We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing thing like advertised”
Review of Villa Nalinnadda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Nalinnadda
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nothing thing like advertised”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked this hotel as a 'luxury´ mid way treat for our honeymoon of a two month visit to south east Asia. Hotel is nothing like the pictures or the description. We paid for the 180degree sea view room that promised us an open air Jacuzzi on the balcony. We got a sea view but was not 180 degrees as paid good money for and no Jacuzzi on the balcony. We were told these rooms are not available as are currently occupied. They offered us to switch for the last two nights of our stay. Bed was broken as was window in bathroom and also balcony doors not secure at all. Could've easily have been broken into. Swimming pool is nice and because it is a small hotel you generally have it to yourself. Steps to beach are wooden planks placed on rocks not good for those with bad knees or no balance. Cannot swim at beach at all too shallow and too weedy . It really doesn't look like the photos on the website. This is more like a 20dollar a night not 200dollars. The unlimited spa treatments are not unlimited ...only allowed one a day and there are a few treatments you have to pay extra for. They only do a few massages, couple of facials and two body scrubs. Not a great selection.
Listed as located on Lamai beach - Lamai beach is a 250 baht (5GBP) taxi ride away, it's actually in a tiny village but on a very busy noisy road with a couple of Muslim restaurants hardly ever open and with one 7/11 store (we survived on snacks and drinks from this for lunch and dinner.
The food and drink at Nalinnadda were very overpriced pad Thai style noodles were 390baht very expensive compared to the rest of Samui and Thailand and a quarter of the portion. Don't even waste your money on it if you decide to stay here. Prawn curry consists of three prawns and about 5 thin slices of carrot and celery. Ridiculous. Breakfast provided was a good selection but that comes in the room rate. No facilities to make complimentary tea or coffee in room. You have to pay for these from the reception come kitchen come bar and dining area. That communal area is more like one in a hostel. The hotel blamed Agoda for bad advertising when their own website also is guilty of it. The receptionists are nice helped arrange taxis and gave us information. However not much at all around here you need to rent a moped to go anywhere. Won't be wasting money Herr again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you paid for! A few couples we met like us paid for 180degree room but did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chantelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalinnadda, Manager at Villa Nalinnadda, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and were happy with the service provided by our receptionists and also that you liked our pool and the privateness of the pool area, but we are saddened to learn that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

You raise many reasonable points and concerns, which we will gratefully use to improve our product and service delivery.

I am very sorry to learn that you were experiencing problems with the door lock. Had this been reported to us immediately, I am sure we could have fixed both problems quickly. At this point, we can only apologize. We will conduct a check of all locks, thank you for pointing this out.

We have noticed that many guests point out exactly what you mention about our location being in the more quiet south of Lamai. Many guests arrive worried that it is in a central location, but as soon as they go into the central locations and return, they are very thankful not to be living there. Travelers always have different preferences, but I would say that our returning guests choose us for this particular reason: that Villa Nalinnadda is located in a less busy area, where they can relax in a private atmosphere. Keep in mind that Samui is not a big island and we are less than 10 minutes away from the center of Lamai Beach, where most of the “action” is found

Once again many thanks for your valuable feedback. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    45
    8
    12
    6
See reviews for
11
107
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Worst experiences I've ever had. I booked 4 days 3 nights for 180 degree sea-views in which website shows quite obviously jacuzzi outdoor however my holiday dream turned into nightmare once we arrived, reception staff brought us to the totally different room from what we'd booked, so small, old room and just one person fitted indoor jacuzzi.
When we asked them why it's different, they kept talking it's the same price, none of those rooms available at that time and they said the room type we'd booked actually have this kind of room as well. We asked them if there are two kinds of settings should you mentioned on website clearly?. They promised will do but I couldn't see faithful in her eyes.
I checked on internet again right away as they said no way we can change the room on that night but because I looked into their varied room types again and again before I booked to make sure which we most like, so I really sure that the room they showed us was half-price lower than mine!! We forced them to change finally, what even more surprised us was the room they really confirmed not available turned out to free just because we insisted to refusing the room they'd offered.
After dispute ended, all the way from that moment we had got staring from all the staffs there as if we broken their properties or done something truly faults and with bad and wrong gossips seemed like spreading all the time we moved and it'd been continuing until we left.

Apart from that no one in that resort had given us good services ever during we had been staying in the resort. No offered spa options we had to ask by ourselves, luckily we'd studied good enough so we hadn't lost our rights we should have got.

Beware for breakfast coffee as I pretty sure most of travelers go for day-trip which picking-up time is normally before 8 o'clock you will get box set instead with no options and with no coffee!!! You wouldn't know before cause no one utter about it when you order even having in their reception area waiting for bus and you'd suppose what it should to be is complimentary however when you leave you will get over-priced bill for under-qualified coffee which even Mocha they're unable to make.

I totally disappointed for what we'd expected as their rate is so high and still until now. I know there's some who might have got great experiences as well but I just wanna share what we really had got as turning upside down which I think it's because they'd have treated upon on selections. Hope you won't be the ones like us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BankWestPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalinnadda, Manager at Villa Nalinnadda, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are obviously very sad to see that you had such a disappointing experience with us, but we do appreciate your comments. Feedback like this is extremely useful and helps us prioritize our work and improve our performance.

It is a great shame that your stay with us started off that way and this is obviously not the impression we would like to make on our arriving guests. The room you were showed first was the Beachfront Collection room, which is indeed the same rate as the 180 Degree Sea-view Collection. But we do understand that you needed the outside Jacuzzi and we are happy to hear that you liked the room.

We are confused by your comment regarding the Spa. As far as our records show you each enjoyed 3hrs complimentary Spa treatment on the day staying at the hotel and also enjoyed the Spa after your day-trip.

As for your comment regarding the hot beverage at breakfast, which includes black coffee but not the from you ordered Mokka, which we do not have on our beverage menu and do not serve at the Hotel.

Once again, we offer our sincere thanks for your comments and feedback. we apologize that we were unable to satisfy you during your stay.

With best wishes from the Villa Nalinnadda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there during Thailand long holiday.It was better than I think my husband told me dont trus hotel photos from website but in real was really good as in the photo. Staffs there very nice and service mild also massage very good. We booked 180 degree sea view was really good room I can say just I dont want to go out you can enjoy sea view un ur room and out door jaguzzy all was really perfect. Just one thing that not much ok is you cant swim on the beach there coz it not much deep and not really clean but you can enjoy the pool and massage in stead for me I did not need beach much that time because we just landing so it was very good for jet lag couple....
Thank you villa and stuffs you brought us very good time kisses!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apiwan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalinnadda, Manager at Villa Nalinnadda, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again! With best wishes from the Villa Nalinnadda Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a minor problem at the beginning with our booking but the lovely Boom (Manager) sorted us out with loads of grace and a luxurious solution. The view from the bedroom and the enormous bath are to die for. We have certainly made the most of our unlimited spa treatment package by booking one every morning and another every evening. Options of Thai massages, oil massages, exfoliations, aloe Vera wraps..,we have tried them all and are feeling great. Service was exceptional and what could have turned into a bad experience was instead handled so well that it was an unforgettable experience. Thank you to all of the staff

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafikismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalinnadda, Manager at Villa Nalinnadda, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your valuable comments and feedback, which will help us improve our services in the future. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumphon, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautiful small Boutique Hotel, lovely staff, very helpful.
The Hotel is right by the beach, not perfect for swimming, but they have a nice pool right by the sea. It is a very small Hotel and quiet, so we had the pool to our self most of the time. Very private.
We stayed there for two nights for our honeymoon in the Beachfront Room.
They do serve the breakfast to the room, so we could have it on our terrace by the beach and we could choose always the day before what we would like to have for breakfast and at what time. Also the massage, which was included in our package was very relaxing.
If you want to get to the town, you would need to rent a motorbike and it takes maybe 10min to get to Lamai Centre, where it is very busy with many bars and restaurants. But we preferred to stay somewhere more quiet and were very happy with our choice to stay some small Hotel were we can enjoy privacy. If you need some busy place and nightlife than better stay somewhere else, but if you come for honeymoon we are happy to recommend Villa Nalinnadda!

Room Tip: Choose the beachfront Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipraksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalinnadda, Manager at Villa Nalinnadda, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for spending your Honeymoon with us! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again! With best wishes from the Villa Nalinnadda Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for three nights to relax and get away from it all after our wedding in Phuket. Quiet hotel. We stayed in bottom room closest to beach. Rooms were nice. Breakfast served to your terrace every morning is a nice touch. Ordered room service once and for a small intimate hotel they served up some pretty good food. Like everyone said if u want to party then this isn't for you but if you just want to relax and feel like your the only ones at the hotel then it's a winner. Get the spa treatments included in your package. It's a nice touch. All staff very friendly. Only a couple of kilometers to Lamai beach and markets. Busy road did not bother us at all. You can still swim at beach but isn't the nicest in samui. Overall it's a nice and relaxing place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausrussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalinnadda, Manager at Villa Nalinnadda, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again! With best wishes from the Villa Nalinnadda Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice confortable rooms with own seafacing balcony and private jacussi. Super service minded friendly staff. Great breakfast served in your room.
Very nice pool, but a narrow beach. 20 minutes away from Chaweng and the action.
A good value for money hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalinnadda, Manager at Villa Nalinnadda, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again! With best wishes from the Villa Nalinnadda Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
0.8 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
3.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
1.0 mi away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nalinnadda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nalinnadda

Property: Villa Nalinnadda
Address: 399/1-4 Moo 1, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Maret
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Nalinnadda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nalinnadda is a small but perfectly formed Boutique Resort in an idyllic setting right at the beachfront. The design and location is ideally suited to couples searching for a stylish and romantic escape. Romantic – chic – secluded : with just a total of 8 bedrooms Villa Nalinnadda is an ultimate romantic boutique getaway, with personalized services and much care for the detail - ideal for Honeymooners and Weddings.Relax by the beachfront swimming pool or in the luxury italian spa with two treatment suites.Enjoy the breakfast in bed - Breakfast is served at any time of the day to your room.Let us spoil you from the moment you enter the Villa!Btw. Free Wifi through-out the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa Nalinnadda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nalinnadda Hotel Koh Samui
Nalinnadda Hotel Koh Samui
Villa Nalinnadda Ko Samui/Maret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing