We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is so delicious!”

The Cliff Bar and Grill
Ranked #18 of 189 Restaurants in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bangkok
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The view is so delicious!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The first thing to think about this restaurant is the view. It is stunning!
The food presented here is mostly Spanish . The seafood served here is simple one ,not that fancy as my expectation. It took a bit too long time to get the main courses , however the view was helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pimjai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    461
    204
    104
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and fantastic food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I think of myself as a bit of a foodie so can be hard to please sometimes.. Found this restaurant to be fantastic. Food excellent and great location. Reading through some of the previous reviews and people being disappointing is very surprising. My husband and I had a great food experience and loved the setting. The only criticism was the service could be better.. New waitress I think but she tried her best. Bit xx for Thai standards but because we enjoyed it so much didn't mind paying the extra.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
320 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
“Go for Lunch / Skip Dinner”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Despite all the advertising of The Cliff in all the local tourist publications and Bangkok Airways inflight magazine and the strong recommendation from our resort manager - The Cliff turned out to just be okay.

There was a considerable expectation gap that wasn't met. I suspect if we went during the day where the view would have come into play it'd be perhaps a different experience. Perhaps. At night - not surprisingly there just isn't any view so the restaurant ambience becomes more important.

The stark ambience on walk-in was unappealing. It kinda looked a little like an upscale bistro with tables and chairs spread across a hard floor in the main room and a series outside along the deck.

We were greeted at the door and passed on to not one but two different waiters before our reservation was identified and in turn being seated right in front of the kitchen service area. We actually don't mind the seating area as we got to enjoy the theatre of what appeared to be a well drilled kitchen team work but many would have found the constant traffic annoying. The head chef, an older gentleman, stationed himself here and took out orders on occasion.

The evening didn't start out great as we had ordered a pitcher of sangria with the expectation that it would arrive before the meal service - it in fact arrived between entre and mains. Kinda annoying to be honest and if we had known this basic drink would take so long we would have skipped it. As it was, this apple overloaded sangria itself was just okay. So on to the meal...

We ordered two prawn starters - a lemon and herb and a piri piri version. Both versions were okay although the prawns were a little overcooked and fast becoming rubbery but beautifully presented. The lemon and herb version was a disappointment as it had been ordered specifically as it wouldn't be hot or spicy... but in fact it was spicy. We suspect there was probably an inadvertent transfer of piri piri into the lemon herb. Pity. It wasn't pleasant and not enjoyed.

For mains we both ordered the Phuket flown in lobster special. This could have been presented much better but on the flipside it was beautifully cooked and enjoyed. Desert was ordered however the chocolate souffel on arrival resembled more of a hot lava cake. It was average but less so when the waitress kept hovering wanting to clear our plates. Very annoying.

All in all the food was a mixed bag experience and to be frank the overall dining experience was not in keeping with the big prices being charged. The Cliff needs to revisit the ambience and the staffing.

We went and had a post drink in the bar - living dead live there. No one but staff having a rest.

Summary - Will you have a good meal - mostly yes. Will it cost you a bundle in Koh Samui context - without question yes big time. if your intent, we recommend a visit during the day so at least you have the view otherwise it's just average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ThrillingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food / BAD service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great location - especially if you have a table at the veranda.
We might have visited on a very busy day, but it was a struggle to ordre the food and they forgot about the wine.
Then they forgott the main course for one member of our party who got served 5 minutes after the rest of us had finished our main course.
Service - It's not nice when the staff moe or less pick the fork out of your hand and clean away plates & glasses long before the rest of your party had finished their meal.
Felt like being served at snack bar!
For the prices they are charging - IT'S NOT RECOMMENDED!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PetterJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Is it worth it?”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

So the food is good, and the view is good, but the service is very average

The real issue is that it is well overpriced for the region. There are lots of great restaurants in Thailand where you will eat for far less...and the quality will be unbelievable and not just good......

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeSamBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Cliff Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing