We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Personalised Cooking Lesson!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ying's Thai Cooking Home

Ying's Thai Cooking Home
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Original Samui style cooking class in individual atmosphere far off the beaten track. Discover local ingredients at the nearby market and learn how to prepare and cook tropical herbs, spices and more in a traditional, home-style manner. Samui-born cooking teacher Ying - fluent in English and German - is guiding you with her refreshing charisma through your cooking experience.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Personalised Cooking Lesson!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was the experience we were most looking forward to on our first trip to Koh Samui and we were more than happy about it! We heard about Ying's Cooking Classes from a friend who visited Koh Samui a few weeks earlier.

Ying picked us up from our hotel's doorstep and took us to a local market. Without a single feeling of being rushed Ying showed us around the market, even pointing out some of the food from various parts of Koh Samui. She even let us stop by a supermarket to buy some snacks and my wife's favourite Thai toothpaste!

We were driven to Ying's home and introduced to her family. The ground floor alcove has been transformed into a homely cooking studio complete with relaxation couches, large preparation table, cooking station as well as a home-made mini-bungalow for dining that cozily seats 6. Around the house is a large plot of land: every corner of it teeming with vegetation. Between courses, Ying would show us around, explaining how the land is being used in different seasons and even how parts of the coconut tree had different uses!

We had a few main courses and a dessert and Ying even shared with us some recipes for some of our favourite Thai dishes.

Thank you Ying and family for the wonderful time, clearly the best part of our Koh Samui vacation!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sammerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Thanks Ying we can cook up a storm now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Thanks to Ying's Thai cooking lessons we can now cook all our favourites Thai dishes at home, I'm making pork larb tonight with my new cooking skills.
We all had a great time & all agree it was a highlight of our trip to Samui.
Ying picked us up on time and was happy & friendly from the start, she even laughed at Ron’s jokes about his baboon heart.
On the way to the market we decided what we wanted to cook, after changing our minds many times.
The fresh food market can be a bit of a culture shock to the Coles shoppers, with a few flies on the meat, but nothing a hot wok won't fix. I shop at Paddy's market in Sydney so it didn't worry me. It was interesting to see all the different produce on sale and everything looked very fresh.
Ying explained the uses for many fruits, plants and veggies, we picked out what we needed and headed to Ying's garden to get the rest. Ying’s garden is filled with great veggies & fruits.
The food preparation area was well set up with all our ingredients ready to go, Ying went through each step slowly and we choped, sliced & diced, then off to the wok's to cook them up.
I was amazed how easy the process was with Ying’s expert advice.
All our dishes tasted great & as we all made our own we could add as much or as little chilli as we wanted.
The whole day was filled with laughter, smiles and great food. It felt like cooking at a friend’s house.
I loved the fact that Ying involved her whole family and that our money was going directly to a local person instead of to a hotel. The day was worth every baht we paid.
Thanks Ying, from Elissa, Anthony, Ron & Sarah.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank elissamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best part of our Thailand vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent 2.5 weeks in Thailand and I can say this was probably my favorite activity we did. Ying picked us up, took us to the market and explained all of the foods being sold at the market. We picked out all the ingredients Ying didn't have at home and picked the rest from her home garden which is absolutely beautiful. We made 3 main courses and a dessert and the entire day was was so leisurely and relaxing. We made a dish, ate it together while chatting and relaxed before starting on the next one. Ying was also such a delight to be around. She's very kind and loves to laugh so the day was just such a nice one.

Not only did we learn to cook some amazing dishes, but we also learned so much about the culture. Ying was in the tourism business for many years so she is not only incredibly knowledgeable about the culture and history, but her explanations are very clear and interesting. I can't recommend this class enough. Book in advance as Ying is already booked for many weeks to come! You won't regret this day and I would bet it'll turn out to be a highlight of your trip, as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sasha924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of trip to Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had high expectations for Ying's cooking class on the basis of the existing reviews and they were more than exceeded.

Best aspects of the class included:
- trip to the local market to buy ingredients for meals
- Ying's open and friendly manner which made us feel relaxed from the outset
- flexibility to choose which dishes to make
- the beautiful setting for our class in Ying's home

We spent 2 weeks in Thailand, visiting different islands and Bangkok and this was definitely one of the highlights of the trip, there is nothing negative I can say about our experience and would definitely return to Ying, if we were in Koh Samui again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanIreland_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Correspondence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had quick and concise communication via email for a cooking class 2 months' time out. Unfortunately, 3 days before our confirmed cooking class, we fell ill. Sent an email to Ying. No problem . She wished us "well" and continued happy travels. What great service.
Thank you Ying.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveler5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ying's Thai Cooking Home also viewed

 

Been to Ying's Thai Cooking Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing