We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Views. Modest Performance.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bobland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Views. Modest Performance.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The positives: The view from the room was great. The room was clean. The staff were friendly.

The negatives: Some of the staff were inept: Had to call three times to get my reservation confirmation sent to me. Wakeup call never came. Bartender does not know how to make a Bloody Mary. SIgnage is missing (just for e.g., No sign posted from garage elevator to how to actually get to the checkin lobby). Food at the pool was mediocre.

Room Tip: Either high floor in building four and five, or any room in building three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DolphinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. Every comment provides us the opportunity to continuously improve so we appreciate hearing from our guests. We hope you'll return to enjoy our resort again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    738
    160
    108
    48
See reviews for
492
1,057
54
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful hotel was the icing on the cake for us. We arrived and we're greeted with a beautiful sunset. Lovely rooms, great pool a stones throw from the best beach in the world...

Need I say more. Mahalo

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll return to celebrate again and again. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing negative to say about the Hapuna Prince. The location is gorgeous. The staff goes out of their way to assist from bringing you ice to your room to serving you at the wonderful breakfast buffet. If you are going to the Big Island Hapuna Prince is the place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We appreciate your kind remarks and always enjoy sharing such uplifting comments with our hardworking team...so thank you! Please return soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 8 nights and 9 days here and we enjoyed every second of it! All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly and helpful! This resort is very well maintained. We spent the majority of our time at the beautiful beach. We loved being able to snorkel right off our beach....we recommend packing your own snorkel gear though instead of renting. We tried to get down to the beach early to get front row chairs. ;) One day we drove over to the Mauna Kea Resort to spend the day on that crescent-shaped beach. To our surprise, we were told since we were guests of Hapuna we could valet park for free! We also rented a paddle board here and were able to charge it to our room at Hapuna. We were very pleased with how clean and beautiful everything was. The rooms were also beautiful and the bed was SUPER comfortable! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for visiting! We're happy you enjoyed some excellent beach time at two of the best beaches in Hawaii during your stay with us. We'll look forward to your return soon. Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wife and I live on Windward Big Island. For our anniversary, we like to go over to the leeward side for a short holiday. The Hapuna Prince is located on the Kohala Coast, where it's almost always sunny. The Prince's beach is perfect mix of sun, sugary sand, gentle breezes, and everything a main lander dreams about. Accommodations are deluxe. Cuisine is scrumptious-ono. A fantastic resort and conveniently located to Kailua-Kona.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean are wonderful.
See more room tips
Green Features: They donate unused materials. Food is mostly organic and local.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodgerblu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We love welcoming kamaaina to our resort and we appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return to the sunny Kohala Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay at Hapuna Beach was fantastic. We stayed 6 nights, but we could have easily stayed longer. Despite the fact that we were there on a travelzoo voucher the staff upgraded us for our honeymoon, which was greatly appreciated. Our room was huge with a great lanai. Although it was a bit of a trek from the parking garage, our room had easy access to the grounds and pool. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. The location was amazing, the beach is gorgeous and the surf is fun for body boarding. It is definitely a relaxing getaway spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Congratulations on your marriage and mahalo for choosing to Honeymoon with us! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return to celebrate many anniversaries to come. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay area
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Being able to walk from our room down to the swimming pool and then out to one of the most beautiful beaches was really a treat! Being on Hapuna beach is the reason to stay at this hotel. We swam a few times every day.The water was easy to get into and it was never crowded. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. Our room was good size with a large bathroom, and we had a balcony with a partial ocean view. The rest of our view was of the landscaped grounds which were very pretty. Everything was clean and well taken care of. Views from the lobby and breakfast buffet were amazing. Really, a beautiful spot. I would recommend having a car so you can travel around, since the hotel is somewhat secluded. It is quiet at night. The Big Island was great, with so much to see and if you want to stay right on a beautiful beach stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0rCalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Mahalo for staying with us and for your wonderful comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
0.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
27.1 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
6.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Property: Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing