We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it.”
Review of Ban Sua Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Sua Samui
Ranked #10 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Maret
limerick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“love it.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were last here in 2010 and just couldn't wait to return in june 2013..As everyone says the views are to die for.We had the two infinity pools to ourselves most of the 3 days we were there.Nothing has slipped in standard since 2010 and if anything its gotten better..Big thanks to owner Klaus who gave us a super deal and bungalow for peanuts,since this was our honeymoon.Without dought we will be back.Don't hesitate,just go and book it.

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully furnished so just pick whatever suits your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    24
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
112
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great views and lovely staff . A quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng and Lamai , both about 4km away . Nice kitchen and large fridge in my room so simple cooking was easy . Supplies from Tesco supermarkets in both Chaweng and Lamai . Stairs are a bit steep so maybe not the best for older people but I managed ok for a 60 year old . Airport pickup was right on time .
The local dog and cat enjoy a saucer of milk each morning !
My thanks to the staff for doing a great job , always with a smile and a giggle !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stever53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were picked up from the airport by one of the staff as promised, as we approached Ban Sua up the VERY steep hill we were a bit concerned about the location. Although lots of reviews mention the hill my husband and I were still surprised at just how steep it was!
Klaus and his wife Dara are such lovely people and Klaus took time to tell us a bit about the island and how to get about etc. We had booked the Dara Roof-terrace and it was very nice, spacious and had delightful views. The villa was very clean but the towels supplied were threadbare and not very pleasant to use. Unfortunately we decided that Ban Sua was not for us after one nights stay due to its location, I'm sure that for anyone happy to rent a bike or car for the duration would be very happy here but I'm afraid it wasn't for us. We decided to relocate and booked a hotel further up the coast at Choeng Mon, one of the Ban Sua team drove us to the hotel. As I explained to Klaus his accommodation was excellent but just not for us, we like to be near enough to amenities to be able to stroll to them. I think it's important to understand just how inaccessible these villas are without a vehicle or being super fit....we are in our 50's and enjoy walking but not hill climbing!!
Klaus told us if he managed to rebook the villa he would refund our money, unfortunately it seems he was unable to rebook.
To summarise - nice villas, lovely owner/staff but please be aware of the location, I guess I just didn't do enough research.....never mind we had a wonderful holiday the hotel we moved to was fantastic, right on the beach and within easy walking distance of many great restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne61uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanSua, Owner at Ban Sua Samui, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Lynne61uk,
thank you very much for rating our rooms, staff and property as excellent and great in your review. We were happy that you describe our nice,spacious rooms and delightful views. Indeed you were lovely guests and we were so sorry that your booking was a typical miss-booking. As mentioned in our conversation you do book package upper end hotels normally and stay in and around the hotel area more or less. I wish I had known before, so I could have given you some advice. We understand that Lynne61uk`s rating over emphasized the location in her final rating, it was just not her location, that is personal opinion and we appreciate her other detailed comments rating us excellent along with many of our other guests. To help future guests I would like to explain some basic things about Samui. If you do want to rent seaview property in Samui, it is either beachfront property or on the hillside. I emphasize beachfront as beachside is not the same and there are only few rooms with seaviews in a typical beachfront resort and most of the rooms are no-view or poolside rooms.
For example the Imperial boat house at a beach in one of the less expensive areas of Samui, which the guests chose finally, is about 5500 Baht for one of the poolside rooms. Our Dara Roofterrace was 1600 Baht, so in this case beachside property was appr 300% of Dara roofterrace`s price, crediting us excellent value as well. On the other hand hillside property, which offers seaviews, is usually luxury villas, boutique resorts or speciality lodging. Hillside in our area of Samui ensures the most fantastic and stunning „Wow“ effect views, which made Samui so famous. That is why the official Chaweng Viewpoint is nearby and many popular Samui pictures are from our area. While hillside property is normally far up and expensive, our Ban Sua Samui villas are a seaview property, just 200m meters from the main road or to be more precise, we are the seaview hillside property, which is closest to a beach and the most affordable anyway, offering a private and relaxing atmosphere with personal service. With Samui`s best hotels, resorts and the new golf course high above us, we are the lowest property in our area. You should be able to walk up the hill if you are fit, there are even people who walk up to Sandalwood luxury resort, Samui`s best small boutiques resort, 300m from us near the hilltop. While I am heading for my 50`s, I still walk up and down to the beach, it is healthy, but of course a scooter, car or taxi service, which we offer is more convenient and very cheap too. We encourage our guests to explore and really see Samui. There is so much to see, so many beaches, from sunrise to sunset, from modern busy to „time warped“ remote areas, from „fire“ bars to ocean clubs, from tree top restaurants to a brunch at an ocean club. We are located near to the best beaches Chaweng , Lamai and Silver beach, it just takes minutes by public transport to get there, so do not stay in your hotel area only, please. Samui is out there, be mobile and explore it. We want that you see Samui. This starts with the seaviews, which you will never forget. That is one of the reason while all the accommodation in our area are voted #1 or top performers. If there are any questions just contact us via our website, we are glad, if we can help. Your holidays matters to us and we are happy to give you some recommendations.

Sabai dee khap,
your Ban sua Samui team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our stay at Ban Sua was better than we expected, the rooms were great and we had a really good explore of the island and in our opinion think it was the best location on Koh Samui. Ban Sua is out of the way of the busy towns but close enough to get to them in 5-10 minutes on a bike - perfect! The beach is beautiful and the little cafe on there is gorgeous. The pools are a lovely addition at Ban Sua - we went in most nights in the warm evenings with a glass of wine, looking out over the beautiful coast line. We would recommend renting a kayak from the cafe on the beach and seeing the nearby coast. Also check out the waterfalls, they are amazing and definitely get a moped on the island to explore. Thanks for a great stay, everyone was so friendly and helpful!!

Room Tip: Any, they are all gorgeous with balconys. We found that food was cheaper to buy out so we found that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just imagine: you are sitting on the balcony, drinking a glass of wine and enjoying a very beautiful, breathtaking mountain and sea view. This is how I describe Ban Sua. Let’s go into details:

Location:
It’s absolutely true that the apartments are located up a very steep hill and you should be pretty fit to walk to the beach on foot. Nevertheless we rent a car only for 2 days and the rest time we were pumping our legs So that’s why I don’t recommend these villas to families with children and old people if they are not going to rent a bike or car. In other aspects the location is great. Two main centers of the island (Chaweng and Lamai) are very close by car or tuk-tuk, very clean and quit beach is about few minutes to go. But bear in mind that the beach is a little bit wildly. There are no lounges and parasols, buoys and beach-rescue. But there is a small café on the beach where you can drink different fresh juices or have a snack.

Staff:
The staff at Ban Sua is very friendly, smiling and helpful. They are always ready to help you and trying to make you holidays better. They can provide you with the information about good restaurants, interesting sights and so on. Just ask. It will be cool if Klaus (the owner) writes these tips and gives them to the guests.

Apartments:
The apartments have breathtaking views and are very specious and comfort to live in. All necessary equipment for cooking is available and in good condition. Somebody wrote about the ants. Ants are an essential part of Samui like fish in the ocean. Don’t leave the fruits, open boxes with sweets, cookies and etc on the table and you will never meet with them.

Summary:
There are some negative comments concerning old towels, insects and bad location. Common guys!!! It’s not a five star hotel. It’s very funny when people pay not so much and expect the service and accommodation of luxury resort. I have a very big experience in travelling and stayed at many different hotels from b&b to luxury & expensive. And let me say that everything depends on the person. I and my friend came to Samui for 2 weeks. 10 of 14 days was rain and we couldn’t swim, walked and got tan. We can’t drive a bike and just took a car for 2 days. For the rest we walked on foot and used the tuk-tuk. And nevertheless we were happy about the holidays. We were trying to enjoy every minute of our life and not to give up. I like these villas and gave them five. Once again thank you Klaus for your warm welcome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This little Gem is an amazing little place. It's not perfect, the pools were a bit milky when we stayed but overall for the value 10/10.

Its up a steep hill that taxis won't go about 10 mins away from chaweng, but the owners have a 4x4 and you can use them instead of taxis if you wish.

The beach down the steps (we just walked through the hotel) is amazing and so quiet compared to chaweng, though chaweng was slightly clearer.

You can also have breakfast served to your room at a reasonable cost.

The local hotels have nice restaurants too.

If I am back in chaweng I will be back here. The views are SPECTACULAR of an amazing 5* resort at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We found this place on Trip advisor last year and could not believe the price and the photos so we booked 10 months in advance. There was only 1 room available so we took it. I looked at the photos again before leaving and thought this place is too nice for such a small price. We arrived at Samui airport and our transfer was waiting for us at the appropriate place and a short ride later we were at Ban Sua. Upon entering our room I could not believe the views amazing! And we really did have our own rooftop terrace amazing! There was hardly ever anyone at the pool as the beach was only a 10 min. walk down the hill and across the street. The staff were amazing cleaning your room everyday and also we used them for transfers to Lamai and Chaweng beaches and they were always on time and where they said they would be. The breakfast was also good. The only thing that was a problem was the comfort of the bed(emailed the owner
Klaus and he said that he would check it and guarenteed this would be changed asap) The street below is also quite loud with cars going all the time on this route. After a few days we were used to it and used ear plugs when sleeping otherwise. We also have a wonderful apartment in basel switzerland with one problem, we are beside the highway so we believe that you cannot have everything and this place is amazing for what you pay! We have already booked for next year(wanted to upgrade to a suite with kitchen) But they were already booked for next year. I am assuming guests come here year after year as we cannot wait to return next year. We wish all the staff a wonderful year and look forward to see you Feb. 2014!

Room Tip: The Hi rooftop where we stayed is the most private of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryinc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
0.8 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Cove Chalet
Coral Cove Chalet
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
747 reviews
2.0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sua Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sua Samui

Property: Ban Sua Samui
Address: 5 / 7 Moo 4, Chaweng noi, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the sole provider for roof terrace villas. Ban Sua offers unique rooms with Thai charm. All rooms feature a sea view terrace. Our villas are located in Chaweng noi above the supreme secluded beach of Coral Cove Bay right above Coral Cove chalet and beneath Sandalwood. The sea views cover a wide angle from Coral cove bay to Chaweng bay to the endless sea. The beach is 300m away from us. As well, we are located just about 800m from Samui's new golf course, the RSGCC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ban Sua Samui Ko Samui/Maret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing