We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its actually worthy, great place.”
Review of Soma Kerala Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soma Kerala Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Chempu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Its actually worthy, great place.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hi All,

I had been to Soma Kerala Palace in Jun 2012. Believe it was actually a great than what i expected. Das and Shaji were too good in their hospitality. They offered me Maharaja Suite at very decent price. Food tasted typical Kerala style with a very neat restaurant with neat food. I had been with my wife and it was a very relaxing and peaceful place as it looks like we are floating over a lake with floating flowers, fishermen and different birds.
It takes 20 mins boating to reach resort from main land and resort provides it. Cost of food was also of decent rates. I stayed for 3 days at Soma Kerala palace. People there are very friendly and would enjoy authentic palace kind of ambience. Its worth staying there for couple of days.
There is nothing much for a sightseeing. I would suggest Soma Kerala palace if you are looking for a neat, decent, good, enjoyable, peaceful, relaxing, worthy, non adventurous place. Swimming pool here is cleaned everyday and kept neat. It was a memorable trip for me and my wife.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nageshraoyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    27
    14
    12
See reviews for
89
58
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a joy and honor to be a guest on the Soma Kerala Palace's island. Surrounded by a lake of floating flowers, waking to birdsong each morning, yoga, ayurveda, handpressed juices, meals catered to my students' desires... definitely an opportunity to repeat.

I would recommend this location to any yoga teacher looking to take students on retreat to India. This locale is an excellent choice, especially if neither your students nor you have been to India before. It's an easeful entry into the brightness and fullness of India.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We visited soma palace as a family. We found the staff well behaved. Air conditioning is terrible, we have to switch on the 2 fan to beat the indian summer.

Kerala style food is good and the ambiance also is good. As construction in the area is rampant, there is not much to space to look around and reflect on whatever you want.
The pool and water is good. Other than this pool there is not much as an activity. They only have the cultural evenings when they have full occupancy. Heard that they provide facilities for fishing and that's a good way of relaxing. You do have to wait for hours to get a fish because most of the fish is dead because of over fishing and pollution.

The rooms are special as it has a living history. Other than that bath rooms and toilets are some time dysfunctional and cranky. I had a hard time on the toilet seat..It keeps on moving with my movements!!!

Staff tell that the place is an ayurvedic resort so don't expect much of an activity than yoga. Cleanliness in the rooms are good.

Room Tip: Check the toilets fro wobbly seats and working Taps!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

i went to soma kerala palace last february and again just now, in november. if possible, i found the staff working there totally at our disposal , the food was beatiful, normally buffet and indian,
the manager, that we called babu, was awesome. i found that the wi fi system was greatly improved in comparison with my first visit. some power cuts that seem to be a problem in some indian areas, thought.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margheritapalomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa. ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was travelling over Keral with a group of my friends after 14 night stay in Manaltheeram, where we had Purification and Rejuvenation program( it was really great!). While the trip which included houseboat , hotel Kumarakom Lake Song , Periyar( htl Cardamon County), Munnar ( htl Tall trees)and Cochin ( htl Dream) we visited Soma Kerala Palace in order to make a choice for the next year ayurveda treatment and were really impressed by the beauty and serenity of the lake and surroundings. Boat transfer is organized from the hotel s private jetty and it is very interesting to travel over the lake to the destination up to the reception. Kerala Palace itself is a masterpiece - antique buildings bought from Kerala aristocracy and established on the island which is a 3 minute boat ride from the mainland. The boat is ready to provide free transfer whenever you wish. Kerala Palace helps to organize excurisons to several temples and to shopping. The lake water is clean, the abundance of birds is amaizing.
The rooms are very good with all modren facilities, the suites seemed a little bit gloomy as they are all wooden inside. The staff is well trained and hospitable. The food for lunch was perfect !
I do recommend Soma Kerala Palace for those travellers who go for yoga, ayurveda. If you can stay for a short time you will also love it.

Room Tip: No preference, see the categories of the rooms and the price you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was one of the most relaxing place I have ever been to. This was the bonus stay in our Kerala trip. this is one of the best place in Kerala. Right from boat pick up to boat drop. Excellent food, excellent view, excellent rooms,excellent privacy but only problem we faced was low electricity voltage bcoz of which AC was not working properly. Although they have genset but for that we had to tell them as many times as we faced low voltage. But Overall guys I would really suggest you to visit this place and enjoy the hospitality. Also we did fishing and caught 4 fishes. That ws a nice experience. Thanx Soma for making our trip so relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Right from welcome drink to spotless linen and exceptional ambience, this place has got a nice combination of ingredients to make the stay comfortable and enjoyable. The staff is humble and professional and always very prompt in their services. The restaurant was a lovely experience. Be it lunch in the lush green garden or candle light dinner amid soothing music, you can always feel being special. Would love to visit again whenever possible...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aakash76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chempu
16.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
715 reviews
17.0 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
7.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
725 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
165 reviews
13.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Kerala Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Kerala Palace

Property: Soma Kerala Palace
Address: North Kumarakom, Chempu 686615, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Chempu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chempu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Kerala Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes Soma Kerala Palace different from other holiday resorts is its ancient architecture which is recreated using master pieces, about 250 years old, disbanded from their actual site. Classical art forms such as Koodiyattom, Thulall and Padayani, performed by veterans of the art, form a part of the Kalaa Sandhya (Cultural Evening) which was once a means of entertainment for the royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Soma Kerala Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Kerala Palace Chempu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing