis on slow cooked more economical cuts of meat,. We tried the 'melting' spatchcock poussin, 24 hour breast of lamb, slow cooked brisket and ribeye steak. All were delicious and served with perfect accompaniments. Prices are £2-3 per dish more than you would expect to pay in lesser chain style establishments and the portion sizes are such that you feel comfortable after 3 courses rather than stuffed. All in all, we'll worth the extra outlay and we will be coming back soon to try some of the other menu options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local pub goes gastro....”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We decided to for Sunday lunch and weren't disappointed!

Had the beef which was pink and plenty of it. Vegetables came as a side and were cooked to perfection.

We were with our children aged 4 & 2 who were accommodated with chicken and vegetables.

Tried the local brew which was a pale ale, a little flat but enoyed it none the less. My wife had a Sauvignon blanc which was chilled to perfection and very crisp.

Overall a little pricey but we did enjoy the location, food, drink and service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sixth time and it just gets better everytime, faultless”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went for an early dinner to the Richmond Arms (having discovered it relatively recently this year) and we were once again blown away with it. Despite this being their first night of opening after a short break, the Richmond Arms just went from strength to strength. We were warmly welcomed by the same lady we have seen on every occasion, she is so friendly, knowledgable, hard working and very enthusiastic, she alone sells the place (must get her name, works behind the bar, blonde hair). The menu changes subtely and seasonally, but keeps some of our favourites such as the squid fries and haloumi with gremolata, which are consistently fantastic. The quality of the food, the imagination and creativity of the chef and the presentation are simply fantastic, accompanied by home made bread, fresh butter and gorgeous wines. This place is better than many of the restaurants I go to on a regular basis in London. The new starter of crab spring roll was absolutely amazing, with a fresh, zingy salad and very refreshing. The main courses of wild salmon with sweet potato cake and sweetcorn fritters was superb and the salted caramel ice cream is just the best I have ever tasted. The decor is fresh and modern, the addition of a refurbished citroen pizza van with wood fired oven is inspired and the idea of taking our children here on a Friday or Saturday night for home made pizza and salad is very tempting. I am nervous about writing this review as I fear that once you all discover it I wont be able to get a table. Congratulations to The Richmond Arms you set a standard which many in West Sussex should emulate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank heywood08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The food & service here is...”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

...excellent. The restaurant itself lacks a bit of ambience but is made up by the superb food and 1st class service service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DTFWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Richmond Arms also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Richmond Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing