We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Paradise”
Review of Promtsuk Buri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Promtsuk Buri
Ranked #5 of 73 Maret B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holstebro, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like Paradise”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed the for the second time... and it's absolutly like paradise! Only missing thing is a pool for the kids... but after short time you won't miss it. It's at very romantic resort on a lovely beach with a wonderful scenary. Everything is very clean and in order. Lived both times in no. 6 (seafront) with the terrase direct to the beach. Loves the big outdoor shower even when raining!!! All the rooms are the same! The staff love kids and espccially Lek, Shera and Yo at the rastaurant and recpetion are some wonderful people! You will never regret a stay a this place! Food are cheap and some of the best we ever had tasted in Thailand. TRY IT! Taxi always just aouside the resort. If taxidrivers don't know where Promsuk Buri is (We have tried this several times), just say Samui Yacht Club and there's no problem!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
146
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We are a family travelling with a 6 year old boy and a 4 year old girl. We were looking for a beach and a place to stay that had a safe and quiet beach and comfortable accommodation. This beach and accommodation ticked all of the boxes for us.
We stayed 7 nights at Promtsuk Buri on Tongtakian beach. The beach is secluded and the beach was clean and very safe for swimming. The water is shallow enough that the kids could stand up and feel safe. Paddling out a little gave us deeper water for swimming. We also hired a kayak for 200THB for two hours and looked at the next bay which the kids enjoyed seeing crabs and fish that were around the rocks.
There is an area that had sand under foot in the water as there is a lot of dead coral around but the kids enjoyed snorkelling around these areas with some small fish to look at. It is a quiet place to be day and night. There are a few choices for eating on the beach front but it was more expensive than other places available on the island. The food was very nice though, a short songthaew ride 100THB to Lamai beach offered cheaper eating alternatives and a bit more night life.
Promtsuk Buri was very clean and very comfortable with very happy service. Breakfast was included with lots of variety and order as you go, so it was freshly cooked at no extra charge. This beach also attracted other families with young children which was great for interaction with other travellers.
We visited Cheweng beach which was very touristy and a bit to loud for our liking but worth a look if you want the noisy vibe.
I hired a motor bike and checked out other beaches. The west side had nice beaches which were a deeper for swimming.
Overall we thank all of the previous reviews on trip advisor reviews for finding us what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mini delux room no. 18 which was just behind the restaurant but had perfect views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twobytwo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We were really happy with this choice:

-great price
-very nice/well-maintained grounds
-rooms were clean and well-maintained - nothing special, but comfortable
-nice outdoor showers!
-beach was perfect: quiet, secluded - only shared with a couple other hotels
-hotel restaurant was good and had a nice complimentary
-water is perfect - not too rocky, good for swimming
-sand is soft and white
-close to Chaweng, but still secluded and quiet

complaints:
-hotel said that they would pick us up at the airport but never did and we had to call a cab
-noise on the beach due to construction at a nearby hotel - wasn't a huge deal, i would stay there again, but would have been nice to

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8madden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Really nice and quiet location on the fantastic Thongtakian beach. Have stayed next door three times and Promtsuk is much more modern and welcoming. I wish it had a small splash pool next door but that's the only drawback.

Room Tip: Just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We love Promstuk Buri - it toally lived up to our expectations !
Pros
Wonderful, friendly staff.
Great bungalow (we had the one 2nd from the beach - no 6 I think)
Loved the outdoor bathroom and the deck to sit out on.
Good, tasty and cheap food at the the liitle restaurant.
Cheap laundry service and free internet in the office
Beautiful beach with clear water. No beach lounges but it is not that sort of place. Seems this little beach is a bit of a secret - mainly hotel guests (only about 5 hotels on the beach) and a few day trippers so had a nice laid back and friendly vibe.
Lovely to wake up to a view of the beach from our bungalow for the bargain price of AU $85 a night with breakfast
Cons
Hard bed and pillow...when we return we will stay longer and take our own soft pillows :)
Restaurant closes at 5 pm - probably a good idea or we would never have ventured out :) We tried restaurants at hotel next door - south - (ok) and the white concrete Italian looking one at the far north of the beach - great food and spectacular views
As you can see from my other reviews we usually stay at 5 star hotels but this little gem was a refreshing change and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Me and my friend has spent 11 days in Promtsuk Buri resort. It is the most beautiful place in the island. Bungalows are really clean, they change towels and tidy up the room every day. The open roof shower is specific, and we enjoyed it. The beach was clean, almost unoccupied and the sea there was fantastic. It is small paradise in the Earth. Lamai beach is relatively near, you can achieve it in few minutes by taxi. Near the resort are very good small restaurants, which are cheap. People in resort are so cute and try to help you with everything you need. Hope, we will return back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinika9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed here with my partner and 4 other friends just for 2 nights. We didn't have luck with the weather, it rained the whole time and the beach didn't look that great then, but the rest looked exactly like it did on the pictures. The breakfast was average but the food in the restaurant on the beach was very good.
Just be aware, it is a bit outside, so you need around 15-20 minutes by Tuk Tuk to go Chaweng beach and after 10pm it is harder to get a Tuk Tuk on the street there.
And in case it is raining, don't forget to close the bathroom door, as the bathroom is open air..:-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maret hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promtsuk Buri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promtsuk Buri

Property: Promtsuk Buri
Address: 146 / 56 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Promtsuk Buri 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promtsuk Buri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promtsuk Buri Hotel Koh Samui
Promtsuk Buri Ko Samui/Maret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing