We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“complete relaxation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Skinningrove, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Balding_B...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Well Appointed Cottage, Car Essential.”
Reviewed December 29, 2010 for a stay in December 2010

Bishop cottage is a new build mews type accomodation, built on the site of what was once the pit ponies stables. When we stayed there in December 2010, only half the complex was finished, but the surroundings were well kept and presentable.

The cottage is well furnished, very well heated, and compact. There are nice touches in terms of the furnishings. The property though misses perhaps more seating in the living room, a window in the kitchen, and a safe enclosed garden outdoors for pets and children, all fairly minor admittedly.

In terms of location a car is quite frankly an essential, the closest pub wasnt the most presentable, and albeit we visited over Christmas the fish and chip shop was closed, as was the ironstone mining museum. We of course booked self catering but were disappointed with the eating options therefore within walking distance, eating in most nights (there are supermarkets in Saltburn, Staithes, Loftus and Whitby) and enjoying the local fish and chips at lunchtime in Whitby generally!

Skinningrove is an honest if unpicturesque former mining town, and that was the main source of its income till the sixties, so dont expect a Staithes, or a Robin hoods bay, the town just doesnt play to its locational strengths in those senses, at times walking around it we did wonder if we were by the seaside or in a durham mining town!

it does though have easy access to some beautiful walking to both staithes and Saltburn (both a good couple of hours) Should the venture of the cottage complex take off then Skinningroves location is surely its strongpoint, but some kind of not even touristy but basic facilities are crying out to be built (a seafront cafe, a rehash of the towns only pub)

In summary a nice cottage, but locationally with limitations if one expects evening entertainment.

Date of stay: December 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Reviewed November 12, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chestrfield
Reviewed September 20, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HULL
Reviewed September 15, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Date of stay: July 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincolnshire
Reviewed January 5, 2010 for a stay in December 2009

Date of stay: December 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing