We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Studio

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newton Reigny, Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janmackri...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We travelled to Lilac Studio for my husbands 65 birthday - we were both so pleased with the quality of the accommodation - everything we could want and more - clean, bright, spacious for 2 people. Thank you so much for allowing us to share your property.

The Lake District has so much to do we will have to return to continue exploring. There is something to do for everyone.

Thank you once again for making our weekend special.

Jan and Dave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway near the Lakes”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for a week, perfect quiet location in the quaint little town of Newton Reigny. The cottage has lots of room and my favorite was we did not live out of our suitcases. There is an organized closet with drawers and hangers to unpack, stay and feel at home. Their was also a washing machine and dryer on site, which was great coming back from walking the lakes. We were in walking distance of the Sun Inn Pub which we visited twice, good food and local beer. We also met Howard one of the owners of which was a nice surprise. It was nice to have Morrison's within a 3 mile drive. There was enough wifi to check our emails and plan our next Lake walking adventure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Mattress was to hard for my liking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Thank you for your comments ..pleased you enjoyed your stay ..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limpy1988
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just wonderful.”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked online through Cumbrian Cottages and had a problem with the payment going through. This was promptly dealt with and disaster averted.
We loved lilac studio which is part of a barn conversion. There was everything and more to make our stay a comfortable and happy one. The decor is tasteful and furnishings all excellent quality.
Howard (one of the owners) was on hand if any problems occurred, which they didn't, but was very discreet.
We have previously had huge problems staying in a property where the owner lived next door, he had his own method of recyling and if we didn't quite get it right he would parade the offending item held aloft, past the window! No such problems here.
We will be back as soon as the savings and annual leave allow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This accommodation was one of the very best, if not the best, we have stayed in the UK.
Large kitchen with every appliance we could possibly have needed. Very comfortable lounge area with TV and with large windows onto the private courtyard. The bedroom upstairs is fantastic with the highlight being the large windows with views across the countryside. The decor is beautiful. Very quiet but still close to shopping, pubs and of course the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The luxury and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The place was perfect, roomy, warm, tidy and the location just right for our jaunts across the Lake District. Felt welcome as soon as we got there and it was far too easy to relax in such a great cottage. If you need to shop its not too much effort to visit Penrith or one of the Villages nearby and the local Pub has great food and ale. We will be back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail in the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunny quiet haven”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lilac Studio is a large, modern and nicely furnished two storey apartment in a quiet location only about 7 minutes out of Penrith. The bedroom is located on the top level and is very spacious with a large comfortable bed. There are large ceiling to floor glass windows with a lovely view of the countryside. The only downside is that only one of the windows could be opened out but not very far so it was quite hot at night. There is a skylight which could be opened to let air flow through but would be a problem if it rained. Air conditioning would be a good solution.

The kitchen and living area are very spacious with quality furnishings,appliances and excellent lighting. There is also a downstairs toilet. Another bonus is the parking right at the front door. Would highly recommend this accommodation. We stayed for two nights but as the location is close to the Lakes District, could easily have stayed for longer. Howard was very helpful but not intrusive. We really appreciated how quiet the location was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious layout and the quiet location
Liked least: The bedroom window could only be opened slightly so a bit hot. No air-conditioning.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma J
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic and cozy”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights during Oct half term 2014 with the aim of having a romantic long weekend away.
It was beautiful. The pictures don't do the cottage justice it has lovey decor and furnishing, taste full and practical. Even with the very wet and windy weather the scenery was lovely and there is plenty to do.
Well worth a stay and a recommendation to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing