We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kala Samui
Nearby Hotels
$162
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Republic The Residences(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$107
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
$679
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$61
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky's Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)
$98
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandalwood Luxury Villas(Maret)(Great Value!)
$108
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$84
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
484
267
81
42
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
267
81
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex pool villarabbitpresidential suitesea viewinfinity poolour honeymoonthe cliffprivate dinnerboutique hotelchaweng beachcoconut rumthai disheswelcome drinkquiet locationthe main roadspa treatmentsfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 901 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent a few days at The Kala in January and were very disappointed: the rooms are highly overpaid! The hotel needs a general renovation to be able to compete with others on the island. The facilities are not maintained well. We could not believe that most Thai staff do not understand proper English - one would expect to be understood in a luxury hotel! Breakfast menu is not a good variety, a buffet would help the non English speaking staff to do a better job. We suggest a few VERY good hotels on Samui: Beach Republic, Rockys, The Prana. All at a very high standard and worth their money.
H. from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kala_Samui_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kala Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your constructive feedback.

We are constantly upgrading and maintaining the property. The style of the hotel is supposed to have a little 'rustic charm' and this may to some, be mis-interpreted to feeling as if it needs a coat of paint, but understandably this is your point of view.

One of the Kala's unique selling points, is that we serve an all day breakfast. The guests can have breakfast any time of the day at leisure meaning there is no rush to get to breakfast by a certain time. Because of this it makes it almost impossible to serve a buffet style breakfast (I can't imagine the result of food sitting out all day in this heat). Therefore we have found that a fresh A La Carte selection works best, and many guests comment on how great the breakfast is, so your comments are obviously a disappointment for us to hear.

We have started weekly English lessons with the staff so this should help to make a drastic improvement to the communication.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will be able to visit soon to see the improvements made.

Best Regards,
The Kala Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Kala offers luxury accommodation in a very unique and natural surrounding. It is built using the cliff to structure the different levels, which provides an amazing view from every spot in the hotel. The small but open spaces (in the lobby, restaurant, bar, etc.) combine the cosy and secluded atmosphere of a little thatched hut with the widths of the open sea.
The service is excellent. The staff is present but not intrusive. They are not only friendly but cordially. We felt welcome the moment we walked through the front gate. Especially the guest relations manager Kate ensures that guests have a pleasant stay beyond the stay at the hotel by providing valuable insight to sites to see and restaurants to visit.
The kitchen caters mainly Asian cuisine but also provides classics from the western world. This well balanced diversity ensured that our dinners remained daily highlights, even after two weeks.
During our stay we were faced with a very special situation as my friend had a severe accident and had to spend some time in hospital. Hence I extended my stay at the Kala for two weeks. The support we have received from all members of staff was breathtaking and really provided a huge relief. It had been much more difficult without them!

Room Tip: All are nice - but the villas with the private pools are special!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kala_Samui_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kala Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Jan p,

Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Kala.

It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us for so long, even under the unfortunate circumstances of your friends accident. We all wish him well, and wish him a speedy recovery!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Kala Samui and we look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon.

With best regards,
The Kala Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here in July 2009 as a couple. We booked the presidential suite. It was huge, had a balcony, fantastic views, a big bath tub outside, and pool on the lower floor.

The good:-
Food is amazing here. The views are amazing. They even have kayaks. Its small, intimate, and located on a main road so its easy to get taxis. The rooms are clean.

The not so good:-
There were loads of geckos coming in and out of the villa, esp at night. They squeeze through the cracks in the doors. The pool had slight green algae in, although i still swam in it.

Overall, a good value boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure they have resolved the small cracks in the wooden doors issue unless you dont mind creatures. Otherwise most if not all the villas have private pools (covered).
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kala_Samui_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kala Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear RK,

Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Kala.

We have definitely solved these minor problems (referring to the cracks in the door and the pool) since your stay in 2009, and continue to maintain the property to the highest level.

It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we do hope that you will decide to visit us again soon to see the improvements.

Kind Regards,
The Kala Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed in the kala for four nights for new years.
they had New years party and i won a prise, two free nights in Presidential villa for two persons!
so i went back there in May.

i have stayed several hotels in Koh samui this time. the thing is, all hotels were gorgeous and staff were nice. but they could not be as comfortable as kala.
Kala has the greatest hospitality, the food is good, the spa is super nice and not as expensive as other hotels, and the thai style room is nicely decorate .
some other comments say it's too rocky to snorkel, but i didn't think so.
there were so many fish down there and i was pretty amazed.
the water was much cleaner compared to Coral beach and Crystal beach which are famous for clear water.

i also applied their private island tour.
it's costs more than nomal tours but we could have private boat, the schedule was flexible, the lunch was delicious. it's worth it.

i will definitely go back to kala next year.
this hotel is one of my favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomomyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kala_Samui_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kala Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Tomomyf,

Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Kala.

I am glad that you enjoyed the snorkeling down by the rocks. Many guests actually comment that this is one of the best unspoiled snorkeling experiences they have had on the Island, as it is a private area, with exclusive use to only the Kala guests.

It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
The Kala Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a fantastic relaxing holiday at The Kala. We were there for a family wedding which was out of this world. Very romantic and definitely the way to go as everyone was so relaxed and got to know each other before the big day arrived.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and were highly amused at our requests for 2 teabags. (The Irish like their strong tea!). The food was good although evening dinners were a little pricey. It's halfway between Lamai and Chaweng, so perfect for heading into town. A fantastic place for a romantic getaway.The only downside is that there are 'plenty' of steps so I wouldn't recommend for anyone with health or physical problems.
Overall we had an amazing time and a huge 'Thank you' to Kate and all the staff for making our stay so memorable. Nothing was a problem to them.
Bernie & Gary (And then there were none)

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but the the corner suites have bigger balconies and the rooms are slightly larger.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kala_Samui_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kala Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Bernie and Gary,
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Kala.
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we do hope that you will decide to visit us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Kala Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews