We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent Beachfront villa”

Review of Baan Hinta

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Maret, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TopenderN...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magnificent Beachfront villa”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This villa was perfect for our group. Plenty of party area but also room to get away. The staff are fantastic, especially Kib the villa manageress and the chef caters perfectly for any meal. Great pool overlooking the beach and comfortable living/dining area
Only drawbacks are that its a distance from Chaweng, the main location on the island. Lamai seems to be turning into bit of a backwater. And the beach below the villa is not really suited for swimming though its good to get out on the paddleboards.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arabella...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant experience, service was second to none!”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Baan Hinta for the month of August and had the most amazing time. Gift (manageress), the Chef and the staff (Nit, Ning and Tam) were absolutely amazing. They made our stay a complete success. The villa itself is beautiful and there is no longer any construction next door (the small resort is complete). The villa was kept sparkling clean and every request we had was addressed immediately and better still, with a smile. We had a few technical problems with the sound system etc and Gift sorted these out quickly and thanked us for bringing any of these types of things to her attention. The food was unbelievably good and we quickly left it to be "Chef's Surprise" for every meal. We had lots of visitors while at the villa and the team always made them feel special and welcome. They put on a wonderful lunch for 20 guests one day which was amazing and created a great atmosphere for all the children. Gift was incredibly good with our 3 year old twins and always made sure that she had little activities for them to do (feeding the pond fish, playing with a horse made out of coconut leaves etc) and took them off to look at things around the villa to give us a break from time to time (without even having to ask!). I read in the visitor book a great quote about Gift in that she should be running a corporation, she is THAT good. If we could have taken her home with us, we would have. So, in short, if you want a beautiful villa in a divine location with sensational food and better service than a 6 star hotel, then this is the place to go. And I am a hard judge!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service
Liked least: The windsurfers weren't available to use
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineM1
1 review
“It Exceeded all my high expectations”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

An Outstanding experience which I would return for. Chef Ole and manager Jee provided superb , caring service and authentic Thai dishes everyday. Never have I eaten such complex Thai food and felt such warmth experience.

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston1...
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Having started in Bangkok for 4 nights we were really looking forward to the peace of Koh Samui and Baan Hinta.
To say we were not disappointed is an understatement!!, from arrival to departure the experience was amazing. The manageress, Gift, took care of every little issue and question and always with a smile.
The chef was on hand to cater for all tastes and the prices were very reasonable - usually coming out at around £10 per head for a full meal with starters etc!.
The villa is amazing with fantastic views and facilities, 4 of the 5 bedrooms have wonderful sea views and all 5 bedrooms are massive!.
We were lucky enough to have the master suite which was amazing.
There is currently some building going on next door but the villa managers were excellent at dealing with this for us.
Obviously this is not cheap accommodation, but if you have several couples to share the cost it is actually great value.
My only criticisms were the lack of English tv channels(most didn't work due to poor signal) and the showers, they were amazing to look at but had very low pressure.

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham_zi...
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

If you appreciate the finer points of architecture on a beachfront property with all the toys parents and children alike would enjoy, Baan Hinta is the spot in Samui. We enjoyed the villa for a few days with three other couples and our children and look forward to returning.....the staff were extremely friendly, helpfull with the kids and were excellent cooks. Many thanks again!!
Zink family

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane M
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I WiLL STAY IN THIS VILLA EVERY TIME I COME TO KOH SAMUI”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have to say I am a frequent traveler of Thailand. I have traveled to many places and stayed in some of the amazing resorts around the world. By far Baan Hinta Villa has thought of it all, with every amenity you can possibly think of. From the Bose sound system throughout the property to the outdoor movie screen over the pool for evening entertainment. Plasma TV's in every room and bedroom. For us Americans that are not use to the hard beds in hotels throughout asia, these beds where very comfortable . The sheets and down pillows were quality with a high thread count. The rooms were decorated very tastefully along with award winning architecture. If you look at the roof lines of the home and the glass walls piercing down into the massive boulders you will simply be amazed. The large glass pocket doors fully open up giving you the most amazing view throughout which transcend outside and across the infinity edge tiled swimming pool across the ocean. You have a full ocean view from every bedroom. May I mention every room is pretty much a Master bedroom except one room that has two beds. It still is appointed as if it was a master.

Let's not forget the staff. From the beginning of the stay you feel so comfortable having them in your private villa. They make you feel so welcome. They do the nice little gesture throughout the day; bringing you fruits and drinks out at the pool when you don't ask. They fix little appetizers when they think you may need a little bite of something. They organize all your car, or scooter rentals or day trips. It was very nice having them around to help. I feel as if by the end of the vacation they will be missed. They truly make the experience. We held a little cocktail party for a few friends. They took control of the details of the party and it turned out wonderful. They have fresh woven banana leafs all over the table and fresh flowers. The fruit was used as cut out decorations. It was very impressive. We could see them working all day setting this up. Of course last but not least, the amazing chef. What can't he do? The food was always cooked with a big happy smile on his face. He definitely came from a 5 star restaurant. He could make anything with his little twist on the dishes. The presentation was very classy. His design on the plates came out very artistic. It makes my mouth water thinking about his cooking.
You can't go wrong with this villa. It's a must stay on this island if you're making a choice.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and the architecture.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caramello...
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please let me come again”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was the best holiday experience I have had in recent years.There were 6 adults and one toddler in our family group. The eldest traveller was my mother 88yrs and the youngest our grandaughter 18 months. There were five beautiful and extremely private suites although we only needed four.

The architectural design is amazing with the villa designed around massive boulders which were a feature in every room.

We were welcomed by a team of 5 led by the Manager Jee, and included our own Thai Chef who cooked the most amazing food. Just loved the Tom Yum Soup, Thai Banquet and lovely fresh barbecued fish. The food was so good we only dined out two or three times. We also took advantage of having a cooking lesson with the Chef and I can re-live the night we had his Tom Yum Soup, fresh spring rolls and other yummies at home.

There are just too many accolades one can give to this magnificent property and their superior team. Another Villa by the same owner is to come on line next door in 2013, but I think Baan Hinta will always be my favourite.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and efficiency of the staff
Liked least: nothing at all, highly recommended
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing